We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look around a little. It was okay not great.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
Ranked #60 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Look around a little. It was okay not great.”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We stayed here as part of our Graceland and Beale Street trip. We had 2 rooms. The bathroom fans did not work in either room. Our bathroom fan had not worked in so long that there was rust around the metal door frame. I told the staff about it and they said they would contact maintance. We never heard anything back. I think there must have been mold because there was an unusual odor in our room. The kids room was not so bad. The indoor pool and gym was a nice feature and breakfast was reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrkrmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    50
    24
    28
    20
See reviews for
73
27
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melvindale, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I didn't expect a perfect hotel as hotels.com only gives it 2.5 stars. However I expect much more from the Holiday Inn brand. The lobby is nice, however the rooms need work. At first they sent us to a room that was already occupied. When that was fixed we noticed the rooms were not in good shape. The room smelled like mildew. There were missing moldings, the elevator buttons were cobbled up. I had an air mattress in the room which I leaned against the wall for daytime storage and it got wet from water seeping down the wall. Breakfast was to close at 9:30 on Saturday, but when our teens went down for breakfast at 9:15 they were removing the food which was completey gone by 9:20. There were never enough towels. When we asked for towels for the pool the staff told us they were out. But if we used the towels from our room at the pool they would not give us more towels for the shower unless we brought them our used towel. The staff was often rude. Our 19 year old went to use the workout room and was asked her age. When she told the staff she was 19 and a college sophomore they told her she could not use the facility without and adult as they did not believe she was old enough. She needed to go get ID to prove her age for the exercise room. The bathroom in the pool area had a plumbing problem and sewage was coming up from the drain. Also the light in the bathroom did not work. Rather than close the bathroom and call a plumber/electrician, they put toilet paper over the drain. The pool was dirty. You could not see the bottom. The neighborhood was quite rough. There are security gates all around the building and a gate at the entrance to the street. The only thing that kept us from changing hotels is the fact that it was a very busy weekend in Memphis and other hotels were booked.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I booked three rooms at this Holiday Inn Express for the night of July 17. Went through the website but ended up making arrangements through a 800 number. We specifically needed three rooms, king beds and one room with a sofa sleeper. Our youth shared a king room and the adults had their own rooms. The rooms were clean. Breakfast was bountiful and hot. Upon arrival, we were informed that the pool pump was broken which was a disappointment . There were many children at the hotel and I am sure that they were equally disappointed. Pool closure was a negative but there were other positives. Staff allowed us to use the breakfast area to have our dinner. The next morning,. Elissa at the desk opened a room so that we could say Morning Prayer before getting back on the road.toward New Orleans. A overall great start to our trip

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theavailablemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2010

I normally stay at this Holiday Inn about 2-3 times a year. However, upon checking in this time, things were different. I checked into one room and had to move to another room because of the smell in the room and the torn sofa bed. Also, dirty socks had been left in one of the drawer. I was given another room. However the smell was terrible. I asked for something to freshen the room with. The rooms had a dam, musty smell. The bed covers were torn. The water in the pool was murky. The condition of this Holiday Inn was unbelievable. If it had not been so late, i would have checked into another hotel. I asked what had changed in this hotel in the last year, and I was told positions in management. If this hotel is to continue to carry the Holiday Inn's name, changes must be made to correct these problems.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAL505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

After two canceled flights on two different airlines, the airline put us up for the night here.

The hotel offered a free shuttle from the airport that was clean and air conditioned. The driver was friendly and showed up a few minutes after calling the hotel.

We arrived late at night with 10 or so other passengers who had their flight canceled too. The front lobby staff did a good job in getting everyone checked into their rooms in a short amount of time.

Our room was clean and the bed was typical of what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express... Nothing fancy... Low thread count sheets.

I found myself on the 4:30AM shuttle that was on time to catch a 6:00 AM flight.... the shuttle was again on time.

If you are in the area and looking for a clean place to rest your head for the night, they would be just fine.... I wouldn't pay more than 70 bucks a night here though....

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Chose this property because I was stranded in Memphis for one night. Not entirely sure what to make of the fence around the property- I definately didn't make a solo female traveler feel safe by any means. So my first impression (fence) my have just colored my opinion from the start. Staff was very plesant. Room was adequate, although it had an off putting odor. Decor is in need of severe updating and some of the walls were badly damaged. Plus side- bathroom was spotless and the airport shuttle was quick and on time. There were plenty of other guests and famlies, so I guess the place was decent for the price, but I'm not a frequent budget hotel guest so it felt a little uncomfortable with the whole experience.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn7037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2010

After I checked in and noticed the area (bad) and the high security fence around the property. Not usually a good sign. Another unfortuante problem was a bus load of HS kids took over the hotel with little or no supervision from parents. They wrestled, hung out in the hallway and generally made noise past midnight. For a busienss traveler, that is a problem as I need some sleep. The next morning I had a few itchy spots that I originally attributed to mosquito bites. The strange part was that all the bites were head, arm and waist, nothing below the belt line. I had 50 in all and finally called the hotel to let them know that the bites looked more like bed bugs, from photos I picked up on-line. They called back a few days later telling me that Orkin came in and claimed there was no bed bug activity. She sent me the Orkin report and it shows that the Orkin inspector spent 10 minutes in the room. That doesn't sound like enough time to thoroughly inspect a room suspected of having bed bugs. I only had slept in my own bed the eveninges previous, so the story doesn't really hold water.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tboyd528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Suites I-240 East-Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Memphis Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Memphis
Candlewood Suites Memphis
#55 of 136 in Memphis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis I-240 & Perkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
Address: 4225 American Way, Memphis, TN 38118-2014 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express American Way/Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express American Way/Airport Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Express Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing