We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
Ranked #59 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed May 22, 2007

We stayed at this hotel while going to "Memphis in May" all weekend. Rates were about $100 a night but all rooms had micro/frig/desk/coffee which was nice. Hotel appeared clean and lobby was well kept. Front desk was helpful & efficient. Pool is small but didnt really matter b/c we didnt use it. Jacuzzi avail. as well. Beds were more comfortable than your avg. hotel bed and blankets were better too. Nice shower in AM. Large showerhead. I want to buy one like it for home!!

The only complaint that I have from the hotel is their transportation service. DONT use it. They say 15 min. Means 1.5 hrs. He arrives finally and StiLL wouldnt take us--said "he'd be back". It was apparent that he was up to some kind of shady business. Bottom line: Just arrange/call your own. Dont even bother with theirs or even look at their provided sheet. Cab ride is about 10 min's --$20 or so to downtown Memphis. Lots of restaurants/conveniences all nearby hotel. Area could probably be better but wasnt horrible and hotel felt secure and vehicles were gated in plus their were security cameras. Overall, It was an excellent stay! Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 166 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2007

We stayed at the Hi Express Memphis for two nights in late Dec 06. This is a quite little hotel, out of Memphis located near the aipport, however by car it is pretty quick to get into the city of Memphis. The hotel offers a continental breakfast consisting of cereal, bagels, cinnamon buns, juice, coffee & tea. When we stayed the Liberty Bowl was on and the placed was pretty busy, but the service and standard did not drop. This place is well worth the money and is close to Graceland.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlisue71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2006

We have stayed here three times over the past two years. Our first two visits were okay, about average. However, the last time things seemed to have gone down hill. The bed was not comfortable at all. Both sets of sheets in our room with 2 double beds did not fit the beds and kept coming up from the corners all night. The staff is not friendly. The pool area is small and is always too crowded. The area of the hotel is also scary, there is a high security fence around the hotel. After the second day of our stay we realized that you can just push the door hard to get in even while it is locked. When we brought this to the front desk attention they replied that this just happens sometime when locks are old. This is a major security problem, both with your person and belongings. The worst part was that two of us got bed bugs from staying here. It is the grossest and most uncomfortable experience I have ever had at any hotel. We loved Memphis but will stay somewhere else next time we visit. This place is definitely not up to Holiday Inn Express standards.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank musicloverforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

Stayed Here Aug 12-15 2006. Went to Memphis to take in the sights as
well as Elvis week and the hotel was great. Convenient to the major
interstate, rooms were spacious with a fridge (for all that left over
BBQ) and microwave. Bathrooms were also spacious. Bed was comfortable as
far as hotel beds go and the pillows were the best I can remember using
at a hotel in recent memory. The pool was a nice size but usually
crowded. Exercise room was out of service for repairs. Hot in hallways
but great temperature control in rooms. The breakfast was much better
than typical continental. The cinnamon buns rocked. Staff was VERY
friendley. Great place to stay espcecially for the money ($73.00/night
AAArate). Hope to come back soon and stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pdbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2006

Hotel beds were worn out and squeaked loudly when you moved. Very noisy after 12:00pm. Pool was dirty, small and smelly. Breakfast was pitiful continental (barely) with constant empty coffee pots and only one toaster. Expected a better quality holiday inn for $90.00 per night. We always stay at Holiday Inns when we travel and this one is at the bottom of the list. Employees hung outside smoking by front doors . The security guard was nice and friendly and the front desk was too busy interacting with other staff to be polite to us. Privacy lock on our room door was broken and felt unsafe. Area is very unattractive and did not seem safe. Was close to fwy though. Mgr. knocked $40 off bill for only one of our rooms because of noise level until 3:00 am and my 70 yr old mother was kept up all night. Still not worth it.

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank vickimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2006

Enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is very nice, clean, with a very nice staff. Hotels staff was very helpful with anything we needed. Decent free breakfast in the morning, and very nice indoor pool area. Parking area was big and well lit and fenced in. I would stay here again on my next trip to Memphis.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerGrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

Located just a few miles from everything Memphis has to offer, this Holiday Inn Expess is a great place to stay. It is located right on American Way in a pretty nice part of town. We did not feel unsafe at any time during our visit.

The rooms were large and comfortable, and had high-speed internet access. It requires you to bring an ethernet cable. If you forget, there was a sign that said they are available at the front desk.

The staff were very pleasant, and helpful. They gave us directions to anyplace we needed. Parking for us was also free, unlike some other hotels I looked into. The pool also seemed nice, but we didn't have a chance to swim.

All in all, we had a great time. The hotel was a great place to stay for the money. I highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brett d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
1.1 mi away
Quality Suites I-240 East-Airport
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Memphis Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#77 of 138 in Memphis
66 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
Crowne Plaza Memphis East
#57 of 138 in Memphis
509 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way

Address: 4225 American Way, Memphis, TN 38118-2014 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express American Way/Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range: $88 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express American Way/Airport Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Express Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing