We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the atmosphere; food was pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Arcade Restaurant

Arcade Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Arcade Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 1,437 Restaurants in Memphis
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
273 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Loved the atmosphere; food was pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were told about this place by a Memphis local, and we found ourselves there for breakfast. The interior had a great 50s feel to it. We were seated right away and our server was attentive and friendly. The sweet potato pancakes were a favorite at our table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HIltonMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    209
    93
    44
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
391 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Standard issue breakfast. Too much hype maybe?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Food was slow, order came out wrong, the servers while smiling and somewhat attentive you could tell were pretty disinterested in the whole process. A manager was flitting about but didn't seem too interested in surveying the floor to ensure things were going smoothly. Bottom line - if you are in Memphis and interested in old local landmarks; certainly go. That is the reason we went and were not disappointed from that standpoint. If all you want is some eggs and such, you would be just as well off going to IHOP.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kegan36604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
114 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Time machine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Not much has changed at the Arcade in the last 90 years and that's a good thing! Been eating breakfast here for a while now. I highly suggest the sweet potato pancakes and biscuits with sausage gravy. The food is really good and the price is too. Eat here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tnearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Average diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I went there for brunch on a Sunday yo enjoy our last day in Memphis and see where Elvis came yo have lunch on a regular basis.
This is an average diner, the good was ok but came after 40 minutes and cold.
They forgot a side we ordered, and it was hard to get the waitress attention to ask got the missing side (They did not forget to charge us for the side though).
The atmosphère is fun and worth the stop, but dont expect a great service and fantastic breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Brazil
Level Contributor
134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The food is average but the coolness is tops!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

You've seen the movie "Mystery Train" by Jim Jarmursch, right? You like old rock'n'roll, retro looks, americana and rockabilly – and that is part of why you are a tourist in Memphis, right?

Then I bet you won't resist stopping by this restaurant even though you know its food might be only average.

I did enjoy my greasy burger – by the way, it looked like a house made patty, so it deserves extra points for that!

The only let down was that there were no empty booths in the main dining room so we had to end up seating in a side room which wasn't as cool.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bandini80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arcade Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Arcade Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing