We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Front Desk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind
Ranked #41 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
“Helpful Front Desk”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The front desk clerk was the most helpful personal that I have ever met. Thanks Craig and Cathy for each time I arrive, you both welcome me with great hospitality. I will keep returning to this Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Memphis Southwind, TN.

We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about the wonderful service they have received.

I will ensure that Craig and Cathy are aware of your kind comments. We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate you choosing us.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    50
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
61
21
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just completed 5 nights at this hotel and it was a pleasure. No problems with cell phone coverage or any other issues prior guests encountered. The hotel was very well maintained and clean. The staff was top notch and professional at all times. I arranged for an airport shuttle pick up and Craig was outside waiting when I landed, great service.

Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, we Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Memphis Southwind, TN.

We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about the wonderful service they have received
.
We will ensure that Craig is aware of your nice comments, and is recognized for his wonderful service.

We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate you choosing us.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon.

Sincerely,
Patti Davison
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st louis, mo
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The good:
-Breakfast was awesome!
-The staff we encountered were cheerful and friendly, especially the breakfast attendant.
-The hotel is in a great area. Lots of shopping and amenities nearby. It was easy to get on the expressway from here and get to places in the city. It took about 25 minutes to get to the zoo from there. -The area felt safe and the parking lot is well lit.
-Our bed was very comfortable and the room was large

The meh:
-There is some sound transfer through the bathrooms and floors. Not a ton but if you're sensitive to it bring ear plugs.
-The shower curtain was too short so the bathroom floor flooded
-The bathroom vent didn't work so the bathroom stayed steamy for a long time.

The bad
The maid service!!! We entered the room to find an ice bucket full of water with floaties in it, hair and a hair tie on the bathroom floor, and several long hairs on top of the covers. The interior sheets were clean and smelled fresh. We were issued a new ice bucket and an apology. The next day we returned at 4:30. The towels and trash were gone but no new ones had been put in place the bed was unmade, the floors not cleaned, and the maid was three doors down. We had two tired kids who needed a nap before dinner and really didn't have time to wait for her to finish. We tracked her down and waited while she found a translator as she spoke no English. She gave us some towels and washcloths and then left. We tracked her down again to get trash bags and a bag for the ice bucket. When we got settled back into the room we found an ashtray she had left in the kitchenette area (in our non-smoking room.)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank megan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest, we Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Memphis Southwind, TN.
We are always very happy when a guest contacts us about the wonderful service they have received.
You mentioned that you had an issue with you shower curtain and fan, we appreciate you sharing this with us, it allows us the opportunity to make the needed adjustments and repair before the next guest.
We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate you choosing us.

Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend of December 7-9, 2012. The hotel was in a great location for the soccer tournament. Plenty of things around the area and location to downtown Memphis is good. Only a couple of issues, the wi-fi was only available on the first floor and was not the strongest there. The smart TV was a pain and a lot of the channels were digitized and could not be watched. Due to the soccer scheduling, we were advised that we could not have an extended check out even for one hour so that the girls could get showers after the muddy mess of a game. This was not even available for Hilton Honors members so we had to drive 8 hours without my daughter getting a shower because of this. If we have a choice, we will stay at another hotel just for the extra amenities if they are available. More guest laundry facilities would help when hosting for a soccer tournament.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zander24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for making us aware of your experience while you were a guest at our hotel, Holiday Inn Express Southwind.
I appreciate your comments concerning your experience with the internet service and television service. We thank you making us aware, which allows us to make the required repairs and to improve the next guest experience.
We always strive to ensure that all guest requests have been met, we apologize that due to our high occupancy, we were unable to honor an extended checkout.
I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you if you’re ever in the Memphis area.
Again I personally thank you or bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Ugh and Ick. Those words describe our stay last night. The reason we didn't check out sooner can only be blamed on an exhausted family having driven for 12 hours yesterday. Bugs in the bathroom, hair on the bathroom floor and room carpet that was just gross. The only redeeming feature was the hot water/shower. Accompanied by a very slow draining tub. We couldn't get out of there fast enough this morning. If it weren't for it raining and we had a sick family member, I would have stopped at the front desk to complain. Come on, HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS AT STANSELL COURT. Clean up your act. You give other HIE locations a bad name.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
On behalf of myself and staff, I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. It is our goal to ensure that our guest has a pleasant experience. There are no words or excuses that would make your experiences acceptable.

We would have appreciated the opportunity to have corrected any concerns that you may have had.
It is important to us that all of our guest continue to enjoy visiting Holiday Inn Express.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you, if you’re ever in the Memphis area.

Sincerely,
Patti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Although this hotel was a 20 minute ride to downtown and waterfront it worked out best for us . Located near Germantown it is convenient to many area of Memphis Germantown and points east of Memphis. Great free breakfast for a hotel without a restaurant, rooms are clean, employees are very friendly and very helpful with information and directions. Reasonably priced

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hairykitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PattiMemphis, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
It was nice of you to share your experience regarding your stay with the Holiday Inn Express and Suites Memphis Southwind, TN.
We realize you have many choices when it comes to lodging, and we sincerely appreciate you choosing us.
Thank you again for your kind words. We hope to have you as a guest in our hotels again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The staff has been nice. The room is large; has good working refridgerator, microwave and sink. Shower is horrible. The shower head has a couple of settings - one so wide that you get little water, the other a jet stream that I believe at one time was meant to be a pulsating stream. Both dump gallons of water on the bathroom floor.

The other complaint is cell phone coverage inside the hotel is horrible. I spoke with the front desk and they acknowledged that it is difficult to get signal here. So, if you're planning on making calls, you'll need to plan to be out in the parking lot which was the only place I could get signal. And I have Verizon which normally gets signal when others don't.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Kmagg,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your wonderful comment regarding our staff, room and amenities.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the cellular phone signal. We are constantly finding ways on how we can boost up the signal. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis - Southwind
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Memphis
Candlewood Suites Memphis
#61 of 136 in Memphis
62 reviews
6.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Memphis-Southwind
9.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
14.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Medical Center Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind

Property: Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind
Address: 4068 Stansell Ct, Memphis, TN 38125-2871
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#20 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now with brand new 32" Hi Def flat screen TVs and HD channels!! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Memphis-Hacks Cross is a beautiful hotel located at Hwy 385/Bill Morris Pkwy and Hacks Cross road in Memphis, TN. Just 1.5 miles from FedEx World Headquarters and Mike Rose Soccer Complex. We are also conveniently located to Carriage Crossing Mall, restaurants, Germantown and Collierville and only a short drive to Beale Street, Graceland, the Memphis Zoo, Fed Ex Forum, and downtown. This hotel offers free hot breakfast, daily, wireless high-speed Internet and business center. Visit Memphis, TN and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Memphis Southwind Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis
Memphis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing