We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always extraordinary”

Erling Jensen Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Erling Jensen Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 1,440 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Poplar
Description: Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: Globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the imaginative, eclectic, and ethnically diverse cuisine of today. We thank you for the opportunity to entertain you. Enjoy...
Germantown, TN
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Always extraordinary”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is the restaurant that you want to go to to enjoy a special event. The food is always unusual and there are so many choices of things on the menu and all sound wonderful. Very hard to make a decision there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellenski25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    18
    8
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
120 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfection, Indeed!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

From the second you walk into this establishment you are treated as a very valued guest.
Service is impeccable.
The dishes are incredible, innovative, seducing and rich.
The wine list is unending and the the staff make wonderful wine recommendations to complement the meal.
Deserts are delicious and stunning.
Five stars!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tnearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
143 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We eat here for our anniversary yearly as the food is wonderful and different (elk) and the service impeccable without being annoying. Expensive but worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MandMDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Ohio
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Happy New Year”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Looked forward to New Year's Eve at this highly touted "french" restaurant. We were not disappointed. The menu had limited choices but with a six course dinner, we were not disappointed and had some unique surprises. We started with a scallop accompanied by some black eyed peas - a must on New Year's in the south!! Next was a Dungeness crab bisque that included a caviar beignet - out of this world!!! Next was the salad course and one of us chose the goat cheese tart with candied pecans, bib lettuce, and a Lingonberry vinagrette. The cheese tart was warmed and very light. The other chose the homemade gravlax with a pear salad and a delightfully spicey mustard aioli. We had selected a 2007 Ramey Claret which was perfect so far.

Next came the entree course. The rack of lamb was exquisite - 3 chops that melted in our mouth.
The pepper crusted heart of ribeye was a little disappointing, but this was the only negative for the evening - largely due to the quality of the meat. Dessert was an amazing torte with nougat. With coffee we reeived a couple of petite fours. What a night. Service was very attentive on a very busy night. We never felt rushed, nor did we feel neglected.

Quite a jewel in a neighborhood setting that would not predict anything of this calibre. Highly recomment!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RWM72942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing...especially when Erling is there!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We have been twice recently and we noticed a big difference in the food. Erling was there on the better occasion, so I think that must have been the difference. I've picked up quite a few of the wines they pair with and they have all been great too. Memphis is very limited in the fine dining department especially if you don't want to go downtown, this place will not disappoint!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin4980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erling Jensen Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Erling Jensen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing