We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, clean hotel, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind
Ranked #47 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was exhausted when I arrived with two young adult children early on a Friday. My trip took a big turn upward when I was greeted by a smiling, friendly, and very helpful front deskperson named Ryan. The room was clean and modern. The cleaning staff respected the "do not disturb" sign that was in place because my daughter was ill. Ryan went out of his way throughout our stay to help with whatever we needed. He even asked my daughter if she felt better when she passed him on her way out. The breakfast room was clean and spacious, the food was ample and there was a good selection. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience while you were our guest. We know you have a choice and are honored that you selected our hotel for your lodging needs. We are committed to providing you with the level of service you have come to expect from the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests. We appreciate the feedback we receive as it is crucial to our success. We thank you for mentioning the great service that you received from Ryan and we will ensure that he is aware of your comments. Thank you again for posting your comments. We look forward to having you visit us on your next trip to Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 142 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel during my vacation to Memphis, TN. All the hotel staff was more than accomodating (Ryan was especially helpful to us) and the room was clean and quite large for what I expected. The pool area was very nice. Could walk to breakfast at Cracker Barrel each morning and than head off where ever. Downtown Memphis was only a 20-minute ride away.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Memphis and wants to enjoy what Memphis has to offer but be able to go back to a quiet hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarsiDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to share your experience while you were our guest. We know you have a choice and are honored that you selected our hotel for your lodging needs. We are committed to providing you with the level of service you have come to expect from the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. We thank you for mentioning the great service that you received from Ryan and we will ensure that he is aware of your comments. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon. Warm Regards! Patti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The warm welcome and friendly atmosphere coupled with a nice room makes this HIE a good stay each time. My wife and I were treated very well, especially this time. The food was very good and the attendant was extra helpful. We had a small registered therapy dog with and all three of us were given the utmost respect..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tex47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We cant thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience while you were our guest. We know you have a choice and are honored that you selected our hotel for your lodging needs. We are committed to providing you with the level of service you have come to expect from the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon. Warm Regards !! Patti & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Easy to find off of E385, located behind the Cracker Barrel which is within walking distance. Gas station a little further walk or very short drive. Friendly staff, clean, spacious and comfortable room. Microwave, fridge, separate kitchen area with coffee maker and cupboards. Desk, armchair. Outdoor pool. Typical HI breakfast. My stay was quiet. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Hotel and amenities are great! Staff is super and very helpful! Would recommend to anyone --very quiet and comfortable sleep. We stayed in a room with a "kitchenette" with a sink, microwave, and frig. It came in very handy to use. The bed was very comfortable. When we needed something they were always accommdating and thoughtful. The free breakfast bar was great!!

Denise & Guy R.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side facing the other hotel are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

All the hotels in Memphis were sold out! We had traveled for 4 hours to get to Memphis! The faculty at The Holiday Inn Express did everything they could to find us a room. Finally a king size bed! Thanks a bunch Mrs. Pat and Kathy Malone for accomodating my family! Everytime we come to Memphis we will stay at the HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS The housekeeping staff were so helpful! The housekeeper Jasmine on our floor couldn't find something I needed, we went shopping and when we returned it was in our room! We were so happy someone actually remembered and left her a tip for being so kind! DON"T FORGET TO TIP THE HOUSEKEEPERS! *wink*

Room Tip: They have beautiful rooms! The continental breakfast was great! The housekeepers were so friendly &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, we Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Memphis Southwind, TN.
We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about the wonderful service they have received.
We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate you choosing us.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

During Memphis in May, the hotel was sold out the night before and when we called about 11:00 am to see about checking in earlier, we were told that they would put someone at cleaning the room and have it ready within the hour. The room was excellent, beds very comfortable. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very polite. The breakfast was great. It included sausage, omelets, pancakes, and the normal items. The rate we received was cheap to the service and quality that we received. I will stay at this hotel again FOR SURE.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We are pleased to know that you were happy with our room accommodations and the breakfast served lived up to expectations. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, and appreciate the feedback we receive as it is crucial to our success. Thank you again for posting your comments. We look forward to having you visit us on your next trip to Memphis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
0.0 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria
5.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#20 of 138 in Memphis
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind

Address: 4068 Stansell Ct, Memphis, TN 38125-2871
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#20 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $113 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now with brand new 32" Hi Def flat screen TVs and HD channels!! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Memphis-Hacks Cross is a beautiful hotel located at Hwy 385/Bill Morris Pkwy and Hacks Cross road in Memphis, TN. Just 1.5 miles from FedEx World Headquarters and Mike Rose Soccer Complex. We are also conveniently located to Carriage Crossing Mall, restaurants, Germantown and Collierville and only a short drive to Beale Street, Graceland, the Memphis Zoo, Fed Ex Forum, and downtown. This hotel offers free hot breakfast, daily, wireless high-speed Internet and business center. Visit Memphis, TN and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing