We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great locale, Great food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ciao Bella Italian and Greek Restaurant

Ciao Bella Italian and Greek Restaurant
Ranked #219 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
memphis
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great locale, Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Despite being tucked in a strip mall, this place has great atmosphere. Food was very good, Veal Parm was awesome. The house red sauce is simple and perfect. Prices are up there, but a fair value. One negative was the bread they served with some dipping oil. It looked good but lacked any flavor at all. The server informed us that the bread was a new Vegan version they had switched to. We will return

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beenthere34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    31
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“BIRTHDAY DINNER FOR MY WIFE”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The food we ordered was not presented In a professional manner. Two of the three dishes we ordered were just thrown together. The veal used in the veal entree was tough and overcooked.
The prices for our three entrees was high and not justified because the quality of the food was so poor.
The restaurant was very dark.. Wine prices were high for the wine being offered. The waitress never mentioned the daily specials we found out what they were on our way out of the restaurant.
The menus have seen better days.We will not return to this establishment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Eat out on the patio!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

You don't even have to have a good imagination to feel like you're dining al fresco in a quaint Italian village. If I could get my backyard patio to look like this, I'd be a happy camper.

The food didn't disappoint either. I ordered a half portion of the seafood caneloni. It was exquisite, but be aware the half portion was pretty small, and I don't know if the full portion would have filled me up if I had been really hungry.

My husband enjoyed the picante pizza he ordered, which was a spicy sausage pie with red onions. The meals also came with a salad, which was delicious. The place had a great selection of wine and beer.

The service wasn't bad, but our server didn't even offer to bring us another round before bringing us our check.

Overall, definintely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderinAndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Fresh Ingredients and Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

The menu has some great things on it - their caesar salad, bbq chicken pizza, and veal cannelloni are all to die for - but it honestly used to be better in its old location. I would still recommend it as one of the best italian restaurants in memphis. Their dipping olive oil sauce is fantastic. Just prepare for a wait because it is very popular.

Helpful?
Thank Olivia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
213 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Very Good! Love the patio!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We had a party of 4 & everyone ordered something different. We had toasted raviolis for an appetizer, very good! They also bring you big baskets of bread along with olive oil for dipping. We had Kobe beef gnocchi, pasta like potatoes with beef, which was very good. Lasagna was o.k., rather a disappointment. Pizza, excellent. Spanakopita, greek spinach pie, that was out of this world!! It is the best I have ever had!! The pastry part was very light and not thick! It has an excellent flavor! Also tried the Penne Pesto. It was good, but, not the best I've ever had. Overall we had a very nice meal and the service was very attentive. Next time, I'll just order the Spanakopita! :))

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Debi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bella Italian and Greek Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ciao Bella Italian and Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing