We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, PRICE!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Ranked #14 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I first want to say that we did enjoy our stay at this hotel, but we did also have a couple of concerns. We stayed for two nights the weekend of March 9th. This hotel has to be in the best location possible! You are so close to Beale St, have the trolley within steps of the entrance, and are far enough away from Beale that you don't hear the noises. It was absolutely perfect! Even on the colder day, we walked to Beale because it was so close. Plus, there are quite a few nice restaurants along the way. Upon arrival, we were kindly greeted by the gentleman who ran the valet parking service. They informed us of their service, but also explained the other self-park option so that we were fully aware of everything. We greatly appreciate that because many times you are only informed about one or the other. I went into the hotel to complete check-in and while my husband was going to self-park, the gentleman offered to move other people's cars so that he could have a place to park on the road if my husband gave them a little extra money. That really made us feel uneasy about the valet parking service and we were glad we chose to self-park. I hope we misunderstood their intentions, but it did not set well for us that they may move other people's vehicles when it was not necessary for extra money. Outside of that, they were overly nice the entire visit from arrival to departure. The check-in went very smooth and the lady at the front desk (Olga?) was very nice and made us feel that she remembered us each time. The location of the hotel was fantastic and for that alone, we will return. However, the beds were very uncomfortable. Our first night on the bed was very restless, but it did get a little better the second night. What made it worse was that the bed was a queen size bed. We did request a king size bed if it was available, but I got the impression they may not have many of them. The rooms were laid out very nice and they even have a little movie rental service for free. They had DVDs we could choose from (some were dated), but we really liked that and enjoyed watching a movie and relaxing one night. We were overall pleased with our stay and do intend to return, but aware of the previous concerns.

Room Tip: The kitchenette is much nicer than anticipated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveErin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (687)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 687 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful deco lobby, convenient location: we walked to dinner and to Beale St, and took the street car to the Civil Rights Museum. Breakfast buffet was good food, and I appreciated that they didn't run out of food, like some places do. The building is historic, and the long hallways have an old musty feel to them, but we loved our room. It was at the end of the hall, so we had a corner view of two streets overlooking the streetcar line. It was huge: 2bedrooms 2 bathrooms, and big kitchen, all clean. It was the kind of room I felt we could have stayed in for a week. The staff was very friendly and seemed to enjoy their jobs. One guy directed us to a good barbecue place and joked around with us every time we passed by, another front desk person offered to make change and give me soap when I had to do a load of laundry, and the woman who took care of the food at the managers' reception each night at 6 was nice and made us feel welcome. I'd definitely stay here again if I were in downtown Memphis again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandraPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtowntravel38103, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We are so happy to hear that you and your friends had enjoyed your stay in our Two Bedroom Two Bath Suite and that we provided you with outstanding guest service. Always our goal for all our guests!

We will be doing a full renovation on all our guest suites and lobby area so we hope you will come back in September and see us then.

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with another couple the weekend of March 8, 2013. We had the 2 bedroom suite. The rooms were very nice. The hallways and the roof top could use a little work but it was still a nice hotel. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was alright cant expect much with a free breakfast. We parked ourselfs because it was way cheaper and parking was right around the corner. The hotel is in walking distance from the river and Beale St. Would def. stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtowntravel38103, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

We value your comments and appreciate you taking the time to review your stay on our Trip Advisor Site. We love our location to all the great restaurants, attractions, Beale Street and the Mississippi River and look forward to having your back very soon.

Thank You
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Residence in for the Liberty bowl in December. Nice and friendly staff. Clean rooms and just a few minute walk to Beale Street. It is an older hotel but has excellent staff and valet service. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cidmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtowntravel38103, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Thank You for taking the time to write a review or your recent stay on our Trip Advisor Site. We are are happy to hear you stayed with us over LiberyBowl in December and hope your team won!
Out hotel was built in 1930's and is is listed on the National Historic Society. We hope you will come back and visti us again soon!

Thank You
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This hotel is not your typical cookie-cuter Residence Inn. It is in the middle of downtown and is a renovated, older building. We had a loft suite which was an interesting configuration. It had a lot of charm. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff at hotel very nice. It is a short walk to Beale street (~4 blocks) and the trolley is close too. Parking is $18/day but you can park in a garage about 1 block for a little cheaper. The valet was a peach and our car was waiting for us out front before we got down the elevator. Memphis is a fun city with lots of sites to see if you are there for pleasure.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms offer a good view and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtowntravel38103, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn by Marriott Memphis Downown for yoru first stay downtown! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide all our guests with outstanding customer service and very happy we succesed!

We welcome you back soon

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed at the Residence and absolutely loved the helpful staff and the extremely friendly atmosphere. As for location, you simply can't do any better. With the trolley right outside and the access to every type of music and food you could ever dream of, everything is at your finger tips. The place was very clean and well kept. The cons, The hotel is quite used and a little rough around the edges. It is in need of a face lift, and there were some maintenance issues, such as my shower rod was loose, and since it is rounded, the shower curtain kept falling to the center as it would fall away from the walls. The heat was blasting, and it was so hot in the room I couldnt sleep. I tried the AC, but it wouldnt come on. Oddly enough, the message light was on, listening to the message, it was the desk offering another room to a former guest because the heat wouldnt turn off. A lot of scrapes and bruises in the elevator and the carpet has seen its better days. But remember...it's Marriot's It's a Residence Inn.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtowntravel38103, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank You for your response! We appreciate your feedback and are very happy to hear you were very happy with our staff!

We will be doing a full renovation this year and hope to be finsihed by Sepetember so I hope you will come back and see us again!

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

First time in downtown Memphis. Staff is what makes this hotel, very hospitable. Dated decor but clean. Good location with good valet service. Breakfast is above average Residence Inn breakfast. Comfortable beds and quiet rooms.

Room Tip: Choose rooftop suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seoul_power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtowntravel38103, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

We are happy you had a great time in Downtwon Memphis! Thank You for choosing the Residence Inn and we would welcome you back anytime!

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 138 in Memphis
3,325 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#10 of 138 in Memphis
2,082 reviews
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Memphis Downtown

Address: 110 Monroe Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#5 Family Hotel in Memphis
#17 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $170 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing