We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconvenient location, decent facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Ranked #17 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Inconvenient location, decent facilities”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I normally stay at the Memphis Hilton or at the Embassy Suites, but on this trip, both were booked. So, I stayed within the Hilton family (have to get those points) and made a reservation at the Homewood. This hotel is located on a virtual island between the east and west bound lanes of Poplar, with the interstate on the west end. Getting in and out is a real pain.

The property is dated, dingy and my room was quite musty. It looks like some apartments were converted into an extended stay hotel at some point, but who knows. If you are going to be staying for a while, the Homewood might be a good choice as it has a small kitchenette and a separate living room.

I did partake in the evening reception which was just OK. Many of the guests were clearly making a meal out of the fare, but it was more like heavy appetizers, none of which was healthy. I had some small bites and a beer after checking in, and that was enough to tide me over until my client was ready for a late dinner.

The room showed its age and although it wasn't dirty, it's wasn't very clean either. I might choose to give up my points next time if the Hilton or the Embassy aren't available.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle M, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar, responded to this review, November 14, 2011
Thank you for your recent stay with us and we appreciate your feedback on our hotel. We understand that the hotel is not the easiest to get in and out of and do our best to assist guests in finding it. Thank you for your feedback on the room and the managers reception. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    173
    74
    55
    28
See reviews for
263
102
22
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Great facility! Great evening meals Monday - Thursday! Good breakfasts daily!
Beautiful landscaping. Wonderful spacious suites.

The complex is designed for extended stays, but has maid service every day. We were in building B which has inside corridors. It was very quiet even tho the hotel is basically between the east and west lanes of Hwy 240.

The entrance is difficult when coming from downtown Memphis as it is a merge into highway traffic with an immediate slow down for the hotel entrance. But after a couple of attempts, I felt comfortable with it.

We would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Make your first drive into the hotel by coming from 240E. It is a left lane entrance. There are 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsSophiemorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TX
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I stayed here a few days while I was in Memphis, TN for business. The facility has many offerings with breakfast, evening meals a few nights a week, a hotel, gym, etc., none of which I had the time to partake.

I was looking for a room that had a kitchenette, fast, reliable internet, places that would deliver food when I needed it, and comfortable, quiet surroundings that allowed me to sleep when I could. This hotel delivered all with flying colors. There is a Kroger grocery store just a few miles south on the left where I stocked up on water and snacks. There were several fast food restaurants between the two, there are likely other places to eat as well, but I was on too tight a schedule to notice.

The hotel is very clean, neat, and well organized. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. They are located right near the SE corner of the I240 loop, so they're very convenient to most locations in Memphis. I will likely stay here every time I have to go to Memphis.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cahowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at this Homewood during a cross-country road trip and selected the hotel mainly because it was pet-friendly. The grounds are well-maintained and the main lobby and dining area are updated and comfortable. The rooms, however, show a little more wear and tear, the buildings are a bit older and it does show. Navigating to the hotel, which is located on an island in the center of a highway loop, can prove difficult the first time. The location can also lend itself to difficult sleeping conditions, we were toward the back of the property and the street noise level was quite high. We were traveling with our dog and were told that he was only allowed in the designated pet area, which unfortunately was clear across the property from our room. The walk to the pet area was a bit frightening, as the main entry road was right next to our narrow path and cars were whizzing past us at high speeds. Overall, the bed was comfortable, the room was spacious and the breakfast was good but the location might deter me from choosing this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a pet, ask for a room in a building close to the designated outdoor pet ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I was so very impressed with the friendly staff at this hotel. I will definately be back to this hotel when in the area!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ds929501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Sadly, we were only here for one hectic night.. My husband and I both commented.. this is the kind of place we'd like to "hide away" at for a week. It is right in the middle of all sorts of activities, and yet so quiet! The staff is always agreeable and the room is always immaculate. The bed rivals the one we have at home. WE LOVE This hotel. You will NOT go wrong staying, booking here!

Room Tip: I have stayed in three different building there with three different accesses.. all three were equal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimszrolltide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrier, Arkansas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2011

It doesn't get any better than a stay at the hotel! The staff were extremely accommodating and willing to assist with any of our needs!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdskogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis-Shady Grove Road
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Memphis - Poplar Ave East
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Memphis Primacy Parkway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Memphis
Hilton Memphis
#27 of 138 in Memphis
989 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
Hampton Inn Memphis-Poplar
#20 of 138 in Memphis
717 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Memphis - Beale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar
Address: 5811 Poplar Ave, Memphis, TN 38119-3949
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Memphis
#10 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#25 Family Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly-Renovated Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis Poplar is located in East Memphis at the intersection of I-240 and Poplar Avenue, providing easy access to all parts of town. The hotel provides short term and extended stay accommodations for those traveling on business and leisure alike. It is our goal to make you feel at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Memphis-Poplar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Memphis-Poplar Hotel Memphis
Homewood Suites Memphis
Homewood Memphis
Memphis Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing