We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Ranked #20 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a good location in Memphis but the room floors were not real clean and light bulbs were burned out. The rags at breakfast were terrible. They had ice machine problems so the juices were warm. Management said they were working in issues I presented. They gave me some extra points on my account. Might stay there again if they fix the problems

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 719 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

State tennis tournament -- a lot of women tennis players --- translates into staying somewhere that is easily accessible, close to restaurants, the tennis courts -- Homewood Suites in Germantown (on Poplar Avenue) fit the bill.

This Homewood Suites location has free standing buildings. The doors are open on the outside as opposed to inside doors in a hotel but we still felt very safe. The room configuration for a two bedroom suite was great! There was a really large sitting area/living room with a great flat screen television, big kitchen, and the two bedrooms were on opposite sides of the suite.

All around great place to stay -- breakfast buffet is in the main building (at the reception area) and they offered a lot of different things on the menu for breakfast. Fireplace in the middle of the reception area and the dining area and the entire atmosphere was very inviting and relaxed.

Front office people were very accommodating. One of the girls in our group had a leak in their room, and the front office people were very good and quick about moving them to another available suite.

A few upgrades are probably needed at this particular Homewood -- but overall, it was clean and staff was really amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheTuscanyResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great room fantastic service, and just an all round good experience when a long way from home dealing with total strangers. Plan on spending another night in another HOMEWOOD SUITE if one located on our trip back starting tomorrow.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Over the room is very big and it is nice; it just isn't updated; the microwave and the fridge is old but working but I was afraid to use the ice maker. The carpets can use an upgrade it has big-big stain spots, the comforter has stain spots as well; the toliet can afford to be upgraded as well but the staff is wonderful and the rate is extremely well; it's just the small things that isn't cute about it but I would recommend it. It's just that this day and time we're all use to the lastest and greatest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Despite calling the front desk to complain, minors were yelling, playing football, running and slamming doors so hard it shook the floors until 2:45AM. The adults with the group were in other buildings and missed all the activities. Complained at check out, told to call Hilton Honors.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank Jonell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The room was spacious and diligently serviced daily. Both morning and evening hospitality sessions were pleasantly presented, generous and surprisingly tasty. The only unpleasant experience I encountered was a bit of a roach problem in my suite. This WAS, however, Memphis and the roach is as prevalent in Memphis as is Elvis!! Probably not the facility's fault. Suite was spotless otherwise!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
Thank Lynea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we walked in to check in the staff were so friendly and greeted with a smile. They offered discount coupons for Graceland which was lovely. The room didn't. Disappoint. We had a suite and for $99 a night it was amazing. Lounge with fireplace, dining area and full kitchen, bedroom and powder room and shower room. We stayed Thursday night and Friday night. The hotel offers Mon - Fri, dinner which although basic is very enjoyable, all part of the price, breakfast is also excellent. Located on Poplar Ave, about 20 minutes drive from downtown, Poplar takes you straight into downtown, there is a parking station at the end that costs $6 all day, great value, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wardies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#24 of 138 in Memphis
768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#28 of 138 in Memphis
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
7.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis/Wolfchase Galleria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

Address: 5811 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Memphis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#19 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $134 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly-Renovated Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis Poplar is located in East Memphis at the intersection of I-240 and Poplar Avenue, providing easy access to all parts of town. The hotel provides short term and extended stay accommodations for those traveling on business and leisure alike. It is our goal to make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Homewood Suites Memphis
Homewood Memphis
Memphis Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing