We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$151
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$183
$167
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$170
Hampton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$79
$74
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (703)
Filter reviews
703 results
Traveler rating
408
204
71
14
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
408
204
71
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchenbedroom suitebeale streetrooftop areavalet parkingfew blocksmississippi riverwithin walking distancean older buildingmemphis downtowntrolley lineliving areacivil rights museummain streetwould stay here againbreakfast staffvalet service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 703 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Overall we thought the hotel was great - very friendly staff, great location, nice renovations. The only 2 things that were important to us which prevented a 5 star rating were 1) The wifi was spotty - depending on where in the room you were it would connect or not. A party of 4 with multiple devices requiring wifi this became a big issue. 2) The "queen" size beds as defined by Marriott management (according to operations manager) are really full size beds. 2 adults in these beds is quite tight and not very comfortable.

Other than that we enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely consider returning.

Room Tip: If wifi is important get a room closer to the elevators since it appeared the signal was stronger there.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tekphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank You for your review. We appreciate your business and hope you will come back and stay with us again soon.

We try hard to make sure all our guests enjoy their stay and want to come to back again so I apologize about the WIFI Connectivity and hope that did not stop you from getting your work done on time.

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

You will see lots of people stating that this hotel has a fantastic location situated within walking distance of the downtown area. This is absolutely true. In fact, as far as location goes, this hotel takes the cake. The hotel's historic past also adds to the charm of this location. The breakfast was well presented and the food was hot and tasty. The front desk staff were helpful and professional. The valet does get backed up from time to time but they were hustling to make sure that guests were receiving their cars in a timely fashion. The room we had was huge and architecturally interesting. We had a sweeping view of the river. The only complaint was that the room was constantly damp. I also suspect that there was mold because my allergies were going off like crazy. Overall, this hotel was a solid choice. The location and overall condition of the hotel were great, but the room could have used a little work.

Room Tip: Call the valet AT LEAST 15 minutes before you want to leave in order to ensure that your car is waiting for you when you are ready to go.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kkw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank You for your feedback. We are in the middle of a full hotel renovation we hope you will come back and stay in one our new guest suites very soon.

If we can help you with any upcoming reservations

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was our fourth stay at The Residence--a chain hotel with a boutique feel. It is definitely time for a remodel, but they are currently in the process of doing so (and the design photos show that it will be just as tasteful and in keeping with the historic building as the current design). As well, the need for a remodel, brought the cost of our room down to a very reasonable $150. Main Street continues to develop and this really is a nice area for your Memphis stay...right on Main Street and the trolley route. It is within short walking distance of Beale, Mud Island, and many wonderful restaurants. It can be rocking loud on Beale or at the nearby Stadium, but it is always quiet in the hotel--perfect. The complimentary breakfast continues to be a nice inclusion in the cost--hot and cold selections--to be eaten in their commons area or taken to your room. The studio room is a great compromise--the queen size bed is tucked into an upper level loft with the bathroom, while the living, dining and kitchenette are at a slightly lower level. The sofa is a sleeper, which can come in handy if you have children or a visitor. The view from the roof top is nice--it does not have the restaurant or bar features that some of the surrounding hotels have (the Madison, the Peabody), but if you wanted that, you would have paid $200 more and stayed at one of those hotels. If you want something a little more quiet, you can enjoy your glass of wine here, watch the sunset over the Mississippi, listen to the music from the other places (but still be able to have a conversation)--you can always visit the Madison and have a drink on their roof and get the best sunset view, if you prefer. The staff at the Residence are very friendly. I love it here. We have been several times and I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Rooms that are higher up have better views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobbi222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

WOW What a fabulous review of your stay at the Residence Inn. Glad you enjoyed the beautiful views of the Mississippi River from our rooftop. Nice place to unwind. Our Staff strives to provide outstanding guest service!

We welcome you back again for your 5th stay soon!

Have a wonderful Summer
Thank You
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This hotel is a decent choice for those wanting to explore downtown Memphis. Guests can easily walk to Beale Street, the Civil Rights Museum, or the riverfront. Those not wanting to walk have easy access to the trolley.

Staff members at the hotel were cheerful and helpful. Our only complaint would be a problem with the air conditioning in the room. First of all, it was very loud, somewhat disturbing our sleep. Second of all, the carpet was slightly damp near the bedroom closet; from the stain on the ceiling we deduced that the unit above us had been leaking. This could explain the slightly musty smell.

Again, the location and staff were great. The room was okay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KCJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

i am sorry your stay was not upt to our standard and are we do hope you come back and give us another try as soon as our renovation is complete . All our suites are being remodled and updated and we will have brand new HVAC units.

Please contact me directly at 901-578-3700 when you plan on returning.

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Hard to write an objective review. My daughter is a platinum Marriott Rewards member and got us upgraded--to a top floor suite with direct access to the rooftop deck (currently under renovation but quite usable with BBQs and patio furniture; nice view of city and Mississippi River). So judging the rooms is difficult. I will say the room, as well as the public areas, were always clean and well taken care of. Judging everything else I can do. The staff was unbelievably super-friendly. Always a warm greeting and ready to engage in conversation. The free breakfast was one of the most comprehensive I've ever seen. Everything hot and cold was well prepared. Even good coffee and I am a coffee snob. In a wonderful location downtown, easily walkable to Beale St., the Peabody (don't miss the duck walk) and the Redbird's ballpark. In fact, we could see the large screen scoreboard from our room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scohenskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rooftopviews, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank You and your daughter for being a loyal Marriott Rewards Member! We appreciate you.
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the local attractions and had a chance to see the Duck March at the Peabody.

We look forward to having you back again soon
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews