We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Ranked #13 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2008

I stayed at the Residence Inn Downtown in Memphis recently with a group of girlfriends, and we had a great time! We booked a 2 bedrooom, 2 bath suite and found it to be a comfortable stay for a group. Things we liked about it:

Excellent service from the beginning to end of our stay - the receptionist, valets, and other hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. They went out of their way to help us have a good time, such as calling a restaurant we were interested in to find the best driving directions or letting our car stay past our check-out while we explored downtown.

Location - you can't beat the location of accessibility to everything downtown. The trolley stop is right around the corner, and the trolley runs along the river and through the downtown area, including a stop at Beale St. We were able to easily get to any downtown attraction we were interested in. If we had known that ahead of time, we probably wouldn't have paid the extra to valet our car with in/out privileges, but would've just left it parked the whole stay.

Room size - the rooms were large and comfortable for our group. One of our bathrooms was handicapped accessible (not something we requested), but that made it especially roomy. The living room area was great for visiting and watching TV together and the kitchen was equipped with what we needed (although we wished for a blender to mix drinks!) We had a corner room with large windows that looked out two directions onto downtown and the river, and we watched a horse and carriage with a wedding party go down the street from our window the first day we were there. Even though we were only on the second floor, we didn't have any problems with street noise.

Amenities - the roof has a great view of the river that we visited at sunset, and there is a hot tub on the roof that looked like a perfect way to view the sunset. It was pretty cold when we were there, so we didn't try it, especially after someone in the elevator told us the water wasn't very hot, so I can't speak to whether it's a good hot tub, but it sure looked inviting. The complimentary breakfast was also nice with waffles, fruit, muffins, eggs, biscuits (no meat though). It was definitely more than we needed.

Checkout time was noon, rather than 11, which gave us an extra hour to sleep in and enjoy a lazy breakfast downstairs.

Here are the downsides we found to the hotel:

We had trouble with showers in the morning, all getting hot water consistently. While we were all able to shower, it took a lot of fiddling with the faucets to make it happen.

There is no ice machine because the rooms come with a refrigerator with an icemaker. However, the icemaker was turned off when we got there, with no ice in the tray, and by the time we realized it, there really wasn't time to get any ice made. The ice maker only seemed to make a few cubes at a time. I don't know if we could've gotten ice downstairs from the front desk, because we weren't really in the room that much, but it was aggravating to not have ice when we wanted it.

However, I'd say that positives definitely outweighed the negatives, and I would highly recommend this hotel for a group who wanted a larger area than a standard hotel room. While it was somewhat pricey ($279 a night plus $15 valet parking), it wasn't bad when we split it among ourselves. The hotel helped us have a memorable getaway in Memphis.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank doctorjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

613 - 619 of 693 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2008

I recently stayed at the Residence Inn Dowtown Memphis for 10 days while on business.

The hotel is located a few blocks away from Beale street and is a fairly recent restoration of an historic building.

My room was on the 12th floor and had a really nice layout (see pictures) It was spotless, nicely decorated and had a very comfy bed with premium linens. It was also very quiet. Not sure if this is because I was on the 12th floor (with no rooms above me)

The aircon/heating was a central type, which worked very well.

The free high speed internet didn't work reliably during my stay. Apparently there was a problem with a few rooms neary mine as well. The staff seemed sympathetic to this problem and had technical support looking into the problem, however it was not fixed by the time I checked out. Being on a business trip, this was definitely an inconvenience. Upon checkout, staff (even though very friendly) never asked for my feedback on my stay.

The gym is OK, with 2 older treadmills, a bike, TV, water, towels.

The good:
- Super friendly and helpful staff - one of the best!
- Beautiful room decor, layout, cleanliness
- Heating/Aircon works well

To improve:
- Better response on internet problems
- Upgrade gym equipment - treadmills are old/low quality
- Add a 2nd computer in the business center
- Provide in-room safes
- Add more premium tv channels

What you sould also know:
- Parking is not included. You can park yourself for $5 or Valet for $16.39 (tax in). I went with the valet parking after parking myself the first night. I switched to valet because I didn't feel safe.
- There is a rooftop garden and whirlpool.
- The hotel front door always requires your card key (good security feature)

Conclusion:
- This hotel offers great value for the price considering it's not only clean and modern, but the rooms are full suites. When you add the super friendly staff, that makes it even better.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank deathracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

We stayed in a two bedroom suite on the top floor at Residence Inn Downtown (since it had gotten so good reviews here) for one night in January. The layout of the room was good and we even had a view of the river.
We were quite happy with our stay there but unfortunately there was a thunderstorm on the night we stayed there so the ceiling started leaking in two places. There was also some problem with the valet parking, the garage was probaby flooded, and they brought out all the cars in early in the morning. Since we we're only staying one night it wasn't really a problem for us.
The location is exellent, you can walk to Beale Street and several other attractions.
The social downstairs (om-thur) had a good selection of snacks liker crackers, cheese etc. The breakfast was also good and the staff is very friendly. There are several amenities that you probably will find very useful for longer stays, like grocery shopping.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann-Christin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

We spent one night at the Residence Inn Downtown while in Memphis to see the Pissarro Exhibit at the Brooks Museum. This is a really fine hotel. We occupied a studio on the 12th floor. The room was clean and felt fresh. The small kitchen was complete even including a dishwasher. The bathroom was well lighted, the towels thick, the water hot and the pressure strong even on the twelfth floor. The bed was extremely comfortable with both feather and foam pillows available. There was a large closet with removable hangers not the awful things attached to the rod. The room's furnishings, the free hi-speed internet and the large television all added to a very pleasing stay. The breakfast buffet was very good with wide choices. The staff was friendly and efficient. We had the senior rate of $161. Adding the $15 parking fee and all the taxes we paid $203. It was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank oldcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Stayed in Memphis to celebrate the New Year. This hotel was in a wonderful location. Just a few blocks from everything downtown. I was lucky, grabbed a parking spot in front of the hotel and walked everywhere I needed to go. Our suite was on the rooftop. Very nice and spacious. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will stay there if I go back.

Stayed: January 2008
Thank alee980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

A group of us (6) traveled to Memphis to watch UCF play in the Liberty Bowl. We were all very pleased with the hotel. If you have never traveled to Memphis, downtown is run-down. There are a lot of homeless and a lot of closed stores. However, the hotel is located in a fairly safe area and is only a few blocks from Beale Street. In addition, the Rendezvous is only 1 block away.

The hotel rooms were very nice. There is a half wall separating the bedroom from the living room providing a very nice transition. Also, there is a full kitchen with a stove and fridge. The room was clean and well appointed. The lobby and kitchen area were warm and inviting, but what must be highlighted is the staff.

The front desk folks were excellent. However, the most helpful people in the hotel were Carl and Joann. These folks work in the kitchen area serving breakfast and drinks. Carl was very helpful. We were new to the area and wanted some ideas for good bbq in the area. Carl stood with us for 15 minutes discussing every possible type of bbq in Memphis. His opinions were spot on. The next day he stopped us and asked how are stay was going.

Joann was in charge of keeping the kitchen moving, not an easy task with all of those guests. She also spoke with us on the first day and recalled the specific conversation during the rest of our stay. She was obviously in a stressful situation, but kept smiling anyway.

I travel often and rarely feel at home at a hotel, but these folks make you feel like its okay to come down to breakfast in your PJs.

Great job.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MJganoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

I read many reviews before booking this room. My family and I were not disappointed. We entered our two bedroom suit- we were at the end of the hall, so all windows gave a view of the river... WOW!! This is an old building that was a hotel, apartments, and then the Residence Inn. The lobby is lovely. The employees helpful and cheerful. You will love Hugh at the front desk, he is pleasant and funny.
Our two bedroom suite had a small kitchen and a nice living room with a comfortable couch, two large chairs and a desk. Lots of windows and views. The beds were really comfortable. We went up on the roof for a wonderful sunset view over the river.
That evening we went down for some snacks. They had wine, beer, soda, coffee, etc. The wine was good. They had dips, cheese sauce, chips and even hot dogs. The room they serve snacks and breakfast in is lovely --- fireplace and tvs. The employees were having their Christmas party. They were singing Christmas Carols. The manager of the hotel was making the rounds with guests - how often do you even see the manager?? She was so nice and pleasant and very visible our entire visit.
After a great sleep in comfy beds we went downstairs for a good breakfast, scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes, waffles, fruit, yogart, coffee, juices, bagels, donuts... well, you get the idea.
The room was lovely the staff friendly, the location, just two blocks from everything... Beale Street, Peabody, Rendevous (yum)...

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank cindeeandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#6 of 138 in Memphis
3,358 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#12 of 138 in Memphis
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Memphis Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Memphis Downtown

Address: 110 Monroe Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#5 Family Hotel in Memphis
#17 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $197 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing