We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Ranked #16 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2008

This place was awesome. It was ideal for my family of 4 with two young boys in each age group. By having the 2 bedroom suite it felt like we were right at home.

The breakfast amenities were terrific. My kids were able to make their own selection of breaKfast items from cold and hot items.


The staff were freindly and hospitable. We enjoyed our stay so much while on our exteneded vactation that we decided to use this hotel on our return travels home and deciced to stay "at home" again.

I plan to use this hotel again for a "girls" weekend in Memphis because of the excellent service and hospitality.

Thanks,

Annie from Louisiana

  • Liked — "home feeling"
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank claire09Louisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    162
    69
    51
    25
See reviews for
245
96
20
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2008

We were pleased with our stay. Our suite was quite nice and I like the 2 bedroom set up. The breakfast was wonderful. The rooms are well insulated and I never heard any noise from other guests. It was difficult to find and is in an inconvenient location because it is on a one way street right at an expressway exit. Was very tricky to figure out how to get to the entrance. They need to update their directions on the website. It would be a good idea to call and talk with someone to help you understand how to arrive as it is so tricky. The kitchen is nice, but there are limited supplies. You will need dish soap (the dishes in the dish washer were not real clean), some additional plates. They did not supply dishwasher soap but it was available when I asked at the front desk, but no regular handwashing dish soap. Anytime we asked for other supplies (more towels, etc) it was available. The value was really great for the facilities. I would definately stay here again and would search out other Homewood Suites. And we never saw any coakroaches or spiders.

  • Liked — the suite set up
  • Disliked — the difficulty arriving at the location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BStitchens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

I have been staying at this location every year since 1997 when I go to Memphis. I originally found this hotel because my friend, who lives in Alabama, and I, who lives in St. Louis, would meet with our four kids to spend a few days together. I love having bedrooms that are separate from the living room and the kitchen area. It was especially great when the kids were little and we would them to bed and then talk for a long while in the living room. The pool is always clean. The breakfast buffet is one of the best that I have ever encountered while staying at a hotel. One time, year ago, I lost my car keys, and while I had to wait for a locksmith, the management allowed us to stay there even after we checked out and let the kids swim in the pool to pass the time away. If you are put off by spending $160 per night, remember it is full two bedroom suite, each with its own bathroom and TV. There is also a TV in the living room with a DVD player. There is a nice shopping mall nearby along with a huge assortment of restaurants up and down Poplar Ave. for miles.

  • Liked — Two completely separate bedrooms that have each its own bathroom and TV.
  • Disliked — The number of dishes and pots and pans in the kitchen area leaves alot to be desired.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2007

Stayed here as part of a family reunion and working with the manager to set up rooms was pretty smooth. The check-in also was quick and overall, the staff were quite friendly and responsive to requests, including less than 5 minutes to get shower caps.

The 2-bedroom suite was roomy with TV's in each room (the selection of TV channels was nothing to write home about). The beds were pretty comfortable, but we stayed on the first floor and heard noise from one of the roads nearby.

The kitchen had standard appliances that were several years old and the carpet was thin and a bit threadbare. The living room area was also pretty small. Although there was no Wi-Fi in the room, our laptops were able to pick up the Wi-Fi from the lobby area and there was an ethernet cable in the living room area. The central AC/heat worked well and was not too noisy.

The biggest unexpected downside was having to kill a VERY large cockroach in our bathroom along with spiders in the kitchen. The second biggest was having to cut across 4 lanes of highway from Hwy 240 to get to the Poplar U-turn--not for the faint of heart during rush hour!

The breakfast buffet was better than we expected with the ability to make your own waffles and fairly fresh fruit each day. The biscuits & gravy and sausages were pretty good, but the scrambled eggs were overcooked and not good at all. There were 3 types of juices offered but the coffee was pretty weak as mentioned in an earlier review.

The lobby area was good-sized and comfortable, and it had a wide-screen TV and several seating areas to allow for smaller groups to socialize.

Overall, it was a pretty good experience but could have been better.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Some problems with the room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ray-may
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2007

First of all, the staff were wonderful and friendly at this hotel. They shuttled me to and from my appointment with no problems at all.

The room was very spacious and clean. Included a dishwasher, refrigerator, stove and kitchen area. There were two TV's - one in the living room area and one in the sleeping area.

They had a great continental breakfast and also had a free light supper available. I've never stayed anywhere with free nightly meals!

All in all, this is a great hotel, reasonably priced for the area and close in proximity to other hotels and attractions!

Definitely recommend!

  • Liked — Free light supper available nightly
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crittle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2006

The hotel is located on a very busy one-way street (Poplar) right at I-240. You must exit the interstate and immediately cross 2 lanes of insane traffic in order to make a death-defying u-turn to access the entrance. By the grace of God you might get onto westbound Poplar without causing a pileup. Once inside, the lobby looks very nice, but 3 weeks of remodeling are just underway, so breakfast is held in another building in a room that Super 8 would be embarrassed by. The coffee & OJ are weak and watery. The bathroom door was hanging cockeyed and could not be closed, the tv remotes were dead, one of the tv's was grossly misadjusted, but there was no obvious way to readjust it. The parking lot was completely full except for handicap spaces, & finding my room in the maze after parking was another adventure. Even with all this, the room was comfortable, but not worth $184 they charged for it.

  • Liked — Comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Extremely difficult to get into or out of the parking lot. Very busy one-way street.
  • Tips/Secrets — If you find a parking space, don't move your car. OJ & coffee are terrible.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ekemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2006

We stayed here for 5 days in preparation of my son's wedding. All of our guests were from out of state and most had never been to Memphis for any extended time. Needless to say, we wanted to create a wonderful experience for them and not be too stressed out for the wedding. We could not have been more pleased with the service we received.

Amanda assisted us with reservations and was wonderful. She is enthusiastic about her job and it comes through with her suggestions. Check-in/-out was efficient and courteous, not only for us, but all of our guests. Anthony called to be sure that we had everything we needed. The staff, Shastia, Shanna Lee, Twizzy, and Heinz, were patient and kind answering numerous questions and providing us directions for everything, from churches to barber shops. The staff took a personal interest in our daily progress and rejoiced with us the day after the wedding. Shuttle service was provided to and from the airport. There was a slight problem with finding a shuttle one day, but the staff quickly remedied the problem by paying for a taxi from the airport to the hotel.

The site was clean, which was a worry we had from reading previous reviews. We had fresh, clean linen each day. The weekday cleaning crew was more responsive than the weekend crew, but the occupancy must have tripled too! The suites were spacious. Our 2 room suite served as wedding central! The kitchen area provided us with a microwave, refrigerator, dishwasher, dishes, coffee maker, and sink. The lobby was comfortable and clean. Drinks were provided throughout the day- lemonade, ice tea and coffee. The continental breakfast was substantial, although difficult to keep replenished as many teenage ball teams were also staying there and had healthy appetites. Evening meals are provided Monday-Thursday. We only had 1 evening meal, but did not find it as satisfying as breakfast. The pool area was clean; we did not feel crowded when our small children were in it. The business center provided 2 computers and printer for our use and rooms had internet access for those that brought laptops. The exercise room was small, but adequate.

The only downside we found was the entrance to the hotel. This hotel is located in the middle of 3 hotels on a busy one way street with an entrance on the left side. The entrance to the Homewood is not marked clearly. The 3rd hotel has an exit sign directly in front of the Homewood entrance, so many pass the Homewood entrance before they realize it. This requires negotiating the one way streets until you have returned to the entrance again. A little inconvenient, but do-able.

All in all, I would certainly recommend this hotel again and especially if you are booking a large group and looking for a safe, central location in Memphis.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#23 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#18 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Address: 5811 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Memphis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#25 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly-Renovated Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis Poplar is located in East Memphis at the intersection of I-240 and Poplar Avenue, providing easy access to all parts of town. The hotel provides short term and extended stay accommodations for those traveling on business and leisure alike. It is our goal to make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Homewood Suites Memphis
Homewood Memphis
Memphis Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing