We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Burgers”

BGR The Burger Joint
Order Online
Ranked #826 of 1,684 Restaurants in Memphis
Cuisines: American
Description: Burgers Grilled Right. Gourmet, award winning burgers grilled on an open flame and cooked to order. We have cold beer on tap too! Made with 93/7 USDA Prime Grade Beef. Try our chicken, turkey, ahi, and veggie burgers. Gluten free options include: regular fries, sweet potato fries, side salad, salad bowl (any burger on a salad), lettuce wrap, asparagus. Prefer protein wraps or salads? Those are delicious too! Have a burger and feel healthy about it.
Restaurant details
Description: Burgers Grilled Right. Gourmet, award winning burgers grilled on an open flame and cooked to order. We have cold beer on tap too! Made with 93/7 USDA Prime Grade Beef. Try our chicken, turkey, ahi, and veggie burgers. Gluten free options include: regular fries, sweet potato fries, side salad, salad bowl (any burger on a salad), lettuce wrap, asparagus. Prefer protein wraps or salads? Those are delicious too! Have a burger and feel healthy about it.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

Came to this burger joint while on vacation in Memphis (located in a strip mall very close to the Memphis Hilton). Very good burger: flames up nice and high! The french fries were very tasty, not too crispy nor too soggy: just right. The decor has cool pictures of classic albums. Neil and Demetrius are a good team! They kept offering us more fries. If I weren't so full, I would have said "yes."

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CityHopper80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 44 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2018 via mobile

Good burger joint with lots of menu choices. I had the world championship burger. It was flavorful and juicy and cooked just like I ordered it. The only real drawback was the tea was not fresh brewed. It was some kind of fountain drink mix. It’s location is convenient it lots of places located just off popular and The interstate. It also has ample parking.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank jaungren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

We had been to BGR previously when visiting family and decided to go back. Ordered a burger and it took forever to get. The cook said he over cooked and was cooking us another one. The second burger was raw. So unfortunately I had to ask for my money back. They were gracious understanding enough to give us a refund.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank G4flyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

We were greeted immediately at the counter and the staff was pleasant. The kitchen is open so you can watch your burger cook. As our burgers were cooking there was a grease flame up (not unusual when cooking burgers) but the cook wasn’t watching (he had left to go in the back) so the burgers sat in the direct flame. Not surprisingly, there were over cooked (not juicy at all). I’d also ordered a burger with three ingredients and they forgot one. The fries were cooked well, although a bit over salted.
One thing I thought in poor taste: you order at the counter and they run the card through an iPad, which they then turn for you to sign. Very prominently displayed on the iPad are suggested tip amounts of 15%, 20% and 25%. In my view this is not warranted for counter service and I found it bothersome. Bottom line: just OK and we likely won’t return.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank 288charlesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

Walked in,no one at counter,waiting awhile,guy comes out,sees us..no acknowledging just starts filling up mayo,mustard cups. Finally as we patiently wait,takes him time takes our order.when we get it,didnt have half of ingredients described when asked about burger,all he said,oh were out of sauerkraut,out of pretzel bun and so we stopped there ate what was on it. Didnt offer money back for the burger that we ordered. Never sorry. He had to have known when we ordered,he was out.,more to it but thats enough to never go back and..i ask well done..it was red..red.. we were the only people there. Know why now..

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank famaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BGR The Burger Joint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing