We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind
Ranked #47 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Although this is a newer hotel and I have stayed at this location on many previous trips, I will NEVER do business with this particular hotel again. I work for a major US company and I booked a room for a single night - planning to fly out very early the next morning. Unfortunately the trip was cancelled and I contacted the hotel to cancel the reservation. I contacted them over 24 hours in advance of my arrival date and was told that I could cancel the reservation, but the room would be charged to my corporate credit card anyway. I asked to speak to the manager, a Mr. Jose Garcia, who flatly refused to refund the charge. When I asked to speak to his superior he informed me that he was the top man and he answered to no higher authority. As a long time Holiday Inn customer and a rewards club member I was absolutely shocked at such indifference and unwillingness to even try and take the customer's point of view. Needless to say, I will be reporting this to the Holiday Inn corporate group. Be warned!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
2  Thank Houston W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We apologize for your experience when attempting to cancel your reservation with the IHG central reservation line. After reviewing your reservation we found it had originally been confirmed for an Advance Purchase rate. Certain restrictions apply to this deeply discounted rate and a deposit for the entire stay is charged to your credit card between the time of booking and your date of arrival. Canceling your reservation will result to the forfeiture of your entire deposit.

Acknowledgement of the restrictions is required in order to obtain your confirmation number. This provides you with the option of agreeing or declining the terms, and gives you a choice to book a different rate type with a different cancellation policy.

While we certainly regret any inconvenience this may cause, we are unable to issue refund for your reservation due to the terms originally agreed to at the time of booking.

Once again, we appreciate your taking the time to contact us. We value you as a Priority Club Rewards member and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 142 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

I checked into the Holiday Inn Express in Memphis on Thursday evening, September 5th at about 7:30pm. Using a coupon from one of the traveling magazines I picked up at a visitor’s center, I was able to get a rate that beat any Internet or special rate.

This establishment has easy access from hwy 385 (Bill Morris Parkway) and is about a 25-minute ride from Graceland. It is within walking distance of a Cracker Barrel restaurant.

This facility is in excellent condition, inside and out. With a friendly staff, a clean and well appointed room already set at a comfortable temperature, hot shower, and a hot breakfast featuring eggs, sausage, waffles, French toast, etc., etc., this place is a great value, especially with that coupon rate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheSimpleTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest; we are very pleased to know that you were happy with our room accommodations and customer service. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests; we hope that you will continue to stay with us on your visit to Memphis. We appreciate the feedback we receive as it is crucial to our success. Thank you again for posting your comments. Warm Regards, Patti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Holiday Inn Express - friendly and helpful staff, solid service, almost always full so that should tell you something. I've stayed several times on business trips and never had any problems. Breakfast area is spacious and the breakfast is always well stocked, clean, and plentiful. Nice outdoor pool area behind the hotel. Recommended stay, close to lots of shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwestDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We are pleased to know that you were happy with our room accommodations and the breakfast served lived up to expectations. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, and appreciate the feedback we receive as it is crucial to our success. Thank you again for posting your comments. We look forward to having you visit us on your next trip to Memphis. Warm Regard, Patti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I love everything about this property. Had a very long drive and was beyond exhausted so I pulled in expecting to get turned away because everything else was booked up not only was I able to get a room at a decent price for 2 nights but the service from the evening and night staff was wonderful. The older man John kept me laughing the entire time, Armez was very helpful and friendly and Danielle was just adorable and nice. Room was very clean and it was super quiet, no kids or rowdy adults running around so it was one of the more pleasant stays I have ever had. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen35807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We are pleased to know that you were happy with our room accommodations and the breakfast served lived up to expectations. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, and appreciate the feedback we receive as it is crucial to our success. We will ensure that our staff knows how happy you were with the service they gave. Thank you again for posting your comments. We look forward to having you visit us on your next trip to Memphis. Warm Regard, Patti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was exhausted when I arrived with two young adult children early on a Friday. My trip took a big turn upward when I was greeted by a smiling, friendly, and very helpful front deskperson named Ryan. The room was clean and modern. The cleaning staff respected the "do not disturb" sign that was in place because my daughter was ill. Ryan went out of his way throughout our stay to help with whatever we needed. He even asked my daughter if she felt better when she passed him on her way out. The breakfast room was clean and spacious, the food was ample and there was a good selection. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience while you were our guest. We know you have a choice and are honored that you selected our hotel for your lodging needs. We are committed to providing you with the level of service you have come to expect from the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests. We appreciate the feedback we receive as it is crucial to our success. We thank you for mentioning the great service that you received from Ryan and we will ensure that he is aware of your comments. Thank you again for posting your comments. We look forward to having you visit us on your next trip to Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel during my vacation to Memphis, TN. All the hotel staff was more than accomodating (Ryan was especially helpful to us) and the room was clean and quite large for what I expected. The pool area was very nice. Could walk to breakfast at Cracker Barrel each morning and than head off where ever. Downtown Memphis was only a 20-minute ride away.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Memphis and wants to enjoy what Memphis has to offer but be able to go back to a quiet hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarsiDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience while you were our guest. We know you have a choice and are honored that you selected our hotel for your lodging needs. We are committed to providing you with the level of service you have come to expect from the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We thank you for mentioning the great service that you received from Ryan and we will ensure that he is aware of your comments. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon. Warm Regards! Patti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The warm welcome and friendly atmosphere coupled with a nice room makes this HIE a good stay each time. My wife and I were treated very well, especially this time. The food was very good and the attendant was extra helpful. We had a small registered therapy dog with and all three of us were given the utmost respect..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tex47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We cant thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience while you were our guest. We know you have a choice and are honored that you selected our hotel for your lodging needs. We are committed to providing you with the level of service you have come to expect from the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon. Warm Regards !! Patti & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
0.0 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#20 of 138 in Memphis
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind

Address: 4068 Stansell Ct, Memphis, TN 38125-2871
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#20 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $113 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now with brand new 32" Hi Def flat screen TVs and HD channels!! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Memphis-Hacks Cross is a beautiful hotel located at Hwy 385/Bill Morris Pkwy and Hacks Cross road in Memphis, TN. Just 1.5 miles from FedEx World Headquarters and Mike Rose Soccer Complex. We are also conveniently located to Carriage Crossing Mall, restaurants, Germantown and Collierville and only a short drive to Beale Street, Graceland, the Memphis Zoo, Fed Ex Forum, and downtown. This hotel offers free hot breakfast, daily, wireless high-speed Internet and business center. Visit Memphis, TN and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing