We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Ranked #6 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I really couldn't believe how we lucked out in finding this place. We had to pinch ourselves. In no particular order:
- Beautiful art deco building
- The room was an apartment, complete with kitchen, dining table, sofa, etc.
- It was very clean
- Free WiFi
- Breakfast included
- Amazing service
- Huge roof terrace with spectacular views of the city and Mississippi
- Perfect location
- Really cheap for what you get

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimeyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtowntravel38103, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are so happy you found us too and welcome you back for years to come. Your kind comments regading are stay are very much appreciate and thoughtful.

Thank You again for your business!

Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    194
    64
    13
    4
See reviews for
169
260
26
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We came to Memphis on a whim and chose this hotel last minute. Best Decision Ever! Carl, the operations manager is a ridiculously cool guy and gave us great rate, told us where to park for free. The hotel is in an awesome location--walking distance to numerous food, bar, other interesting things. We were only there for a night so we didn't get to see a whole lot. The staff was beyond helpful. We were thoroughly impressed with the quality of our suite and greatly enjoyed the rooftop hot tub! If I ever come back to Memphis, I will definitely want to stay here again. Ask for Carl!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtowntravel38103, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I am happy to hear that Carl treated you with such outstanding guest service and that you really enjoyed our hotel and the rooftop views and the hot tub. We are very lucky to have Carl as our Operations Manager and appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay.

We hope to see you soon!
Best Regards
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

There were many hotels to choose from in Memphis and I choose this one based on the reviews and good value. We were not disappointed. We spent 2 nights there before going to Clarksdale, MS and then another night before flying home. The rooms were clean, spacious, and the staff awesome. Breakfast had a great selection of hot and cold items along with healthy choices. Tuesday night was the managers social. We thought this would be snacks but it was an excellent taco dinner with good wine and beer. We had no need to go for dinner after this very tasty meal.

Also loved the roof top patio. Great view of the river and city.

Special call out to Olga at the front desk for making us feel so welcome.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank readyforavacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtowntravel38103, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Residence Inn and the amenities we offer our guests. I will make sure Olga gets recognized for her outstanding service. We hope to have you back again soon.

Many Thanks
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights, and were completely satisfied with all aspects of the Memphis Residence Inn. The location was ideal, with great restaurants nearby, easy trolley access, and a short walk to attractions that included Beale Street and the Peabody ducks. The hotel staff was knowledgeable and accommodating. Breakfast was good and plentiful, and the evening manager's reception included free food and beverages, a nice touch. The room was fine, and the Paul Mitchell bath products were much appreciated. Though I'm not sure there will be another trip to Memphis in our future, if there were I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaloAltoIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtowntravel38103, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to write about your stay! We are happy to hear you enjoyed yoru visit to Memphis. I hope your plans change and you can come back again soon.

Best Regards
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Although this hotel is a little tried lookIng and could benefit from a serious updating, the rooms and public areas are clean and maintained. The staff - everyone - were incredibly nice and very helpful. They all seem to care that your stay is pleasant. We had a problem with our toilet and the response was immediate. Great Southern hospitality. We spent three nights here and the location was perfect. Close to Beale Street. Right on the trolley. Very good restaurants close by. Breakfast was fine. Offered hot and cold options and they never ran out if food. Comfortale eating area. We stayed in a queen studio which was very spacious. The suite layout. was great. We had a view of the river which was nice.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swifty31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtowntravel38103, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and will come back and see us again! Thank You for taking the time to write such a nice reivew of your recent stay.

If I can ever be of any assitance, please contact me!
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton On Tees
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a an old hotel by American standards but has a great atmosphere, On arrival we met by a great doorman called Gerald who was a real character and thought one of our party was Mrs Bouquet from the programme Keeping Up Appearances which became a standing joke. The reception staff led by Mr Washington were brilliant and upgraded us to a bedroom suite which was very spacious with a separate sleeping area, dining area, kitchen and lounge area. Yes in some ways the rooms are a bit tired but the are spotlessly clean and very comfotable.

Not only did we get a good complimentary breakfast but we also got a free buffet style dinner with as much wine and beer as you wanted on the first night and a free barbecue again with drinks on the second night. The barbecue was held on the roof which has a great view of the Mississippi and a wonderful sunset.

The hotel is very close to Beale Street and numerous restaurants and very convenient for Gracelands etc. The Memphis Bell paddle steamer is good fun and when you ride back down the river you get to cross into Arkansas. Vist the Martin Luther King Museum and the Lorraine Motel were he was assassinated by riding the riverside tram which takes right round the riverside for $1

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norman28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent one night at the Residence Inn during a weekend getaway to Memphis and Nashville. The hotel is centrally located (walking distance to most of the main spots to visit) and has a fantastic rooftop with views across the Mississippi (and even a hot tub!). The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we went for the valet parking that was no more expensive than the local facilities and probably a lot more secure. We had a room on the 11th Floor, right next to the elevator, but the room was quiet and equipped with everything that you could possibly want for a short stay (and more!). It was a small room/suite but fine for just the 2 of us. The Peabody Hotel (famous for the ducks!) is located just around the corner.
I probably wouldn't go back to Memphis in a hurry but that is not because of this great hotel - once you have spent a couple of days in Memphis you have almost certainly seen and experienced enough!

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor - quieter and a view of the Mississippi. The corner room was quite s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downtowntravel38103, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Memphis Downtown, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Greetings from Memphis! I am happy to hear you liked our downtown location and had a chance to enjoy Beale Street and see the Peabody Ducks. We hope you had a nice visit in Nashvillle too.

Thank You
Tracey Henninger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,059 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Memphis Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Address: 110 Monroe Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Memphis
#5 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#17 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing