We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gibson Factory

Gibson Factory
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.52*
and up
Memphis Coach Tour including Rock and Soul Museum
Ranked #5 of 31 Tours in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Baltimore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

It was really interesting to see exactly what goes into making a guitar. My thought was cut a piece of wood, sand it, paint it and add "stuff"..... Wow, the guide walked you through each station of the factory explaining how they moisten the wood, cut, glue, sand, paint...as well as all of the steps it takes to make a guitar neck and the materials used. We went on a weekend so there were no workers at the stations to watch, so if I could choose, I would attempt to see this exhibit Monday through Friday so we could see the workers in action but we were still not disappointed. This tour is perfect for guitar players and inquisitive people. This tour may not be considered fun by young children or young persons that do not play guitar.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ajaxtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    256
    89
    43
    21
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“the holy grail for guitar lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

I have two teenage sons who love playing guitar, so we came here for them, however the rest of the family enjoyed the tour as well. The guides have to yell through an improvised megaphone to be heard over the din of the facory, and it is fairly hot and humid inside the actual workroom (to keep the conditions just right for the wood). There are only about 50 guitars completed each day, but they are working on 100's of guitars in various stages throughout the factory. It was fun to see from start to finish and how much care and fine detail goes into each guitar. While you are waiting for your tour or afterward, you can play some of the different guitars and/or buy one made at this facility. Location was convenient to Beale street if you want to have lunch before or after. I do recommend that you make a reservation because each tour is limited to about 25 or so people.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Melmo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I would rather watch paint dry.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

Bad. Boring.. Do not go here. There was noone working on guitars so it was not fun at all

Helpful?
1 Thank pplrsegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“cool place, boring tour guide”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

My manfriend is a musician, so this seemed like a cool place to check out. The factory itself was really interesting and I was amazed at the extensive processes used to make a guitar! However, our tour guide was immensely boring. He definitely knew what he was talking about and was able to provide us with a lot of information, but he spoke in a monotone and was just really super boring to listen to. He made an interesting place significantly less interesting. Maybe our experience would have been better with an entertaining tour guide.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank sappycg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

the tour was very interesting, but I agree with others that it could have been much better as the tour guide seemed very focused on getting us through... and said we could only ask questions at the end. So no questions, no photos... I also think that more information could have been given on who plays with Gibsons and all the differences between all Gibson models.

Also thought the gift shop could have more...

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank mms30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gibson Factory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing