We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“German in Memphis for railfans too.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grawemeyer's

Grawemeyer's
Ranked #767 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: German, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: German-American restaurant and bar located at the Historic Pullman Hotel Building in the South Main District of Downtown Memphis. Featuring an extensive selection of fine wines and liquor as well as premium German and American craft beers, We pride ourselves on delivering a unique dining experience accompanied by great atmosphere and ambiance in a retro environment. Grawemeyers is also the proud home of the Haunted Piano, played weekly by pianist/vocalist Evan Farris on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“German in Memphis for railfans too.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise when we stumble onto Grawemeyer's on a Saturday night. Great jazz singer at the piano, nice atmosphere, railroad themed decoration that are a result of a family heritage. Grandfather and father of the owner of German heritage and employed by the railroad. German food, homemade sausage, but if German is not your thing menu also has meatloaf, hummus, black bean burgers. Totally worth a stop, great atmosphere, nice music and bar.

Helpful?
Thank photographersabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Level Contributor
550 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“South Main Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have walked by so many times, but never knew they served authentic German food. So finally we went for dinner The owners were welcoming and the decor was simple and comfortable. (Cushions are coming for the bench seats.) There's a large bar with lots of great beers and many drink choices. The hit of the evening was the Reuben sandwich. The wiener schnitzel and the German potato salad was also excellent. We will go back for more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissMem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a new dining treat in Memphis. It is in the old Pullman hotel across from Union Station. The owners have been restoring it for quite a while and have done a beautiful job of keeping the old charm and history. It has a haunted piano (as the tale is told) that is played nightly by local talent. And, the food is great. Try to Schnitzel and Spaezle. Make this a definite.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjw330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web O, Owner at Grawemeyer's, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are here to surprise sometimes! We thank you for your review and are really appreciative of your time here! Whenever you feel the need to, just come on back and see us! We'll have more great food waiting for you! If you haven't already, try us in the evenings when we have live music for your enjoyment! Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
140 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“UPSCALE COOL NEAR CIVIL RIGHTS MUSEUM”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Out of towner? This place is a god send - near the civil rights museum, quiet, not crowded, lovely period interior, relaxed and relaxing and not pricey.

For lunch ($10 per) we enjoyed a Cali Salad, reuben, and sandwiches on good pumpernichel bread. Ignore the snobby negative critiques posted by people with picky expectations. Granted the cooking is not haute cuisine or deutsch, cranky people find it hard to wait a few minutes.

The food was delicious, served well and the live piano music at lunch was great fun - an eclectic mix of old big band and jazz. Outdoors, young people were enjoying drinks at the sidewalk café

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oxforddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web O, Owner at Grawemeyer's, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We really appreciate your response! Thank you for coming out to our establishment, and enjoying our food! We strive to give our customers a great atmosphere to dine in and great food to enjoy for an honestly fair price. We hope to see you again in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mediocre German Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Was looking forward to a fine German meal. Both my wife's and my meals were good, but not even close to good German Food expected from German cooks. Sausage and all the trimmings were very bland. I will stick with Mary's German Restaurant in Collierville.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Web O, Owner at Grawemeyer's, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your meals but as you may know, we are a family owned restaurant with recipes of our own and we are an evolving business. Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grawemeyer's also viewed

 

Been to Grawemeyer's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing