We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Central BBQ

Central BBQ
Ranked #12 of 1,437 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just down the street from the Lorraine Motel Civil Rights Museum. You can smell the bbq - too hard to resist! They're sauces are good. I preferred the vinegar one. Restaurant was clean. I recommend if you're in the area. Family friendly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    267
    88
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Jacob, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place had great reviews and we decided to get off the beaten path a little to try it- unfortunately it was just ok. The BBQ seemed overcooked and a little dry. The green beans were amazing though. They also managed to get 2/3 orders wrong.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best BBQ in Memphis !!this is where the locals eat !!!!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

First everyone was amazing!! Super nice, helpful, funny just such a great atmosphere! We got at least one if everything because my husband is a BBQ aficionado! And we were told by every local to go here for the best!! And they were right!! The dry rub ribs and the pulled pork sandwich was my favorite, and the chicken, but really you can't go wrong!! If you don't know what dry ribs are you can get them dry then put sauce on them if you want, but dry rub is different!!!! And I think that people get confused if you don't know, which I read some if the other reviews and I'm sure that's what they got!! They are not McRibs!!!
When you look around in here people look like they have won a prize when they get their food!! That's what you want to see in a BBQ joint!!! Oh, get the banana pudding and a bag pork rines on the way out:) thanks central BBQ we love you!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seraphem6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great BBQ spot!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I loved this place - the BBQ is outstanding and the waitstaff is friendly and helpful. One caution - the sauces are HOT! Watch out for the mustard sauce in particular - it's runnier than you would expect and will gush out at you if you press the plunger too hard. I got a little bit of a burn on my hand for being too aggressive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing BBQ”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Ribs were not good. They were burnt and hard on the end. They were not meaty and did not fall off the bone. Beans tasted like they were out of a can like Campbells, fries were cold and mushy, and cole slaw was terrible. Big disappointment. Best ribs are at Park Avenue Barbeque in Florida.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Central BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing