We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Team” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Ranked #17 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Shreveport, Louisiana
2 reviews
“Excellent Team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I want to say what an exemplary job Mr. David Brawner has done this past week. I let him know the evening I checked in that I wanted to see if I could stay an extra night and if he could help me get a couple other special items to help me surprise my wife for our first year wedding anniversary. For the whole week he worked hand in hand with me as if it was the only job he had all week, which as a GM I know is not true. He went above in beyond assuring I had flowers, cake and wine ready for when she arrived Friday evening. He also graciously extended my stay for the extra night that I needed without posing an issue, which I know it can be at times. I would like to pass on my thanks for the help he was able to give me! He has been more than accommodating with all of my requests and I greatly appreciated it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank barnabas_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear barnabas_13,

Thank you for submitting your review of the Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis East to the TripAdvisor community. Your kind words about our leader speaks volumes about what we have established here at the Homewood. We make it a point to connect with all of our guests as we realize that traveling on the road can often be difficult at times. I'm thrilled to hear that your experience with us was a fantastic one and trust that your wife was very pleased with the arrangements that were set up. Please keep us in mind for your next travels into the Memphis area!

Warm regards,

Corey Childs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    158
    68
    48
    25
See reviews for
237
94
20
208
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The entire staff was extremely friendly and attentive to all guest needs!! From the GM to the drivers, to the front desk, suite keepers, to the breakfast staff, all very helpful and pleaant! Very enjoyable staff, will be back and will certainly reccommend to others!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi Lisa D,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis East. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay with us during your recent trip to the Memphis area. It is our goal to make a lasting impression on every guest that walks through our doors. Each department from the time you check-in until the day you check-out is heavily involved with making sure your experience with us is one of the best. Again, your response is very much appreciated and please keep us in mind as we'd be happy to welcome you home!

Best,

Corey Childs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, WI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were in Memphis for a family reunion. Chose this hotel because we were sharing expenses with a cousin. The 2 bedroom suite gave us privacy at a good price.

Mon-Thurs a complimentary dinner is offered. This particular Thurs it was tried chicken, green beans and a salad bar - very good food all around. Their breakfast is also very good and nutritious.

The only negative I have is the highway traffic heard in the rooms facing the highway. The first night was very hard to sleep. The second night, we asked for a room change. We received a room on the interior of the facility, facing the conference center; we didn't hear any traffic and slept well.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi Janine K,

Thank you for submitting a review of our beautiful hotel to the TripAdvisor community. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. The two-bedroom suites allow plenty of privacy as the bedrooms are on opposite sides of the shared living space at a very affordable rate. In addition to the luxurious suite, we have bundled value in our daily hot breakfast and M-Th Welcome Home Manager's Reception. I am also happy to hear that our Front Desk staff was able to accommodate you and your cousin in a room that better suited your needs on the second night. Please keep us in mind for your next trip to the Memphis area and/or contact the Sales Department should you want to set up another family reunion at our home!

Warm regards,

Corey C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for business, but I was able to bring my family because of the apartment like rooms and great amenities. They serve dinner in the evenings m-t on top of their awesome breakfast. Loved the staff, they treated us like family!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi Juish,

Thank you for submitting such a wonderful review to our TripAdvisor Community. Your kind words hit on many of the amenities and servicies that we pride ourselves on. The complimentary dinner and breakfast are all great ways to save money as our rates are all-inclusive of these great amenities and many more. It also brings me joy that your family was able to come along during the business trip solely based on our one and two bedroom suites with separate living and sleeping areas. Our staff really aims to make all guests a part of our family so thank you again for such a nice review. We look forward to welcoming you home next time you are in Memphis!

Best regards,

Corey C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanuet, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

My entire family (5 separate rooms ages 20 to 85) was thoroughly impressed with this hotel. The lobby was really nice and welcoming. The breakfast offered a large variety and was fresh. The suites were large and bathrooms were very clean. The outdoor barbeque area made me wish it was a permanent residence. The entire staff, especially at the front desk, was helpful, friendly, and cheerful. I would highly recommend this Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Terri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyersburg, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I travel about 6 months out of the year and usually stay at a different Homewood location. I couldn't get my team into that one so I called and Monique was able to get us all in for the 2 weeks we needed. She also was able to get us all together in the hotel. We were there 2 weeks and service cleanliness everything was excellent. Within the first few days, Monique made us all feel like we were home. David, manager came to greet us every night at supper to ensure everything was okay. Cory sales manager was always there to make sure we had what we needed. He also assisted me in booking our next 2 week trip in May. My entire team decided within just a few days- this is our new home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Melissa N,

What a wonderful review that you have submitted to the TripAdvisor community. We are thrilled to hear we are the new home for you and your team when traveling to Memphis. It has been a pleasure working with you and we look forward to your next visit later this month! As you all experienced during your initial stay, we place great emphasis in creating a comfortable, relaxing environment for all of our guests. The evening Manager's Reception Dinner is a great time for our guests to interact with one another and at the same time get to know our staff a little better as it is very important to us that each guest is 100% satisfied with their stay. Looking forward to seeing you all again soon!

Best wishes,

Corey C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My group stayed here for the Beale Street Music Festival because all of the hotels downtown were booked. Glad I found this hotel though!

From checkin to checkout, our stay was great at this fabulous place. The property was well kept, hallways and rooms smelled good (you don't appreciate that until you've been in a nasty smelling hotel!), friendly staff (every time we passed an employee, they were extremely friendly), rooms were very nice and clean, and the lobby was very welcoming. Some members of my party liked the breakfast as well. Oh, and the rates were VERY reasonable!

The best part is the next day after our visit I received an email from Monique, the Front Office Supervisor, who followed up regarding our stay at the hotel. I rarely, if ever, receive follow ups from staff and it was such a pleasant surprise!

I highly recommend this hotel if you're in the area and I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakesha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi ChoklateChild,

Thank you for your fantastic review of our property. Our grounds, rooms, and common areas are very well maintained and we completely agree that the room freshness should match that of our flowering azaleas in our interior courtyard. We encourage our team members to interact with all guests in order to develop a more personable, friendly relationship while you're on the road so it is great to hear that our friendliness was noticed. As you mentioned, our pricing is very realistic with all the added value from our all-inclusive amenities. In addition to our daily hot breakfast, we offer a weekday Manager's Reception Dinner available to all of our guests included in their room rate. We hope that the rain this past weekend did not dwindle your experience at the Beale Street Music Festival! Come see us again next year!

Warm regards,

Corey C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#24 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#19 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Address: 5811 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Memphis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#25 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly-Renovated Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis Poplar is located in East Memphis at the intersection of I-240 and Poplar Avenue, providing easy access to all parts of town. The hotel provides short term and extended stay accommodations for those traveling on business and leisure alike. It is our goal to make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Homewood Suites Memphis
Homewood Memphis
Memphis Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing