We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best chicken ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken

Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken
Ranked #5 of 1,429 Restaurants in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Maasdam Zuid-Holland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best chicken ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were take here by friends and we loved it!
The Sweet patato cassoroll was a party on it's self!

And this was truely the best chicken ever, but watch it....it's HOT!
They start preparing the chicken after you ordered it... So it takes a little bit longer.... But it's worth it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manong-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    187
    41
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only the best Fried Chicken I've ever eaten”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Fried fresh upon order. Me Nd my buddies crowed down on the 16 piece. Friendly folks and just a real down home chicken shack that akky rocks. If you like FC and plan on going to Memphis, kyou gota check out Gus's

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Propanestu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Friendly and polite staff, good basic food make up for what may be seen by some as a daunting location. (I would think twice about going here at night time.) No carpet, basic seating, plastic plates etc. It's not the Ritz but it doesn't claim to be. It serves good reasonably priced tasty food. Don't wear the tiara.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mike787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went to Gus's with our friends during our recent stay in Memphis as recommended by our hotel valet. I must say that it was absolutely the best fried chicken meal we have ever had. The service was fast and attentive, the ambiance very warm and the food is just out of this world. Very busy place but service is very quick. Seemed to be lined up later on in the evening. The prices are so reasonable that you think there must be a printing error on the menu. This is an absolute MUST PLACE TO EAT if you are in Memphis. You won't regret it!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aliceb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depew, New York, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Went to the one in downtown off Beale and the food was delicious and the prices were great...waited a while for table but glad i did...Triple D was there and he was right on about this place!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gus's World Famous Fried Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing