We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring”

Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium
Ranked #72 of 154 things to do in Memphis
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Boring”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

If the UofM could put a decent product on the field and fans in the stands then the experience would be more enoyable.

Helpful?
1 Thank 930Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    9
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“"Consessions were the first to 'bolt' when the lightning started"”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

On Saturday night, September 1st, I attended the University of Memphis vs University of Tennessee-Martin football game. The 6:00 PM kick off was the first game of the football season at Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium to "show off" (to the 40,000 + fans that were on hand) the two major off season stadium upgrades. First was the "huge-mongus" - "Brand New Jumbo Tron" High Definition Scoreboard (one of the largest in the country) that FedEx installed.....as well as.....the brand new " Million Dollar Pro Turf" field.

The second half got under way for about 5 minutes when the announcement came that a 30 minute rain delay was taking effect - to get the fans out of the stands and to get the players off the field - would be a "rain was coming and lightning was within close proximity of the stadium - everybody take cover".

The rain delay lasted for 3 hours and then the teams came back onto the field and they proceeded to complete the game.

Now it's 10 o'clock PM when the teams finished their warm up routine and the referee finally blew his whistle to "play ball" to continue the game.

I want to the concessions area............and they were closed !!! I asked a security officer if the concessions ran out of food or something and he said......"no - they just decided to go home".

There was not any food or beverages for the entire second half. The game ended at almost midnight.

"Yes" - it was a 6 PM kick off- and "yes" - the folks that operate the concessions don't control the weather....and "yes" it's now 10 PM when the second half "finally" got underway.......but......to just close up shop......and leave........ ???

Are you kidding me ???

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LouisB1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Nice Stadium”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Have been to two recent Liberty Bowls. Councourse are easy to navigate. Fan amentities are never too far away. Parking can be bit of a challenge.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Seriously. The worst college football stadium ever.”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Preface: I am an Ole Miss alum and grad, so I dislike everything Univ. of Memphis anyways. But this one has a good reason why

Its the worst college football stadium ever.

I have attended football games in over 40 stadiums in this country, probably more than 95% of Americans. Every SEC stadium, quite a few Big 12 and ACC stadiums, and a handful of C-USA and Big Ten ones. So I'm not some fool.

First, the stadium is not on campus. Always a no no. Second, its on the old Fairgrounds, which is nothing more than a giant empty parking lot in the middle of a giant empty parking lot. Third, the stadium is old and every "renovation" has simply been redoing the press boxes and repainting. Fourth, they have backless bench seats, which NO ONE has anymore....

Fifth, the bathrooms and concessions are, I swear to God, the same as they were 40 years ago. Sixth, and very important, its a horrendous design. The stadium holds 60,000 people, and because of the design almost half the seats are so far away from the field you can't tell who has the ball. Seriously, I've seen the math. Neyland Stadium at UT has over 100,000 seats, and none of them are as far away from the field as some of the Liberty Bowls.

Oh yeah, and the area around the stadium is a cesspool. Don't bring valuables. Heck, don't bring yourself.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank OursIsTheFury84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bug Tussle
Level Contributor
229 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 524 helpful votes
“FIX THE CONCESSIONS AND THE MINITRON”
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We went to the Liberty Bowl for the game.

The "Jumbo"tron is NOT. The screen is the smallest I have ever seen at a football stadium and I have been to plenty of them. It is on the Southwest end of the stadium and is hard to see even if you are close because the sun is in your eyes.

THE CONCESSIONS!!!!!!! I left my seat at the BEGINNING of halftime and went straight to the concession stand and got in line. The line was only about 50 feet long. I got a coke and went straight back to my seat. There was only 5 minutes remaining in the third quarter. I had to be in that line at least 30 MINUTES just to get a coke. Didn't even get to the bathroom . . . Of course, they apologized, but they only had six people in the whole concession stand. One of the stands wasn't even open on our side of the field.

There was no elevator that I could find.

Police protection APPEARED to be good, although we didn't know why the police needed M-16 tactical rifles at a football game.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank HappyCamper409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Bowl Memorial Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing