We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Hoppin Joint”

Blues Hall Juke Joint
Ranked #5 of 59 Nightlife in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Akron,Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One Hoppin Joint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stopped in on two different nights while visiting Memphis and this place was great.The bands that playhere are very talented and can they get you into the music.This was my favorite bar on Beale Street.It can get pretty crowded and most people had to stand but the bar is quick to serve you a cold drink and you have a great time here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank keith12552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great singing in person!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I had a great time and I think Natalie James has a great voice that draws the crowds in and can put on a good show,but I wouldn't buy her personal Cd's for $20 they are very homemade you'll be disappointed, unless you consider that tipping the band.otherwise she is awesome!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank crafttty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Go for the BAND!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The band was awesome. They played every song we requested and well. They took the time to make our friend's birthday special. The lead singer was so friendly and talented. The bar has a great atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mandabrizown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tip the Band!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Dr. Feelgood Potts gave us a real Memphis blues experience in this small, dark bar. Perfect. Stop in and enjoy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pbouley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Favorite part of our trip! Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

A real blues and Beale Street experience. Love the atmosphere, dark, dingy, true "hall", plaster falling off the walls, old dusty pictures and guitars hanging up; love the American Flag hanging over the stage!

The band we saw this past Friday evening with the McDaniel's Band and both Chris McDaniel and Natalie James were awesome! Stopped in again last night and they had another great band.

Drinks are fairly priced and comparable to other Beale Street venues. Cover was 5 bucks and for that you can also go to the connected venue, Rum Boogie Cafe.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blues Hall Juke Joint also viewed

 

Been to Blues Hall Juke Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing