We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The center piece of downtown Memphis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Ranked #7 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Norwalk, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The center piece of downtown Memphis”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a conference on Feb-24 to Feb-27 and my expereince was unique. From the smiling face of the valet attendant to the welcomign smile of the person at the front desk everythign well great. Once in the room, I was taken back by the amazing job the ownership has done with this renovation. the rooms are outstanding. Every detail, every comfort. This is indeed an amazing property to stay at. They know how to take care of their guests from the top service everyone offers to the quality of the product they have. If in Memphis for business of pleasure, there is not ohter place to stay but at the Residence Inn Down town Memphis!!!

Room Tip: I stayed on the 10th floor, but I was tols all rooms are renovated and they look magnifficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your recent stay at the Residence Inn by Marriott on our Trip Advisor Page. We are very happy with the outcome of our full hotel renovation! We truly love the new look and the guests the guests feedback has been wonderful!

All our Studio Extended Suites have a step up divider wall that separates the bedroom area from the full size living area and full size kitchen-glad you like the room and the extra space it offers.

We hope to see you again soon!
Tracey Henninger, CMP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    197
    69
    14
    4
See reviews for
174
268
26
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nashville
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

What a beautiful hotel! The renovations are spectacular and the staff is very attentive and helpful. From the moment you walk in you are greeted with smiling faces and an eager staff to assist. The rooms are very well appointed and I love the raised bedroom, makes you feel very special. Great location to all attractions. I was in town for a leadership conference and I will definitely be back anytime I am in Memphis!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gert-3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank You for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott as the hotel to stay during your Leadership Conference! We hope you enjoyed Downtown Memphis and all the great restaurants, attractions and restaurants!

We appreciate you and your business! We hope to see you soon

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger, CMP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Former IRS building in Art Deco style. Nice spacious rooms but lobby and sitting areas more reminiscent of a cheaper brand than this. Marriott can do much better. Room was clean and well presented, and the location is very convenient. Value for money is average. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
The Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown is listed on the National Historic Registry in its Art Deco Design Style that originally opened as a Hotel in 1930 and converted to the William Len Apartments prior to Marriott converting to the Residence Inn in June 2004. We will be finished a full hotel renovation in the middle of April 2014 and we hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank You very much!
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We highly recommend this hotel for any stay in downtown Memphis. Remodeling is not quite complete but that did not impact our stay. The room had a large living area seperated from the raised bedroom space by a 5' tall wall that allowed natural light into the space but maintained privacty from the living space. A small galley kitchen was more than adequate. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. A surprise were the homemade appetizers during the guest happy hour in the lobby area where the free breakfasts are served. All in all a very pleasing stay.

Room Tip: Our suite toward the river had a great view of the trolley line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank You for your review. We will be finished our full hotel renovation by mid April and we hope you will come back and see us again. We offer a complimentary light dinner with beer, wine and soda on Monday-Wednesday evenings and happy you enjoyed it.

We appreciate you!
Thank You
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This Residence Inn by Marriott is located in an historic building in downtown Memphis. It’s next to two of the main historic trolley lines that loop around downtown. Marriott has done a good job adapting this building into a comfortable hotel. The hotel was under renovation during our stay, but this had no impact on our stay or level of comfort. The front desk and bell staff were always friendly and accommodating. We went with the valet parking, but noted that there appeared to be good availability on the street over the long holiday weekend. We also experienced the friendly and efficient service from Olga, whom other reviewers have mentioned. Our suite was up-to-date and comfortable, with a raised half walled area set aside for the sleeping area. Housekeeping service was on target, with good attention to the details. The kitchen was nicely equipped, and added to the comfort of a multi day stay. There was a comfortable work desk and chair, and the Wi-Fi connection was consistent. The breakfast area in the elevated lobby had a comfy fireplace and a variety of seating and tables to accommodate guests. The breakfast food offerings were good, with breakfast protein items that included sausage patties and sausage gravy and biscuits on a couple of mornings. The single Belgium waffle maker was a mess, and could have used a good cleaning or replacement because many guests’ waffles were sticking to the grills which caused some delays in feeding hungry children. The breakfast area staff was very friendly and accommodating, and they did a good job keeping the area stocked and clean despite a fair number of guests. This hotel is a very comfortable place to base a family’s visit to Memphis from. It’s a short walk to Beale Street, and an assortment of downtown attractions and restaurants. The hotel meets all expectations of this traveler and the Marriott brand.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeakWoodDeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank You for being loyal to the Marriott and for staying at the Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downtown! We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to share your experience on our Trip Advisor Page.

We hope you see you again soon!

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The stay at the Residence Inn Memphis Downtown was great. As a travel consultant, I would highly recommend this hotel to clients. It is in a great location, the rooms are very spacious, and the hotel was very clean. The hotel is located across the street from a trolley stop that offers service to many attactractions in Memphis. There are several nice resteraunts within walking distance of the hotel. The staff was very professional and nice. The hotel offers a large selction for the complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelConsultant92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Happy New Year!

We appreciate your feedback and very happy you will recommend our hotel to your clients and friends! I am happy to hear you like our hotel's great location in the heart of downtown Memphis surrounding many of cities favorite restaurants and attractions just steps away!

If I can ever be of any assistance with any future bookings please contact me at 901-578-3700

Regards,
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I would recommend this hotel, the location is really good and not to far from the main strip, which is good as it can be quite noisy on beale street, its located 2mins from the Mississippi River, the rooms where very very spacious and clean, the hall ways could do with a little updating, the main hotel reception area was clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesmigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for being loyal to Marriott and staying at the Residence Inn Downtown Memphis! We are still completing our hallway renovation and hope you will come back and see us after it is complete.

Happy New Year
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#10 of 138 in Memphis
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
916 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Memphis Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Address: 110 Monroe Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Memphis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#17 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing