We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

UNCLE Lou's Fried Chicken
Ranked #26 of 1,469 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We traveled to memphis for the forth of July weekend and this was our first stop. Hands down one of the best chicken place that I've every been to... And the honey buttered biscuits... Wooooweeee!!! If your ever in Memphis this place is worth stopping by.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    99
    34
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Went for the chicken!!!! so glad we did, it was awesome!! also the sides, the biscuits, yummy too. nothing fancy, kids will love it, very casual. if you like fried chicken,YOU MUST GO HERE.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CindySG429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“5 minutes from the best chicken”
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

From Graceland you're only 5 minutes from the best fried chicken ever. It's an unassuming strip mall restaurant, walk up to order, food comes fast and the crew there is more attentive than you'd imagine. It's rough corners only adds to the experience (call it ambiance if you want to be fancy). Got the family plate, white and dark mixed, half medium, half "sweet spicy love" sauce, and four sides. It was one of those few perfect meals that you in your life. Everything was perfect, nothing could have been better even in the slightest. Don't know if it was just the menu choices we made or if everything is universally good, but this is a memorable meal. I'd your visiting "the king," go to uncle lou's when you're done, or you'll miss an amazing meal.

Helpful?
Thank TravelNTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sweet Love is lovely”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

The sweet love sauce is soooo unique! I had the sweet love party wings, they were great. But, I must say what stole the show for me were the rolls! Oh my! They were fluffy soft and sweet with the honey butter on top! I could go back just for that :-)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rebecca a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lou's does chicken right. ”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

This actually my first time to eat here and didn't know what I was missing. The chicken is deep fried with Lou's own sweet love sauce poured on top afterwards. I've never had chicken like this but it was great. The absolute BEST biscuits in Memphis. Prices are reasonably cheep. Friendly staff

Helpful?
Thank Lsutgrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to UNCLE Lou's Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing