We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oldest restaurant in Memphis has great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arcade Restaurant

Arcade Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Arcade Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Level Contributor
142 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Oldest restaurant in Memphis has great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Touting itself as the oldest restaurant in Memphis leads one to wonder who has sat at the bar or classic diner style booths. They say it was one of Elvis' faves. They even have a booth they declare was his regular. Lots of history here. Many movies have been shot here including The Firm and The Client. Food Network and Travel Channel have stopped by, too. Plenty to talk about while you wait for your order...and you probably will wait. Consistently slow food delivery, yet full of Southern charm.

The wait is worth it. You won't go away hungry! BIG breakfast. Sweet Potato pancakes are very good, made complete by subbing a half a piece of country ham instead of the bacon. Comes with eggs and hashbrowns/grits, too. If you're there at lunch time, the goodness of the South Main Sandwich has ham, creamy melted Brie, pesto, an a few other things. Or you could try the fried Peanut Butter and Banana sandwich of Elvis fame. My daughter had the kid's pizza, with plenty leftover for Dad.

It's the last stop on the Main Street trolley, literally in front of the Arcade. However, I think trolleys have been temporarily suspended (July 2014). And if you had to wait a while to get a seat, the Memphis Train Museum is across the street in the same block, and is a fun stop.

If your touring Memphis and staying downtown, this South Main stop is a no-brainer for breakfast. Also a good way to fuel up before hitting the Memphis farmers market across the street in the summer on Saturdays.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadAgain38654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    206
    91
    44
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Still the best breakfast in Memphis”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We have been gone from Memphis for five years, and even now the Arcade dishes up the best breakfast.
This is just plain good cooking, nothing fancy or pretentious. I went for the sweet potato pancakes with bacon, grits, eggs, and coffee.
Wonderful service and a unique atmosphere makes this Memphis Oldest Cafe.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carylumley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very good, large portions, reasonable ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

My mom, my husband, and I came here solely because it was one if Elvis' favorite places to eat and we were treating my mom to an Elvis get away. I am not disappointed at all. When we arrived we asked to be seated at the "Elvis" booth. However they had JUST sat another family there so we had the option of waiting for them to leave or sitting across from the booth. When the hostesses kindly informed us that it would be in our best interest to take the cross table we agreed.
We were wise to do so because service here is SLOW. But the food is totally worth the wait. Sweet potato pancakes were delicious and the grits were perfect. Eggs were cooked to our liking, bacon extra crispy. Everything was great.
The hostesses went above and beyond, in my opinion.
When the party in the Elvis booth vacated, they allowed us and another family time to take pictures there before seating anyone else. Very thoughtful in my opinion.
Our waitress wasn't the best, but was quick to resound to requests when we caught her attention.

Tips:
*Get there before 9am and you have your choice of seats and no wait, according to hostesses.
*request to sit in the main dining area- not the boring addition. Makes a world of difference.
*don't come if you're in a hurry. Service is slow.
*good food at a reasonable price.


Helpful?
Thank cajunawlins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Place, but MUST Try Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I have been going to the Arcade for years and always for breakfast. This week we made a special effort to get over there and try lunch. It was wonderful. My husband had the Big Fat Greek Lunch. Roasted chicken and potatoes with a Greek salad and some cobbler. He said it was some of the best chicken he ever had. Very moist and not overly spiced. I had the Memphis Thang sandwich and potato salad. It was smoked turkey, brie, red onions, roasted red peppers and a creole mustard on a hoagie roll. It was delicious. I am looking forward to trying more of their daily lunch specials. They will fax a menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahays1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We waited 20 minutes to get seated, which wasn't bad. However, we were seated in the back of the restaurant in the built on room. The back room is a plain room with wood paneling. We came to see the history and enjoy the ambience. When we asked about a different table we were told we would have to wait another 20-30 minutes. We gave up and sat in the back.

We had the sweet potato pancakes and blueberry pancakes. The "famous" sweet potato pancakes were small, dry, and basic. The blueberry pancakes were flavorless. The grits on the side were cold and the eggs were slimy. The bacon was perfect.

Our server Brooke was very sweet. She was the only thing that saved this from being a waste of time. We were travelling and when we asked about things to do, she offered up great insight. We followed her advice and had a great afternoon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank juliasface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arcade Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing