We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Interesting!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gibson Factory

Gibson Factory
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.52*
and up
Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum
Ranked #5 of 31 Tours in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Interesting!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Fun tour for anyone interested in the making of guitars! Visited with a musician friend. So interesting! Just about a 30 minute tour, couple of blocks from Beale Street. Once the tour is over you can go into the show room and try out the finished products!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank VMDTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    250
    89
    42
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Like guitars? Must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Our son is a guitarist and we made a point to include this stop on our vacation. It was very interesting to see how the Gibson is made from start to finish and all the beautiful guitars they have in stock. Amazing workmanship by people who love what they do. Our tour guide J.E. was funny & very informative. You can purchase in store, online or directly from factory. Solomon, in the store, has a vast knowledge of the various guitars and workings. It's was like going to the Wonka Chocolate factory for guitarists - yes, that cool!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“You don't have to be a music lover to love this tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Gibson Guitar Factory was a fun hour! I was there in August and stopped in without a reservation for the tour (which is a good idea in peak travel season). I was able to get in on the tour after being on the wait list and it lasted about an hour. The tour takes you onto the factory floor of the factory. Workers are working on the guitars right in front of tour participants. They show each stage of the guitar process to the finished product.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmomiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
552 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Love Guitars ??”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a great little attraction. A decent little shop and a wonderful factory tour. I have done many guitar factory tours and this one ranks close to the time.. nice information and good experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
476 reviews
295 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“Pretty basic factory tour. Recommended if you've never been on one.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Since I’m a guitarist, I tend to find any tour of a guitar manufacturing operation fairly interesting and worthwhile. I’m giving my experience an average rating based on a comparison to what I’ve experienced during visits to many guitar makers, ranging from massive factories that produce 300+ guitars per day to independent luthiers making 15 per year.

Some background: in this shop Gibson produces hollow body and semi-hollow body guitars. Acoustics are made in Bozeman, MT; solid body electrics are made in Nashville. I was told that this is the only Gibson factory that offers public tours. This was my 5th factory tour of a well-known guitar brand (after Martin, Taylor, Larrivée and Santa Cruz). Every one of these factories had similar aspects, but the tours had major differences. Love of guitars aside, I'll be as objective as I can, based on what met my expectations and what didn’t.

(1) This was the only guitar factory/shop I’ve visited that charged a fee ($10).
(2) Good news: there are six tours a day, except for Sunday (five), however …
(3) … manufacturing workers operate on shifts; thus, depending on which tour you take, it is possible that not every aspect of the guitar-building process will be happening when you are there. For this reason, you may wish to call in advance to see which tour might offer the best “bang for the buck,” so to speak.
(4) Tours last about 45 minutes. You are required to wear safety glasses.
(5) Some parts of the factory are loud; the guide might have to yell to get the info across (don’t take it personally).
(6) NO PHOTOS ALLOWED! In fact, our tour guide told us that if anyone so much as refers to a phone—even to check the time—this person will be immediately pulled off the tour and have his/her device searched (“that never goes well”). Given the recent outrageous stories involving Gibson and the Lacey Act (read the “Tone Woods” page on Gibson’s website), I can respect the company’s position on this. Yet, it is still a bummer.
(7) The retail shop is very nice … and pretty big. There are more guitars (all types and styles) than you can shake a stick at, and the staff lets you play any ones you want. Big thumbs up!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gibson Factory also viewed

 

Been to Gibson Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing