We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homewood Inns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Ranked #16 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Homewood Inns”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Homewood Inn on Poplar is an excellent place to stay on weekends for family & during the week for the business traveler that has business in the Germantown area. The hotel is very nice & clean but the decor is somewhat dated. Staff is excellent and always very helpful. Rooms have plenty of space but they always turn off the ice maker so ask for ice when you check in.

The small buildings out front are quieter and usually we request one of these. Parking is always limited at night especially if you park behind the 4 story building. Be sure there are no electronics showing inside the car as we have seen several cars broken into for cell phones & game boys etc.

Getting to the hotel is a little odd in that it sits in the middle of Poplar and when you exit from interstate going north you need to immediately get in far left lane & go around the property & then come back up Poplar to get to entrance.

Be sure to get the complimentary breakfast. It is always excellent & the staff makes sure you have everything you need.

We usually stay here 5-6 weekends per year

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwsorrells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear dwsorrells,

Thank you for the great review on the Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis East! We are thrilled to have you as a repeat guest when traveling to the Memphis area. While I do agree that the décor within the rooms may be a little dated, I am happy to say that room renovations are coming early 2014. In the mean time, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our spacious one and two bedroom suites. Per health department standards, we are required to empty the ice maker and clean the device prior to the next guest's arrival but nonetheless requesting ice at the time of check-in is good tip for future guests so I do appreciate you sharing this information with the TripAdvisor community. Also, we have security patrolling our premises throughout the evening hours to ensure guest safety however can't promise that we will eliminate all instances so we do advise to not leave valuable items in your vehicles overnight. Finding our hotel can be challenging at first due to the accessibility from Poplar Avenue however like your own home, the location and experiences won't be forgotten after your first visit. We look forward to welcoming you home during your next visit!

Best,
Corey C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    162
    69
    51
    25
See reviews for
245
96
20
212
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Twinsburg, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great Staff, Very Good Hotel and has a great potentials with just some minor operational twitches...nothing out of usual. Great GM, hardworking and smart....Lobby and Lodge looks beautiful. Location was decent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Vaibhav P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Vaibhau P,

Thank you for submitting your review of our home to the TripAdvisor community. We greatly appreciate your feedback as it allows us to further enhance our product and services that we offer here at the Homewood. The response from the recent lobby/lodge renovation has been outstanding so I am happy to hear that you also enjoyed your time in our common areas. We are very priveleged to have such a dedicated GM leading the way and setting the example for all of our team members. We hope that you will think of us again during your next visit to the Memphis area.

Best,

Corey C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

From Saturday to Monday my service was great....The front desk clerk Monique provided excellent customer service. She gave a brief description of the hotel and also called my room to make sure I was comfortable. Most front desk hotel clerks don't take out the time to do that. Monique showed much dedication towards her job. Lastly, my house keeping was absolutely wonderful. I forgot the actual name of the house keeper but I do remember her shift was 2nd shift. From now on anytime I need a suite HOMEWOOD SUITES MEMPHIS,TN will always be my #1 choice.


xxxxx
Kassedi Wilson

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassedi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi Kassedi W,

What a wonderful review of what we deem the most pivotal part of our hotel - the staff. We are very spoiled to have team members like Monique and your housekeeping attendant throughout each department to ensure comfort while you are on the road. As a staff, it brings much joy to hear that our efforts and contributions have created a sense of loyalty amongst our property and yourself when in the Memphis area. I will be sure to share your remarks during our daily team member huddle. Again, thank you for such a great review of the staff and we look forward to providing the same great service during your next visit!

All the best,

Corey C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable. If I came back to Memphis to stay at a hotel, I would stay there again. I'm rating this hotel as a four because of the breakfast. It only served ham on a Sunday. I couldn't eat ham. I thought the breakfast choices could have been better. But everything else was great.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisinlady09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear cruisinlady09,

Thank you for submitting your review to the TripAdvisor community! We greatly appreciate all reviews as it allows our guests a better perspective of what we have to offer. I am happy to hear that you found comfort in our clean and spacious suites during your stay. Our daily hot breakfast includes a meat to go along with the variety of other options that we offer. I do apologize for any inconvenience that our ham option that day may have caused but do hope that you were able to find something appealing amongst the hot oatmeal, eggs, cereal, fresh fruit, etc. Next time you're in town let us know and we will be sure to take care of you!

Kind wishes,

Corey C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Would recommend to all my friends and family. The quality was excellent for the price I paid. Friendly staff that showed such a nice atmosphere to br in. Oh yes, the breakfast was great also. The location was easy to find also.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hi tsug,

Thank you for the pleasant words about our property and staff! We are pleased to hear that our accommodations made it easy for you to relax while in town. I'm glad that you were able to enjoy some of the all-inclusive amenities that we offer such as our daily hot breakfast. Like all Homewood Suites, there is an enormous amount of bundled value packaged within your nightly rate. We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,

Corey C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was a quick weekend trip for me and my family. It is often difficuly to travel with teens because we usually have to get two rooms. But at Homewood Suites we were able to have a two bedroom suite. The rooms were excellent. The beds were comfortable and clean. Our two teenage daughters had their own room with their own TV and their own bathroom. The TV and cable options were good for us. The breakfast was great the next morning in a gorgeous atmosphere. The staff was extremely helpful. There were great options for outside dining aroung the hotel. We would definitely recommend this location to any one traveling through Memphis. We plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenPStevenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear KenPStevenson,

Thank you for your beautiful review of our property! I'm very pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful stay at our hotel. Our two-bedroom suites are a great option for any family traveling through Memphis and as you mentioned, each room has it's own bathroom and television set. Our high definition televisions and cable programming has something for everyone's liking. The hotel sits in a very active part of town with upscale dining and retail just around the corner. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us so we look forward to welcoming you back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed at the Homewood Suites Poplar in Memphis for the last 4 nights. I enjoyed that my room was quiet and had a kitchen. The Team is very friendly, and seemed to care about my needs. The Sales team was the best!! Great place to stay when you're away from home for so many nights. (Extended Stay or Long Term Stay in Memphis)

Room Tip: One Bedroom Suites allow you to close the door to the living room. The Rooms in building B were eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyBugTX2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi LadyBugTX2009,

Thank for your such kind words about our lovely hotel and staff! I'm not sure if I could've written a better review about our property myself! We really do try to cater to each and every one of our guests' needs and make it a point to treat their time with us as if we were in their home. The feedback regarding the updated lobby has been outstanding so again we thank you for saying such great things about our product. If you find yourself back in the Memphis area, please do not hesitate to give us a call as we would love to welcome you "home".

Best regards,

Corey Childs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#23 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Memphis
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#18 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Address: 5811 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Memphis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#25 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly-Renovated Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis Poplar is located in East Memphis at the intersection of I-240 and Poplar Avenue, providing easy access to all parts of town. The hotel provides short term and extended stay accommodations for those traveling on business and leisure alike. It is our goal to make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Homewood Suites Memphis
Homewood Memphis
Memphis Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing