We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly to travelers and pets” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
Ranked #12 of 137 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Comfortable and friendly to travelers and pets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our experience with LaQuinta in general is that the properties are good values and run well. This hotel, on the east side of Memphis, shows that good hoteliers can make customers happy even during renovations.

Our rate was very good (we're AARP members) and the room they gave us was larger than we expected. We stayed on a Sunday and Monday night, so occupancy was down. They chose to give us a nicer room just because they had one, What others have said about the beds is true. Extraordinarily comfortable.

The free breakfast was not as lavish as some others, but it was perfectly adequate. What really made our stay special was that the management stopped more than once to ask us how they were doing and talk about our visit to Memphis.

They didn't charge us for having a dog with us and had a good walking area behind this urban hotel. We look forward to stopping there again when their improvements are complete.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0820gm, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear: David D
Thank you for taking your time to write about your experience with our hotel. We would like to thank you for your kind words, and also thank you for being patience with our renovation. It's nice to know that you had enjoyed the room type you had for your stay. Here at La Quinta Inn & Suites our staff and the management we love to make our guest feel like they're at home. We will be glad to see you again in the near future.

Thank You,
AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    171
    65
    19
    21
See reviews for
249
190
35
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atanta, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were just going to be in town for the night and I found this hotel by the reviews. The room was large, the bed was the best we had on our small 3 night road trip and the service was good. The lobby area and first floor were all under renovation, but this was not a problem for the one night. I saw where they were serving breakfast, but we thought we would get something on the road (long story, but Hwy 78 is boring and nothing is on it). I don't thing there was much in this section of town, we got in after dark and left early, so I am not sure. For the hotel by itself, we would stay there again, it was also the cheapest of our 3 night stay and the best bed of them all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Skyarrow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0820gm, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear: Skyarrow1
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you had picked our hotel, and that you liked our bed. I would like apologize about our renovation. We would love to serve and every guest who steps into our hotel the best customer service that we can provide. We hope to see you in the near fear.

Thank You,
Ap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN and MS
Level Contributor
156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were in Memphis on the end of a very long trip and after viewing reviews on line about the beds thought that we would give it a try. Yes, it is in upgrade mode but the room was clean and bath clean. The breakfast is served on restaurant dishes rather than paper (nice to drink coffee out of a real cup) and was very good. The staff is friendly and the owner is on the property. Now then, the bedding is wonderful and the pillows, being new, are great. Made for an excellent nights rest. Yes, it is pet friendly but does not have a great area to walk your pet. Parking is at hotel. Excellent quality for price, and yes, they did honor our "senior" discounts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ommie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0820gm, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear: ommie7

Thank you for your excellent review, we really appreciate you for taking the time to write the review. We are glad that you had chosen us from the reviews you had read from our hotel. It's nice to know how you liked our dishware in the breakfast room. We also apologize that we did not had enough space to walk your pets.

Thank You,
AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenvil, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The pool is no more. We book looking for pools which help my wife with her travel pains due to Fybromyalgia. However, what was worse was the desk person all but accused me of lying when I told him I had seen it listed after asking for the hours it was open. He emphasized that they had removed it from the online listings, yet I had booked it having seen pictures of the pool, read reviews of the pool, and seen it checked off as an amenity on at least one travel site. I asked if there was anything he could do and he offered to upgrade me to a Jacuzzi room (at full cost to me ... not sure how that was "doing" something for me?). We negotiated down SOME on the room upgrade and got the room for $150 with taxes ... a $50 bump in over-all cost on the stay, which I later regretted. The room appeared generally dingy/worn on entrance, but at a glance ok. After dinner and unpacking we discovered long black hairs floating around in the Jacuzzi, which turned my wife off from using it. Stray hair graced other surfaces too. When I turned on the TV, it immediately began to fill the room with the sounds and scenes of loud energetic porn. Thankfully no kids were with us as I was preoccupied with something else while the TV loaded and it took me much longer than was comfortable to find the remote and rectify the problem. The AC unit was barely moving air and I discovered that the filters for the AC unit were totally filthy. The dog barking in the room next door was honestly pretty nominal and not enough to complain about, but it didn't help given the rest of context. As a dog owner I'm sympathetic. Of course, at this point it was very late, we were very tired, we had already unpacked our personals and such and didn't want to hassle with trying to fix it, so we just passed out. My wife and I travel about 5-6 weeks of total time a year, most of it in hotels/resorts. This was the worst room we've shared at anything over $60 that I can remember (we generally stay in stuff $80-150 except special occasions). I would assume there have to be other hotels in the area that actually have a pool, or that at least would be clean and presentable (the first time) at this price point. The bed was fine/comfortable, the shower was hot, the over-all room layout was a little odd with the Jacuzzi making it feel cramped and awkward. We didn't try the breakfast. In fairness, we didn't try to have hotel staff rectify any of said problems because we came in late from a long trip, had a long trip ahead of us the next day and simply didn't want to handle all the hassle of the extra effort of trying to get a replacement room and then having to re-pack and relocate all our stuff to a new room, or having to try to haggle over refunds the next day. They may have done something more to help us out, but first impressions really do matter when you're paying that much for a room. Especially for travelers on the go, they (or at least I) don't want to have to work harder at making a short one-night stay acceptable, especially not at this price point.

Room Tip: Avoid the downstairs corner Jacuzzi room to the right side of the main lobby, unless they've don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0820gm, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear: Mike O

Thank you for taking your time to write the review about your experience with us. We would like to apologize to you about the trouble you had at our hotel. I also would like to apologize on behalf of our front desk clerk. As you can see we do our best to keep our guest happy from the reviews we have, we would like to get a second chance from you we will do our best to service you.

Thank You,
Ap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This motel was located very close to where we needed to go, very handy to almost everything, including the airport. The place was clean with a very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was quite adequate. The pool was closed due to upgrading, not of any importance to us, but some other guests expressed disappointment. Not located in the most desirable part of town, but nevertheless, the grounds were clean and well kept, with mass plantings of the most beautiful roses on all 4 sides of the facility with an outdoor water feature out front. Parking was easy, and there was a variety of nearby restaurants for which to dine or catch a quick snack. We'd stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GT380185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0820gm, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear: GT380185

Thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate you for taking your time to write the review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and you liked our grounds keeping. The picture is really good. We also appreciate your business and we would be glad to have you for years to come.

Thank You,
AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The management really helped out with my trip schedule. This is the only hotel with this price range that is so accommodating. I would definitely recommend it to whoever planning to stay around the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq0820gm, Front Office Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear: Jason Y

Thank you for your candid comments. We are glad to hear that your trip has been scheduled as you have planned. And we hope that you enjoy your trip to Memphis, tn, and your stay at our hotel. Your business means a lot to us and we will be glad to have your business for many years to come.

Thank You,
AP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
3.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis Wolfchase
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
10.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 137 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View
Address: 6069 Macon Cove, Memphis, TN 38134-7600
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Memphis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#12 Business Hotel in Memphis
#17 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East I-40 Sycamore View is conveniently located on Interstate 40E at Exit 12. Discover casual luxury, friendly service, affordable rooms, and the perfect location for a productive business trip or a relaxing family vacation in the vibrant city of Memphis. Relax and enjoy our recent lobby renovation or use our new community table to get some work done. We can help no matter what brings you to Memphis. Pets are Welcome (Maximum 2 per room under 50 lbs) Pets Stay Free (Restrictions May Apply) When you travel on business, the La Quinta Inns & Suites Memphis East I-40 Sycamore View provides conveniences like complimentary ultra-high-speed wired and wireless Internet access, large work desks, ergonomic chairs and access to a business center with fax and copy services. Looking for a space to meet? We have a private meeting room that can comfortably accommodate up to 24 people. We have all you need for a pleasant stay including upscale rooms with pillow top mattresses, high quality linens and brand new fluffy pillows. You'll find a recently upgraded LCD/HD 42 inch flat screen TV with over 100 HD channels in each spacious room along with a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, and iron with full-size ironing board. This well-equipped hotel offers free Wi-Fi Internet access, Free Bright Side Breakfast, a fitness center, and the Bright Side Market for any last minute needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Memphis East-Sycamore View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Memphis/Sycamore View Hotel Memphis
La Quinta Memphis
Memphis La Quinta
La Quinta Hotel Memphis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing