We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't ask any questions”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Alchemy

Alchemy
Reserve with OpenTable
Alchemy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #118 of 1,436 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't ask any questions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had looked at Alchemy's website and thought it looked appropriate for a dinner between two families with young people at college. We started by asking about vegetarian options-You would have thought we asked for an impossibility. The waiter made it clear he did not want to be bothered. The manager became involved and we thought all would be okay. Nope! The manager made it clear that all bets were off if any type of request went to the kitchen for a change. "the meal could be brought out 15 minutes early or 15 minutes after all others were served. They had no idea about a vegetarian option and acted as if they had never encountered such a request before.
You can imagine our concern when one of our friends indicated they had major health issues that could be triggered with certain foods such as garlic and a few others. Again it was clear their idea of customer service is "No Accommodations". I have never encountered a restaurant where we were made to feel so unwelcome and where waiter became unhappy when we asked any questions.
Given that attitude we did not expect much for our diners with special needs and we were not surprised. Other persons in our party had good things to say about some plates so not all is at a loss.
The restaurant is too loud, does not truly care about its customers and is not one people should frequent if they believe in customer service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank snapback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    28
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great drinks and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Alchemy is really well located in the Cooper Young district, with a very trendy drinks menu and a lot of good, Southern, sophisticated food. The Zippin' Pippin is my favorite drink on the menu and tastes great with the chorizo mac and cheese!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CRiley231011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
397 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good Small Plates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Some very good small plates and good desserts.
Atmosphere is a bit eclectic or different.
Nice selection of wines on the menu.
Parking is limited and valet cost seven days.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis Tn
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good and Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The restaurant had several good aspect and a few negatives. Avoid the eggplant appetizer. It is too sweet and had pistachio shells in it. Each if us ended up taking a bite and biting down on a pistachio shell. Not good!. the service was excellent. The wines were very good. After the appetizer we order a few of the tapas style dishes. The Brussel sprouts were excellent. The shrimp would have been good if they had removed the shells prior to cooking. it is very hard to remove shrimp shells and tails when the they are covered in sauce. Overall the restaurant is a nice attempt and just needs a bit of refinement. Get rid of the pistachio shells, shrimp tails and dead plants on the wall!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Time2G0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Miami in Memphis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The small dishes and atmosphere remind me of several places that I've been to in Miami. Most people were in their 20s and 30s, but we did not feel out of place as considerably older than 30s people! The food was excellent, and the small plates allow you to sample a larger number of items. Everything that we had was delicious. There is quite a wait on weekends, but the people watching is great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank memphistraveller214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alchemy also viewed

 

Been to Alchemy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing