We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a business trip.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross
Ranked #37 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a business trip.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had a business engagement at FedEx HQ across the street. Perfect place to stay for that purpose. Would stay here again if business takes me to FedEx again. Otherwise for Memphis business trips, like to stay downtown, but that is based on location of business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sachmo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogm22, General Manager at Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your stay with us. We know that you have many choices when traveling and are pleased that you selected our hotel. Should your travels bring you back to the Memphis area, we hope to be your hotel of choice again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    76
    44
    33
    20
See reviews for
110
23
11
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My initial take on this property was that it was showing its age. The carpet is picked and dirty, the walls are dinged and scraped, the trim is chipped and bedraggled looking. It smelled a little funny, and the lay out was strange. But the bathrooms have been updated, and the kitchenette looked fairly new as well. Then on the morning we checked out, I had to kill a live cockroach on the floor in the bedroom. At least, I think it was a cockroach. So, it's Memphis, and I understand these things happen (although, to be fair, it's the first time I've encountered a live insect in a hotel over years of traveling all around the buggy Southeast). So when I checked out, I told the desk clerk that they might want to treat the room, and her response was "So it was only ONE cockroach? Oh, okay." That, to me, is not an acceptable response. Because, you know, it's NOT okay. Even if it was only ONE cockroach. I didn't expect an adjustment to my room charge, or anything beyond a simple apology -- but I did expect that much. She was polite, but didn’t seem at all concerned.

One of the other members of our party reported killing two unidentified brown bugs (roundish, and about the size of the wide part of an apple seed) climbing up the wall in her room, which is what led me to wonder whether it was actually a roach that I killed. I’ll leave you to draw your own conclusions as to the type of bugs – she made a guess but I didn’t see them so I won’t claim to know what they were.

The breakfast attendant was friendly (although the breakfast was not very good at all -- some sort of spicy egg fritatta which was really, really stinky), and the young man who checked me in was courteous. This location is convenient to many places to eat and shop, but I'd rather drive a couple extra minutes and stay at a more updated, insect-free accommodation.

Room Tip: The higher numbered rooms on each floor are further from the dining areas, but also further from any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Witsendstrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogm22, General Manager at Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and rectify any pest situation that might occur. We have reviewed your comments with our staff and have addressed the situation. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences and the level of service you received. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Employees are Great!!!!! A + in service.. Had a great time at the 5:00pm free food and beers!!! The employees very friendly. I will stay again without hesitation. Great job!!!! Rooms are very comfortable. Plenty of stores and restaurants around area. Overall, great hotel!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tito6410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogm22, General Manager at Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you Tito6410 for the great feedback. Our guest are our #1 priority and we strive to ensure that during each and every stay you are made to feel like Homewood Suites Memphis Hacks Cross is your "Home Away From Home". I am pleased that we delivered those results during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed at this property 4 different times and have always been very happy. The things that stand out above the rest are the friendly service, the cleanliness, and the comfortable beds. A great place to stay in Memphis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogm22, General Manager at Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you PackerLand for the positive feedback. Our guest are our #1 priority and we strive to ensure that during each and every stay you are made to feel like Homewood Suites Memphis Hacks Cross is your "Home Away From Home". I am pleased that we delivered those results during your stay and all previous visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Traveled to Memphis to participate in my best friends wedding. After reading some of the previous reviews, I was a little hesistant to stay at this location. But I am glad I gave it a shot!! I was very pleased with this property. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms (I reserved 7) were very clean and comfortable. We didn't get breakfast because we decided to cook in our rooms. Centrally located to almost anywhere you would want to go in Memphis. I would reccomend this location to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shervonda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogm22, General Manager at Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you Shervonda1 for "giving us a shot" and the great feedback. While sometimes situations happen that can affect a guests overall service and experience, please know that our guest are our #1 priority and we strive to ensure that during each and every stay you are made to feel like Homewood Suites Memphis Hacks Cross is your "Home Away From Home". I am pleased that we delivered those results during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This was overall a very good hotel & I enjoyed my stay here for a week on business. The best thing about this hotel was the bed-I slept awesome the entire week. As we all know, the bed can make your week away from home an enjoyable or miserable experience. This bed was a 10+!! The room service was thorough and they did a great job on details.The front desk was friendly and helpful every time I needed something from them and the patio by the pool was a great way to have cocktails with people from the conference without having to congregate in someones room. If I had to be overly critical, I would say that it's time the hotel re-does their carpet. The carpet in the hallway is old and dingy and the carpet in my room had numerous stains on it. In addition, the hallway leading to my room smelled heavily of cigarette smoke, which was semi-annoying. I will probably be back in Memphis again next year around this time and will try to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JDKPNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogm22, General Manager at Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your stay with us. We know that you have many choices when traveling and are pleased that you selected our hotel. Looking forward to seeing you again in August 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I requested a high floor weeks prior to checking in. I was awarded room 130. Dirty carpet all the way from the front desk, including a 100 foot long black mark running down the center of the hallway. I was met with dingy looking carpet in the room that had frayed upholstery on one of the chairs.
I was only here for one night, and that was all I would want. It just seemed that from the look of the breakfast and the property that things were done to the minimum standards. I'm diamond and love Homewood properties but I will not stay here again. It is located in a good area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austintravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogm22, General Manager at Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us in Memphis. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we apologize for the condition of your guest suite. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We know how frequent a traveler you are with your Diamond standing and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we may show you the quality and service that you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walnut Grove - Shelby Farms PD
Candlewood Suites Memphis
Candlewood Suites Memphis
#60 of 138 in Memphis
3.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross

Property: Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross
Address: 3583 Hacks Cross Rd, Memphis, TN 38125-8803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Memphis - Hacks Cross Hotel Memphis
Homewood Suites Hacks Cross
Homewood Memphis
Memphis Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing