We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They aim to please”

Ciao Bella Italian and Greek Restaurant
Ranked #268 of 1,459 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“They aim to please”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A friend and I had lunch here a couple of days ago. We got a late start and didn't get to the restaurant until 2:00. The manager greeted us warmly even though it was apparent lunch was really over. He quickly told us we could order from either the lunch or the dinner menu, they would prepare whatever we wanted. He spent several minutes explaining the menu since we had not been there before. I had the monterey chicken sandwich and my friend had their burger. My sandwich was huge. I could barely eat half. It was wonderful. My friend's sandwich was truly a gourmet burger, also huge. As great as the main course was, all sandwiches come with homemade chips that were just as big a hit. The burger had homemade potato chips, while my sandwich had fried sun dried pita chips. I could have eaten these pita chips by themselves for lunch. The menu had plenty of choices and was reasonably priced. Next time my friend and I want to come back and eat in the cozy outdoor courtyard. This place has outstanding food and the manager is courteous, friendly, and clearly in business to please his customers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladybd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    31
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, food quality below average.”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Nice and comfortable atmosphere in a nice location. They do not take reservations. Waitress was not very attentive to our table of 4. The antipasto was over priced and came with only two pieces of flat bread. The kobe beef brisket gnocchi is a misnomer. There was a hint of brisket flavor, a few thin shreds of beef, but this is by NO means a meat and gnocchi dish; it is more like gnocchi that has a meat sauce drizzle. I definitely would not order this again. The pastitsio was too strongly flavored with cinnamon. Definitely over priced for what you get. BTW, entrees do not come with sides; you have to order those separately.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SymnCwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in town”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Another neighborhood gem hidden away in a strip mall. It has absolutely the best Pizzas in town especially the Picante. Not to be overlooked are their specialty salads and pastas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great lunch spot”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

My first time here based on the recommendation of one of my "foodie" friends. Sat in the bar area which was quiet and cozy (and they also offer the happy hour wine special during lunch). Had the lamb burger that came with eggplant fries. Wasn't sure about that because I'm not a big eggplant eater but they were terrific. The lamb burger was done to my medium rare specification and was delicious. Can't wait to go back. One of those places where you will want to try everything on the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MemphisCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseheads, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first time here and the food was very good. The pizza and the pasta was much better than i had expected. I would definitely go back. The service was good and our waitress was very friendly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paradise079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bella Italian and Greek Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ciao Bella Italian and Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing