We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff and indoor pool made this a great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
Ranked #64 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Nashville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Staff and indoor pool made this a great stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

First of all, this hotel has changed its name to Comfort Suites. I guess the official change is not going to happen until the end of December 2011. Our first room was right behind the elevator /ice machine. We could hear the ice machine making a swishing sound in our room so we asked for a different room and the front desk made the change and apologized for the inconvenience. We loved the pool and the hot tub. It was easy access to I-240 and anything we wanted to do in Memphis. The continental breakfast met our needs and the staff was outstanding. The room was clean and bed was comfortable. Overall, a really nice stay and we will be using this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator/ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovey5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    24
    27
    20
See reviews for
71
27
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Murray, Kentucky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed here the night before our honeymoon to Mexico. We just booked here since it was close to the airport, offered free shuttle to/from airport, and let us keep our car there. The place is gated and lost of lighting. (my wife was paranoid about having her car there for a week). The room was very roomy and clean. The only negative is when we returned to the states it took almost 40min to get a shuttle to pick us back up from the airport.

Room Tip: If your leaving your car there for a long period...there are 3 spots close to the front door that ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamNeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

Would stay here everytime i'm in Memphis...the staff was outstanding, more like family....the room was fantastic....and breakfast superb....going back down and will be there this coming Saturday night (7/16/11) I have a family member @ St. Jude's and this Hotel is the best...so compassionate! Love you guys...look forward to seeing u soon! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotspringssusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

Wow, from the moment my love and I walk into the hotel we rec'd breath-taking great service from the staff. This continue when we asked for much needed direction, heaven sent Director Ms. Cook arrive and assisted us with over & beyoud service.
Look I travel a lot with my job & lady of mine and one thing I come not to expect everytime is great service.....Way to go American Way

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed here just the one night whilst in the Memphis area. The staff were very friendly and helped us with our every request. The room was large and clean, maybe a little rough around the edges but only if you happened to be looking under the bedside cabinet etc.

After a hot day exploring Memphis we went to the indoor pool which we had to ourselves and the staff came and switched on lights etc so we could sit in the hot tub once it had gone dark.

Having previously had a car stolen whilst in a hotel carpark in Atlanta we didn't mind about the large fence around the property and once you were passed them you didn't notice them at all.

If we were in Memphis again in similar circumstances I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Memphisrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

We often stay at Holiday Inn Express hotels but this one is the worst we have ever been to. We are Priority Club members so they upgraded us to a mini-suite with a king bed and single sofa bed for our daughter. After returning from dinner, we found out that you could NOT sit or sleep on the sofa bed. It was so bad that the cushions sunk into the bottom of the sofa. So at 10 pm we went out to our car to get an air mattress so our daughter could sleep on that instead of the sofa bed. Thanksfully we were just staying for one night. What bothered us even more was the next morning when we checked out the front desk clerk asked how things were & when I told her about the unusable sofa bed, she said that they were remodeling & had not done this room yet. Well, why would they give us, one of their Platinum Priority Club members, such a horrible room?? She didn't care on bit.........no offer to give us points, charge less, etc. Needless to say, we were very disillusioned with this Holiday Inn Express. I definitely recommend that you find a differeent place & stay away from this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miffie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

We switched our reservation from another hotel to get an indoor pool for our daughter to swim in (thunderstorms outside). What a mistake. The staff is friendly and welcoming but the hotel is in pitiful condition. Our room smells like some kind of cleaning solvent akin to lighter fluid. The internet connection is slow and unreliable. The carpet throughout the property is old, threadbare in many places, and smells of mildew. Baseboards in our room are completely missing with torn drywall underneath. Beds are lumpy and feel over a decade old. I talked to people in the elevator who had similar conditions. From what I can tell this place stays in business because the airlines put people up here whose flights are cancelled.

The tall iron fence around the property doesn't do much to lend a welcoming air, nor a sense of security since anyone can drive through the railway crossing styled entry into the parking lot.

I plan to let the people at Holiday Inn know that this experience has seriously eroded their brand image with me and I suspect anyone else who has ended up here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elspanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Suites I-240 East-Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Memphis East I-240
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#43 of 136 in Memphis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
7.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Memphis
Candlewood Suites Memphis
#54 of 136 in Memphis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Memphis I-240 & Perkins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way
Address: 4225 American Way, Memphis, TN 38118-2014 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express American Way/Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Airport - American Way reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express American Way/Airport Hotel Memphis
Holiday Inn Express Memphis
Holiday Inn Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing