We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Go-to Place for Fried Chicken”

Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken
Ranked #5 of 1,436 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Memphis, Tennessee, USA
1 review
“Our Go-to Place for Fried Chicken”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Can't beat Gus's for consistency - both the chicken and the service- in a
lively casual atmosphere... We're regulars ! See you there...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElaineTfromGtownT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    188
    41
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
Level Contributor
242 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“If you love spicy, eat here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

This place has spicy chicken, VERY spicy chicken. The server we had was outstanding. She was my savior by keeping my Sprite filled. They even had a PBJ for my 2 year old. Once you get past the heat, the chicken is moist and tasty.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Princerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good, almost great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Having read other reviews, I guess my expectations were set pretty high. The chicken was good - very good, in fact - but I've had better in other places. Definitely affordable, relatively near Sun Studios and The National Civil Rights Museum, so worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luling, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Be prepared for the heat!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We are a couple in our 50's and were so excited to be eating at Gus's. We were not prepared for the spiciness of the chicken. We ate it, but had to take Zantac afterwards. Very crispy though. Sides were nothing special.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Good chicken, sides were decent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

The chicken was great, the potato salad was alright, the Mac and cheese was awesome and the sweet tea was perfect. Service was mediocre. The fried pickles were okay, I've had better. It is disappointing they didn't have an alternative to the spicy chicken for kids but they had peanut butter sandwiches. The kids had water and when I tasted it at the end I realized it was awful, full of salt. That was concerning. Baked beans and cole slaw were good, says the hubby.

Helpful?
Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken also viewed

 

Been to Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing