We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well above expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Ranked #7 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
So. California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well above expectations!”
Reviewed October 11, 2007

Excellent service, very clean, great location. More than you expect from a 3 star hotel. The staff goes out of their way to help you. Highly recommend it and will stay there again on future visits.

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travelpage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    195
    65
    14
    4
See reviews for
171
263
26
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
az
Level Contributor
135 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

Stay here and be happy!

We loved this hotel we had a 2 bdrm suite on the 11th floor! This is a great histroic hotel in a great locale walking distance to Beale St and all that downtown has to offer.

We got in early we had a 1 bdrm reserved we wanted an upgrade to a 2 bdrm which was not ready but the front desk was so nice we went to a little place down the road had an appetizer and when we got back our bags were in the room and all was good with the world.

It was like the front desk folks were old friends they wanted out sstay to be the best it could be. The workout room was nice and the am breakfast was super, The lending library had some super books and movies and we got a game to play.

This is a great place in a city that is on the upswing. Take the horse drawn carriage ride and see how Memphis is rebuilding a downtown.

Would I stay here again YES indeed!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kmjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We booked this hotel based on reviews we read on TripAdvisor. We arrived at the hotel and were quickly checked in. We had a two bedroom suite that we were sharing with friends. We had a lovely living room with a couch, chairs, a television, and a coffee table. There were even sucking candies on the coffee table. There was also a table and chairs to the side of the living room and a full kitchen complete with utensils. We also had two bedrooms and two bathrooms. The bedrooms were not large but each held a queen sized bed, a closet, a television on a chest of drawers and two night tables. One bedroom also had a private bathroom with a tub and the second bathroom was outside of the bedroom and had a shower but no tub. The suite was very clean and we were more than satisfied. Every evening from Sunday trough Thursday a modest dinner is served in the lobby along with free beer, soda and wine. A very nice touch. Also, breakfast consisted of a buffet that included not only cereals, bagels and pastry , juices, coffee, etc.but eggs, meat and potatoes as well. The hotel is close to Beale Street and if you make a left outside of the hotel, cross the street and walk down a block - down the alley to your right is a restaurant called the Rendezvous. We really enjoyed their dry rubbed ribs. Also, the trolley stops right by the hotel and it only cost a dollar so we happily left the car in the garage and used the trolley to take us to certain tourist spots like the Civil Right Museum.

  • Liked — Nice accomodations/good location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JLW05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Before going to Memphis, I read the trip advisor reviews for this hotel and made the decision to stay here. I enjoyed my stay. The room was very clean. We had a platform bedroom which was interesting in a good way. I was told the hotel has lofts as well. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The location was perfect for us to walk back and forth to Beale Street. We tried riding on the trolly but found that we could walk faster to Beale Street. I was originally going to stay at a hotel near Beale Street. I was glad that I listened to the reviews because it was entirely too loud down there. The Residence Inn is just far enough away from the noise but close enough to walk to Beale. We were two blocks from the Mississippi River Boat ride and very close to the freeways. We actually enjoyed Beale Street BBQ better than Corky's BBQ. The only problem was with the computer at the hotel in the business center. It did not work correctly, but the front desk staff allowed me to use the computer in their office. I was so grateful because I had work I needed to complete for school. I will stay at this hotel again. I really liked how the staff attended to our needs. Each one of them was very nice and respectful.

Loving Memphis

  • Liked — The bed was comfortable
  • Disliked — the bathroom door would not stay open
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank willtravel4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 8 nights at the end of July. I chose it after reading the reviews on this site, and I wasn't disappointed.
We arrived at midnight after a long day traveling from the U.K, and were greeted very cheerfully and checked in quickly.
Our room was large and easily accommodated the three of us, with lots of storage, (usually we are cramming things into every drawer!). My son slept on a comfortable sofa bed, and our bed was on a raised platform with a partial wall around it.
There were 2 T.Vs, and as others have said a fully equipped kitchen, including a dishwasher!
The roof area is a nice place to sit and relax after a busy day. Go and get a free glass of wine, take it up there, and watch the Mississippi go by.
All of the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Easy 5 minute walk to Beale St and all the action. The street it's in is nice and quiet though.
Good breakfast, finished at 9.00 though during the week (slightly early for our teenage son). They did provide containers for people who wanted to take it to their rooms, which we used for our son.
Couldn't complain about anything. definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lizzievw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

we have just stayed here last week after travelling through lasvegas which we stayed at the wynns, then went on to the queen mary in long beach, and through california, but when we arrived at the residence it was the best hotel we stayed in throughout our holiday, it was just what we expected Excellent, the 2 bedroom suite was just superb, the staff was so friendly and helpful, i like to say a big thankyou to some of the staff who made our stay memorable, faith who was on duty in the evenings, and jesse who worked on reception, also there was a young guy who worked on reception during the day very helpful also, if you are looking for a good hotel near beale st, with breakfast and also food in the evening all included in the price this is the place to stay, i would say this is the best place we saw while in memphis, forget your peabodys this is the one to stay in, also if your wanting to go to gracelands you can catch the 43 bus just around the corner from the hotel which is great, i would not recommend staying around gracelands as this looked quite rough and did not seem safe if you wanted to walk round at nights.

  • Liked — everything from checking in, clean good food beautiful views from the roof top
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dylanoManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis County
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

The service in this hotel is very good. The night manager, Jesse, was very helpful. He tries very hard to make guests feel special. He walked out the front door with me to point out directions to the Rendevous restaurant. When we returned that night, he remembered our names. We enjoyed talking to him. The room was very clean. This hotel is all non-smoking, but our room on the 6th floor did smell slightly of smoke. Probably left over from when there was smoking allowed. If this is something you are concerned about, as about it ahead of time. I like that the sink is outside the bathroom. The DVD player didn't work. The light dinner, wine and beer, is a great advantage. The breakfast was very good. I think the location is perfect. The trolley is out the front door.

  • Liked — location, amenities
  • Disliked — no wireless internet, broken DVD player
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Christc879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.1 mi away
The Peabody Memphis
The Peabody Memphis
#4 of 136 in Memphis
3,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Madison Hotel
Madison Hotel
#8 of 136 in Memphis
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Westin Memphis Beale Street
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 136 in Memphis
896 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Memphis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Memphis Downtown

Property: Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Address: 110 Monroe Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#5 Family Hotel in Memphis
#17 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing