We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the Way Good Time”

Double J Smokehouse & Saloon
Ranked #177 of 1,469 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Out of the Way Good Time”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I found Double J kinda by accident. A buddy was playing on stage and invited me out. I wasn't really familiar with the place, but I found it with a little help from Google. Trust me, it isn't really close to anything on the typical tourist set in Memphis so you're going to have to go looking for this place if you are into it.
The building is small, a little cramped, and if you get there after the crowd you might be waiting awhile. With the bar and live music people aren't always in a hurry to move along after they're done eating. But the food is worth the wait.
I ordered the pork steak and was impressed with both the portion and the flavor. In true Memphis form, Double J has nailed it when it comes to Barbecue. My steak was about the size of Shaquille O'Neal's shoe and much tastier. I will definitely make it a point to return even if the band isn't there rocking the house.
Our waitress was a little less attentive than I usually like, but I can forgive that.
Parking can be iffy, so take your time and find a good spot so you don't get towed.
And if you are in the mood to party, there is a "private" room upstairs with an outdoor balcony.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaLaR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    25
    8
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Cute little restaurant/bar and good food!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This was our first time to visit on New Year's Eve & we had a great time!! The place is very "old downtown" with some western nostalgia!! The food is very good and they serve really large portions for very reasonable prices!! They had a duo downstairs on their stage they call the Front Porch. It's non-smoking. They also have an upstairs with a nice deck for warm weather & another bar area that is smoking. They had a duo up there as well! Pretty rocking little place! One of the owners, Jeff, is very personable with a whole lot of charm!! Oh, and there is a huge parking lot behind the restaurant that you can use after business hours! Good job you guys!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

A group of us decided to eat here and it was the worst. We were all seated waited 20 minutes before anyone got us drinks. We ask if they could turn the TV on and one staff person told us it didn't work then 10 minutes later another staff member came and turned it on after we got fussy. The food took way to long to get to us. And as we occupied the whole top area of the bar EVERYBODY had something negative to say about their food. WORST BAR-B-Q in the world!!! I had never had chicken that was black to the bone like I had that day. Will never return to eat here again!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetreat31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best ribs ever”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Our tour guide told us this was the best place for wet ribs and I totally agree. They were amazing. My husband had the pulled pork sandwich and it was great also. Lots of sides to choose and delicious. Cool place with bands at night. Used to be a bank and the vault is still there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank amy1440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Steaks”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We were recommended to the Double J .we went because of the good steaks. The steaks were great ,the music fantastic.somewhat slow service.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double J Smokehouse & Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Double J Smokehouse & Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing