We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2-bedroom suite with full kitchen and excellent space” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2-bedroom suite with full kitchen and excellent space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

While this hotel needs some serious updating, the 2-bedroom suites provides plenty of space and adequate amenities to make it worth the stop. And this is the only hotel in the area that provides 2 large bedrooms each with their own large bathroom connected to a large common living space and a separate kitchen. There were some drawbacks concerning the age of the hotel- such as stained carpet- but the beds were very comfortable, and bed linens were clean and fresh. I have stayed at other hotels where everything was new, but the bed was horrible to sleep on, so in the whole scope of things, i can stand outdated carpet if everything else is good. Finding it can be a little tricky as the entrance isn't as well-marked as it should be. Just look for the unmarked entrance/road that is just before the Marriott hotel entrance and you've found it. The had security at all times, so I felt safe and I didn't feel that someone would break into my car at night. In fact, it was a rather quiet location. They don't have an elevator, so if you can't climb stairs make sure you get a ground floor suite. I did complain about some of the condition of the room such as the stained carpeting and the front desk discounted my stay by reducing my bill for one night. The complimentary breakfast always had eggs, some kind of meat, and biscuits/danishes/scones/muffins and yogurts, cereals and plenty of other items to choose from. And if you can't find what you are looking for, just ask Mrs Vickie for it - If it's available, she'll get if for you!! Mrs Vickie is an amazing, gracious hostess for the complimentary breakfast bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank bad62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    158
    68
    48
    25
See reviews for
237
94
20
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Groveland, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel is located on Poplar Ave. at the intersection of I-240 which is very busy and has the potential for accidents as many locals use the hotel exit lane for access to the I-240 ramp.

So entering and exiting this hotel can be very tricky since you must locate the Homewood Suites sign (on entering) and deal with the busy traffic on Poplar Ave (upon exiting).

Once you do find the hotel and get checked in, the suites are roomy with nice accommodations (full-size refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot) and a very comfortable king-size bed. The complimentary breakfast (every morning) and light dinner (Mon – Thur) are a bonus and often provide you with enough good food to satisfy your hunger (depending on what is being served for the day).

The staff was very friendly. The fitness room is very small with 2 treadmills, one orbital, and some dumb-bell free weights so sometimes there will be a wait for equipment due to the limited size of the room. The Pool was not very clean or inviting.

Overall, this hotel was an upgrade to your normal hotel but it does have some safety issues (exiting the hotel) given the busy traffic on Poplar Ave.

Room Tip: Recommend the top level rooms to reduce the noise potential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garyd01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

As others have said this property is not downtown where the excirement is but I wasn't here for that. It has been recently redone and I was impressed with my suite and the public areas. The staff was excellent. Mon-thurs they have a light dinner which was our "appetizer" prior to going to Corky's which was about 2 miles away. Breakfast was very good. The property exceeded my expectations

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Philpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The staff is great! The rooms are a bit out dated but clean. Price is good and location is nice, lots of restaurants around to choose from, but make sure you have their breakfast the food was very good and plenty of it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Location was 20-25 minutes from downtown but I like the suite accomadations, complimentary dinner and breakfasts. Found our suite clean, well furnished and the beds were a dream to sleep on. No problems with service or rooms and had a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel staff was wonderful from the GM to housekeeping. They took care of my every request and always went that extra mile. I also saw them going that extra mile for other guest to make them happy. And just like they have smiles for us, we need to have smiles for them; it helps brighten their day annnnd they don't mind doing that little extra.....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Luv2cruise15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel staff was the best part of the stay. They were so helpful and knew every answer to all our questions. the room was very nice. out dated but clean. the walls are a little thin and I could here the people next door and the stomping around up stairs but its a hotel and its only for a few days. Over all it was one of the best Hotels in Memphis and we will stay there again next year. The free Breakfast was really good and its not the same thing every day. And you also get Free Dinner!!! This saves you alot of money if your staying for a week or so.But again you wont find a better staff. they really do treat you like Family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#24 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#19 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Address: 5811 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Memphis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#25 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly-Renovated Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis Poplar is located in East Memphis at the intersection of I-240 and Poplar Avenue, providing easy access to all parts of town. The hotel provides short term and extended stay accommodations for those traveling on business and leisure alike. It is our goal to make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Homewood Suites Memphis
Homewood Memphis
Memphis Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing