We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So fresh!”

Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken
Ranked #6 of 1,446 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Mississippi
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So fresh!”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Yes the chicken is amazing fried, but it is fried when you order it. So you have to wait a while but the result is a juicy, somewhat spicy, blissful piece of chicken. The price is also cheap and a great value.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank love2vay-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    528
    192
    42
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Memphis Must Taste Chicken”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Gus's has been around for more than 60 years and when I pulled up outside I wasn't sure I wanted to go in. This location is older and has a lot of vacant buildings so I wasn't so sure if it was worth my time. When I walked in the front door there were 20 people standing around for a table. The place reminded me of the back porch of my grandmothers house. The tables looked like they were from the 60's with plastic tablecloths. None of the tables or chairs matched each other and I came to the conclusion that it was done on purpose. After I was seated I ordered the chicken tenders which arrived so hot that I had to wait for them to cool. Once I took one bite I understood that this place didn't need anything fancy on the outside or the inside because the chicken sold itself. I read the history of the restaurant which everyone should do and then looked around to see that Gus's is more than chicken. Great experience for everyone!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperTrvlGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason City, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best chicken in Memphis”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Quaint little restaurant. Not very fancy but the nicest people and best chicken in Memphis. Good music coming out of the juke box. You will not be disappointed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to Nashville for lunch and it was worth the stop!! It was crazy bizzy but we got a table almost immediately! The service was great and the restaurant was very interesting! Our food was really good and quick but didn't taste like fast food! I would def go back again! Friendly and efficient wait staff!!

Helpful?
Thank TessnTulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gus chicken”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Went to Gus with my family during vacation. I would recommend going. It was good not great. From watching travel shows it looked to be best chicken in world. I had better chicken. It had a little kick that was good. Potato salad was good. If you have limited time I say do not make your first stop

Helpful?
Thank SS2823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing