We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great refined cuisine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chez Philippe

Chez Philippe
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Philippe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #53 of 1,437 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $70 - $100
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Second Street
Description: The only 4-star, 4-diamond restaurant in Memphis, Chez Philippe offers French cuisine in a fine dining atmosphere. Located inside the historic Peabody Hotel. Dinner and Afternoon Tea served.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great refined cuisine!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great refined cuisine! Nowhere else like it in town. Having entrance through the lobby of The Peabody - a grand southern hotel - gains even more interest. Sit in the lobby and have an adult beverage and listen to live piano music before your meal. Nice!

Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    12
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Incredible Anniversary Gift for Parents”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My parents had a perfect 45th anniversary experience at Chez Phillipe this weekend, and I am thankful it made them so happy on their special night. I booked the dinner with Adrian Davidson over phone and over email as I live in NYC and my parents are in Memphis, and he was a great in suggesting the courses and in selecting the wines. He arranged a beautiful dessert with their anniversary date written in chocolate as a surprise, and everyone knew their name as soon as they walked in the door, at the restaurant and on the way out. Really exceptional service, and they loved the courses and wines, taking pictures of the experience throughout the night, texting them to our family. Awesome stuff. Awesome parents.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CDavid212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ambiance: yes - Food no”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Took my boyfriend last night for dinner there. He is french and a trained professional chef.
He liked the wait staff, the beauty of this dinning room, the service, the table, the lobby,
he said an old world hotel and dinning room with all its charm. He was disapointed with the food. The Amuse Bouche, a tiny piece of cheese, no imagination. You never serve cheese as an Amuse Bouche. Than get the same cheese as part of the cheese plate for dessert. My boyfriend said, so american. Appetizer was fair, over cooked, plate presentation was sloppy. Meat was to salty and not medium cooked. Fish was lacking in flavors, not fresh ( most likely frozen, judging in the flackes) and plate was cold.
Dessert was a usual american fair. Chez Philippe is not a typical french, Haute Cousine Restaurant. It is fusion, but more confusion. My boyfriend said they should sent the cook to France for some real French Kitchen training. Cost of meal was not justified with the quality of food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't be in a hurry”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Yes, it is $$$$$, plan on it. We had a 5 coarse meal and it took 2 hours to complete and then we were not pushed to leave. The table was ours for the evening. The food was an adventure. It is a place of fine dining. If you go in dressed like you just came in off the bus, don't expect too much. The staff will properly serve you, but will also understand quite likely you will not tip well for quality service. The ho-hum ritual. These are professional chef's and waiters. They do not have a maître d', nor a chef de cuisine. Memphis is not that sophisticated to be able to support this level of professionals. The chef did come to our table to see how we wanted our food prepared and if there were any special needs. At that time he also offered the dessert menu. Stating some dessert items take extra preparation and he wanted to give us a full menu. The waiters hovered nearby, but not intrusive, to see to our every need. They have a good selection of champagne and wines and they know their wine. I never asked if they had a sommelier.
Chairs were comfortable, table linens clean, cutlery, not silverware, inspected prior to seating. Glasses checked for spots. I am diabetic and alcohol is not one thing I can enjoy anymore, and I was never low on water\. Coffee was real good. It is a special thing and I will do it again, but not too often.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottCTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“overpriced and pretentous”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

early evening dinner before a show, poor service, high priced, didn't act like they wanted us there.

Helpful?
2 Thank MustangRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Philippe also viewed

 

Been to Chez Philippe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing