We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Ranked #15 of 137 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I was glad I had GPS to find the entrance--it is a bit awkward getting here. We had a room with 2 double beds. It is always nice to have a suite with a bedroom and a living room/kitchen area and 2 tvs, so there is not as much of a fight over tv channels. The pool is outside so it is closed for the winter--all the other Homewood Suites I have stayed at have had indoor pools. Breakfast wise, I am used to Homewood having a large pot of oatmeal. The only thing I found was instant grits. The did have eggs (with some sort of meat in it), sausage and hashbrown potatoes, yogurt, fresh fruit, cold cereal, and bagels/toast. They had make your own waffles. They had what I would call a scone that my teenage daughter really liked. My biggest complaint was the heating unit in our room. It was so loud I had to turn it off so I could sleep, then turn it back on to heat up the room before I took a shower. In the room, they store all the dishes in the dishwasher so they can wash them in between guests, which I thought was a good idea to make sure the dishes are clean when a new guest arrives.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    153
    64
    44
    25
See reviews for
223
90
20
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice hotel. like the suite seperate living and bedroom. Internet was kind of slow and kept dropping at times. Nice evening reception.Great value for the price of the room. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Please note that Ms Sharita (assoc manager?), Ms Vicki and Ms Barbara, Chandra and Teresa were exceptional...the hotel is in a lowsy location, difficult to get in and out on main street. The rooms are very nice and quiet. The social time in the evening was great...gives you time to relax after work. All of staff was great, with the exception of the Operations Manager-DB- (who is the head manager in charge). His attitude and behavior was 'unacceptable'!
We had issues with parking and he was not accommodating in any fashion.
I recommend the hotel as a whole, however, please get that manager some REAL TRAINING - simulated style.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed at this property 10 years ago and recently returned for a training class and I was wowed by the new design of the lobby area. It was modern and warm, the feel was very home like. The suites need some updating, the friendly desk clerk said that was coming next. The food was great and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgcarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel has an excellent location, but is an older model Homewood (exterior corridors). The rooms are nice though and in very good shape. The night I stayed the dinner was fried chicken, an entree that I would rate below average. Most of the staff were pleasant, but not overly friendly. The exercise room is small, but adequate. I chose this hotel as it is a fairly quick drive to the airport early in the morning, and did not want to stay in the airport area while in Memphis. I would consider returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherpa2286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

First I would like to say checkin and checkout was very pleasent but after that it was a mess normally when we check into a hotel we will go inspect the rooms before accepting the room but due to being exhausted from the long trip I made from PA and having a very cranky baby we went ahead and went to the room That was a MISTAKE the Duvet cover on the bed was covered in stains every drawer in the room seemed to have what appeared to be someone's "Personal hair" in them but I cleaned the drawers out and shoved the duvet in an empty plastic bag in the closet we lined the drawers with newspaper we thought about asking for another room but we were told at checkin that the hotel was full due to the liberty bowl after that was fine the housekeeping staff was friendly for the most part but ill get back to that at breakfast due to the ISU crowd there was hardly any food when we would come down around 9 could never get near the waffle maker and we asked the lady running the kitchen for a yogurt and was always told they were out but would always see some the next morning on peoples plates and when we decided to stay an extra night we called down to the front desk who said they would put it in the system to check us out then back in which sounded odd when they told us that we reminded them we were AAA members so we could get the rate and was promptly told that the hotel didn't have a AAA rate and then the next morning around noon the housekeeper came into the room where my Mom Nephew and Fiance were spending time together the housekeeper went and got someone who my Fiance said introduced themselves as one of the housekeeping managers who got into an argument with my fiance that we were trying to stay an extra night without paying in front of our guests and that someone else had already checked into the room and before he had started that my fiance informed him that we called the front desk last night and even after he was through saying he had no record she stayed calm and told him that it was us he left saying he had to go check and when he got back he told her she had to go get our cards recoded no appology or anything I told the lovely lady at the front desk about our stay from the begining to the end and she appologized but still it should have never happened and I did not appreciate in the least the houskeeping "manager" as he introduced himself getting into an argument with my Fiance especially infront of my mom, nephew, and daughter he should have simply excused himself to go check before arguing at all

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We came down to Memphis for the LibertyBowl as part of the HUGE fan base for the Iowa State Cyclones. We had no idea where to look for rooms and so the reviews we found on this site helped us decide on the Homewood Suites. We were not sorry with our decision and found all the excellent reviews to be true. The beds were fantastic, the suites were roomy and so much better than "regular" hotel rooms. The breakfast each morning was great and it was such a treat to see so many other ISU fans there. It was almost like being "home" and the whole experience was like being in Jack Trice South.....only thing better would have been to come home with a victory...but like all loyal Cyclone fans....wait until next year. Thank you Homewood Suites for showing us your wonderful southern hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nollie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey C, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I want to start by saying THANK YOU very much for this TripAdvisor review. We absolutely love when our guests share their experiences with the online community. It is fabulous that the reviews and ratings already posted on this site provided valuable insight of our hotel and what to expect upon arrival. We were very happy to have all of the ISU supporters come celebrate the New Year with us. It brings our staff joy to hear all of the great things you have shared. It is our goal to create a home-like atmosphere and leave an everlasting impression. Best of luck to the Iowa State team in this coming year and we look forward to your return to the Memphis area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#22 of 137 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#21 of 137 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Address: 5811 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Memphis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#25 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly-Renovated Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis Poplar is located in East Memphis at the intersection of I-240 and Poplar Avenue, providing easy access to all parts of town. The hotel provides short term and extended stay accommodations for those traveling on business and leisure alike. It is our goal to make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Homewood Suites Memphis
Homewood Memphis
Memphis Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing