We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good breakfast spot”

City East Bagel and Grille
Ranked #526 of 1,440 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Carolina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

After a bit of a wait, we were seated. Quite a long wait for our food and service, but the food was good. I had a bagel with bacon and provolone and the home fries. The bagel was so good! Others had the granola yogurt and a scramble. Service was friendly but slow. I would definitely come back, but perhaps in off hours so that the wait would not be as long.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    7
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
478 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Bagels are the only good thing”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

It is hard to find bagels around these parts, so we were excited to try this place. Don't bother. Service was very, very slow. Food was not good, except the bagels. Too bad. Kinda dirty inside too. It is always sad to find out that an ihop is better than a local joint. Very disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grits_are_good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“want somthing local?”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

this is a local place here in Memphis Tn. its a small place to go eat at and enjoy the people around you, the food is not as good as i hoped for but they do have a good choise range for the Bagels. but if you want something that really good get the Skillet breakfast thumbs up.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onyx_baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food, especially bagels, and great service!”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We love this restaurant. They have a huge selection of fresh, delicious bagels, and they also have flavored cream cheeses.

We always go for breakfast. They have delicious skillet breakfasts (potatoes, meat, topped with egg, bagel or toast on the side).

Service is efficient and friendly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spotted_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Bagels”
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for breakfast in way home from airport on a Sunday morning because we prefer local to chains. Should havehave gine to IHPP. Had a meal there before. Egg dishes ok but hasbrowns tasteless fried squares and poppy seed bagel had a weird flavor and i could nor eat. Waited 25 minutes for meal. No coffee refills or visit by server during that time. Won't be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FillMyPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City East Bagel and Grille also viewed

 

Been to City East Bagel and Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing