We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fois gras turned into French toast?”

Erling Jensen Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Erling Jensen Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #69 of 1,437 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Poplar
Description: Erling has fashioned our approach to cuisine: Globally inspired, and classically executed, featuring the freshest, most seasonal ingredients to produce a meal of the highest quality and caliber. As the seasons change, we will reinvent our menu, creating fresh new challenges for us and pleasant little surprises for you. This approach, while founded in the French tradition, reflects our commitment to the imaginative, eclectic, and ethnically diverse cuisine of today. We thank you for the opportunity to entertain you. Enjoy...
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“fois gras turned into French toast?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

I have been enjoying my visits to Erling Jensen for more than ten years. My last visit, however, was decidedly less than what I had hoped for. First of all, if you are a fan of fois gras, don't bother with this unless you happen to like this dish smothered with honey and treated as if it were an IHOP breakfast dish complete with French toast. The Dover sole was very good, but the total bill, at least for Memphis, was incredibly high. On my next pass through Memphis I ate instead at Circa: much better! My service was way too aggressive. All told, I am really going to have to rethink this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EislerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    18
    8
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent yet unique”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Ate here with collleagues this past week. Incredible attention to detail and presentation. Probably one of the top 3 dinners I have ever eaten . A bit pricey but once you see and eat the food, and experience the service,you will not be disappointed. Well worth the time! Would definitely return. Great impression for a business meal or special occasion.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diamondmember72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Our favorite Memphis restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We think Erling Jensen's is #1 in Memphis. The food and service are consistently excellent. The food presentation is very creative, and the selections are unique. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. The fresh, hot rolls are a great start to the meal, and it's hard to stop at one! One of our salads included crispy Camembert and a blueberry/blackberry compote; another had asparagus and crisp prosciutto. We each got a different fish entrée. My Roasted Black Grouper was tender and the sides were delicious. We were too full for dessert this time, but I highly recommend the Blueberry Marzipan Cobbler. Don't miss out on this fine dining restaurant.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JandJRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine dining with generous portions and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Unlike many fine dining restaurants, Erling Jensen's plates arrive with very generous portions of their amazing cuisine. We've eaten there twice and came away both times very impressed. The second time we went, we ended up splitting a starter and our entree, and each had our own salad, and we both had more than enough to eat. Great for special occasions - we went on our 10th anniversary, and they prepared a beautiful, special dessert in honor of the occasion. Wait staff has been very friendly, helpful and amusing on both of our visits. We will definitely go back again.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank berserkervike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Never a disappointment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Sadly, there are not many fine restaurants in Memphis but Erling's is one. Located on Yates in what looks to be an old house. When you arrive you can have your car valet. They recently (maybe in the last year) added a nice bar area so if you do have to wait for a table, you can have a drink. I recommend calling for reservations. My favorite is the bread boy! He will never allow your bread plate to go empty. He comes around with a basket of different rolls. Yummy. They also have a very nice selection of wines. The owner/chef always comes out to say hello. His wife Patty recently passed and she will be missed by the Memphis community who will remember her smile as she greeted you at the front door.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erling Jensen Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Erling Jensen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing