We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ spot!”
Review of Central BBQ

Central BBQ
Ranked #12 of 1,467 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Hampstead, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great BBQ spot!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I loved this place - the BBQ is outstanding and the waitstaff is friendly and helpful. One caution - the sauces are HOT! Watch out for the mustard sauce in particular - it's runnier than you would expect and will gush out at you if you press the plunger too hard. I got a little bit of a burn on my hand for being too aggressive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    306
    98
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing BBQ”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Ribs were not good. They were burnt and hard on the end. They were not meaty and did not fall off the bone. Beans tasted like they were out of a can like Campbells, fries were cold and mushy, and cole slaw was terrible. Big disappointment. Best ribs are at Park Avenue Barbeque in Florida.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanblair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's Okay, But”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stopped overnight in Memphis for so authentic Memphis BBQ, so we went to Central BBQ and I told them that I wanted some damn good Memphis BBQ. The guy told me I was at the right place. Central BBQ is one of the top rated BBQs in Memphis according to sources I found on the Internet. I got the combination place which has ribs, pulled pork, and brisket with two sides (baked beans & coleslaw). The food was good, but I would not qualify it as damn good BBQ. The price was $23.50 which to my thinking is a little high for what you get. The next time I go to Memphis and want some Memphis BBQ, I will not go the Central BBQ.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fast E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny/nj
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great ribs and family joint”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a local treat. It is across from the historic Lorraine motel where Dr. King was assassinated and which has been preserved and built into a civil rights museum. (We did not see the museum--it is under renovation, but it is definitely worth crossing the street before dark to see this incredibly moving landmark.)

The restaurant has the best ribs in town and we were taken there by our family who live in Memphis. It was not touristy, not expensive, not fancy, (you order and pay first and get your own condiments), but definitely the best meal we've had in Memphis.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ajrbjr615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mmmm pork!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Had the pulled pork which was tender & delicious. Meat was trimmed well & tasty. Loved the variety of sauces. Nice staff, reasonable prices & portions, and great patio seating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tomannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Central BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing