We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Thanks”

UNCLE Lou's Fried Chicken
Ranked #28 of 1,467 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: McKellar - Whitehaven-Levi PD
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No Thanks”
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I was visiting Memphis on a work trip and was excited to try this place after learning that it had been featured on two different Food Network shows and reading nothing but glowing reviews.

One word: Hype.

Uncle Lou's was extremely disappointing. The sides ranged from bland to downright gross (fried pickles should not be grey). The chicken was decent but not at all as delicious as advertised. The breast piece was moist and well seasoned, but the skin was soggy from the sauce, and all the non-breast pieces barely had any meat on them.

The one truly scrumptious menu item are the biscuits. Buttery, salty, fluffy. Heavenly.

The restaurant itself was unclean with a layer of greasy dust covering everything.

That being said, the staff was friendly and helpful, so I give them a solid B+. I can't help but wonder if the appeal of Uncle Lou's is Uncle Lou himself.

Overall, this was place was extremely disappointing. I wouldn't recommend it.

Helpful?
3 Thank Shaina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    99
    34
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dexter, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Best Of the Best! Worth Finding!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Not far from the Memphis Airport ... we always make a quick stop to see Uncle Lou and enjoy his great food. Would totally recommend it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mutigers88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Heart Attack Waiting to Happen ...”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

… but you'll die happy! Everything is fried -- chicken, carrots, pickles, bologna, etc. We each opted for the 3-piece chicken plate, which is served with a biscuit and a side. I had the fried pickles and my husband had the "corrupted carrots" (which were fried baby carrots). Both came with a spicy mayo or ranch-based dipping sauce. The chicken can be ordered homestyle or doused in Sweet Spicy Love sauce which can be ordered mild or hot. Lou himself was working the line taking orders in order to expedite the ordering process since the line was almost out the door. He convinced us that hot was the way to go, and we were pleased with the choice. I loved the pickles (though I'm used to fried pickles being crisper), but there were a LOT of them, and my husband really liked his carrots. All in all, this was a great lunch, and we are still full several hours later! Next time, I think we could split a three-piecer, even with sharing a side. Lou's outgoing personality and extreme customer service are also are real positive. He checked back with us to make sure we were satisfied with our selection since he had promised us to replace it with mild sauce if we though it was too hot. Oh, and the biscuit was heavenly! Only thing missing was a shower to clean up after the sticky meal -- all of which is eaten with the fingers. Definitely the most unique fried chicken I've ever had.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArkieFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Uncle Lou's chicken is awesome”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Hospitality & service is just absolutely over the edge off the chain. Juan waited on us the moment we walked in the door and his service, attitude and pleasantness were impeccable. My wife and I shared a combo seven pieces of chicken, mild and 1 hot. Both types were very very good, but I believe that non-hot was a little better since the hot spice took away some of the flavor. I would recommend this to anyone and we will certainly visit here again on our next trip to Memphis.

Helpful?
Thank MRT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazu247@Hotmail.com
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Not the best thing I ever ate”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

we went there because of food networks the best thing I ever ate. We ate both the spicy chicken and the fried chicken it was just ok. The chicken was moist and savory but it ok. The sauce and dry rub were very good. This place looks like a former fast food place that was converted in lou's. The food is severed in paper plates and is conducive as a greasy spot. The staff is pleasant and attentive and the service was good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cazu247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UNCLE Lou's Fried Chicken also viewed

 

Been to UNCLE Lou's Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing