We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Historic Mason Temple - A Must See

I have been to the Mason Temple before but this visit was to commemorate Rev., Dr. Martin Luther... read more

Reviewed April 10, 2018
fredyt3
,
fredyt3
Amazing and Historic

I was amazed at the size of the church. This was a Mega Church before the term was even used. I... read more

Reviewed August 10, 2016
367Tracy
,
Greensboro, North Carolina
Read all 8 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Memphis
from $25.00
More Info
from $38.00
More Info
from $32.78
More Info
from $66.00
More Info
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveler rating
8
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the national civil rights museum martin luther king speech christ mountaintop dr founded mlk
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 8 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2016

I was amazed at the size of the church. This was a Mega Church before the term was even used. I really enjoyed our tour guide who gave a speech using Dr. King's last speech.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank 367Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2016

This was the location that MLK gave his famous mountain top speech the night before he died. Very touching to be in there.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Shaima A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This historic building is known as the heart and foundation of the Pentecostal Holiness Christian denomination the Church Of God In Christ. Usually written as COGIC and pronounced "co'gic". Reported to be the number one largest Pentecostal church and the fifth largest Christian denomination in the United States, it is predominately comprised of African Americans but is seeing a constant growth in Caucasian population and many other minority communities. Members of the denomination are generally known as "Saints". The founder of the Church Of God In Christ (COGIC) was none other than the late great Bishop Charles E. Mason. He is memorialized in this magnificent church with his final resting place being in the entrance area of this glorious building. Identified as the HOME or BIRTHPLACE for the COGIC Christian denomination, it is impossible for one not to recognize the spiritual presence that envelopes you upon entering the building. It can be certainly said this building is a living testimony to the purpose and mission of the Churches Of God In Christ. It is a powerful experience to view and enter this anointed and spiritual place. While it is listed as a site seeing item it misleading and unfair to be classified this way as it is a personal spiritual experience one will have as your hearts are opened and you experience the filling of love and benevolence, and to top it all off you leave with such a feeling of peace and ease; a feeling of a new self-centered understanding and contentment as one has never experienced. I have to say personally it is an experience that shall impact your life in such a positive way you never shall forget.

written by: timwatkins01@bellsouth.net

Date of experience: November 2012
9  Thank T_Palmer_Watkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We visited this site after the National Civil Rights Museum. It is in a very run-down part of town, but don't be put off by that or the fact that most of the doors are locked. We had just about given up on getting in when a kind woman working in the building across the parking lot showed us the only door that was open.
The interior has had some renovations since Dr. King gave his final speech, including a new podium and an acoustic tile ceiling, but I could hear his voice as we stood there alone in that big room.
If Dr. King was important to you, I do recommend taking this short detour and visiting the temple.

Date of experience: March 2012
11  Thank djnToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Rich with the history of the Church of God in Christ as well as the place the Late Great Dr. Martin Luther King gave his last speach "I've been to the Mountaintop" on April 3, 1968 the day before he was assasinated. The church also has our founder Bishop Charles Mason's prayer room that is a must to visit. There is just something about being there that touches your heart and soul. I love to go there and pray and cry out to God every time I visit Mason Temple.

Date of experience: March 2011
5  Thank cogicmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews