We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay, Great Location, Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Ranked #22 of 136 Hotels in Memphis
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
“Great Stay, Great Location, Great Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

We stayed at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown for two nights and found the hotel a good value for our money. We checked out other suite hotels in downtown Memphis and got much higher quotes. The breakfast room was big and clean. The hotel offered a nice variety for breakfast which satisfied three hungry teenage boys. There was always a bowl of fresh edible fruit and hot coffee in the lobby. The hotel was within walking distance to Beale Street and the Civil Rights Museum. Decent work-out room and outdoor pool. Free parking was a plus!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akronmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    338
    117
    55
    19
See reviews for
282
194
22
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

This hotel was just fantastic. Very clean and the staff was the tops! Big Kevin at the desk is the best. Our room was very nice, as was our view of the park. I cannot stress how great the location is. Trolley right out the back door, walking distance ti Beale and Mud Island, nice safe area. We are planning another trip in Oct. and won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinem7Arkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guisborough
Level Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights whilst seeing the attractions of Memphis. The hotel is a short walk or trolley ride from Beale Street where most the action is during the evenings, or you can take the trolley onto the Civil Rights Museum, which is a must-see for visitors. The circular route trolley stops outside the hotel as well and is worth the $1(40c seniors) ride. We didn't hear the trolleys, which run outside the building, even in a room facing onto the street, mainly because the air conditioning tended to drown out any outside noise. If you like total peace and quiet then get a room facing the back but who goes to Memphis to have a quiet time? If you fancy an escorted trip around the area then the tour buses will call at the hotel to pick you up and take you to the central point at the visitor centre. The hotel is also only a short walking distance away from the bridge/monorail station which takes you over to Mud Island, which, despite its name, is well worth a visit if for nothing else but to see the scale model of the Mississippi river. There are other fine hotels in Memphis but for comfort at a reasonable price, this hotel takes some beating. The only downside is that if you are taking a care there is a valet service charge and parking is tight.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

We were put on the 2nd floor facing Main street. The room was designed really weird. The blinds did not close, as the air conditioner was in between the window. Definitely didn't feel safe or having privacy. Bright lights from outside shown through the window at night...The A/C blows right onto the bed, so you're either hot or cold, depending on which side of the bed you sleep on. The TV was about 13". Terrible, and flashed alot. A great TV was in the OTHER room, but you couldnt switch the TVs...I want a good TV for the bedroom....Hotel overcharged us 10.00 for one of our nights, but front desk said they couldn't make an adjustment because I used Expedia, Nothing in my online registration, however, identified itself as Expedia...There was no parking available on Sat eve. so I was forced to use valet parking. When I recd the bill for Valet parking, it showed a rate of 104.21, but only charged 12.00/day. The front desk could not explain what the 104.21 rate meant, again---something only Expedia knows. This hotel is out of touch with it's own billing system.
The space in front of the elevators was only three feet wide, guests have to squeeze by one another to access the elevator. the architect for this hotel must have been napping..

Oh--the breakfast was OK! Location is good, Everything else was strange.....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buck6453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2010

We booked our hotel online and chose SpringHill Suites because the rooms were said to be larger than most hotel rooms. The pictures of the rooms looked nice and big, but we were fooled. Our group was a group of 4 adults and one teenager. We booked 2 queen beds with a sofa bed, which should have been suitable. When we checked in, we were very disappointed to find our room similar to most other hotels we have stayed in. It had two beds with a sofa crammed next to them. There was no table area or living area as promised. When we asked to move, the desk staff said our room was the same as all others. After awhile we realized we were in a handicapped room with only a large wheelchair accessible shower. We even had no tub! The desk staff seemed unfriendly and unhelpful. I don't think we would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell201073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed at this sold out hotel for four days during 5/14 - 5/17/10. Check in was understandably complicated with not only the BBQ competition in town, but also a wedding party at this relatively small hotel. However, this was the only issue we encountered during our stay. The breakfast was the best anywhere, with make your own waffles, an array of baked goods, juices, eggs, sausage, biscuits, cereals and oatmeal. Coffee and fresh fruit was available at all times in the lobby near the business center, where my 14 year old daughter spent as much time as we allowed. Upon checking in to our room, we found the air conditioner was not working well and were immediately moved to another room. We had a king with a pull out couch. The bed was a little squishy for our taste. The suite was quite roomy with the bedroom area partially separated from the sitting/kitchen area. I was a little dissapointed with the "kitchen" amenities, a small refrigertor (no freezer), microwave and coffee pot, but it worked out fine. There was a nice big table to review brochures and maps. For a booked hotel, we hardly ran into any guests except for breakfast. The location is amazing.... walk to the river or Beale Street, but you don't have the hussle and bussle of the Beale St. area. Every single person we encountered on the staff of this hotel was gracious and courteous. All in all, I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank truescorpio1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

An okay stay. I booked this hotel because I have happily stayed at two different SpringHill Suites and felt comfortable booking at this location. The location was great and the trolley is right outside the hotel on the Main Street side. There is a Walgreen’s around up the block and several dining options on Main Street. Our room also faced Main Street and we could hear the noise from the Trolley. We were up early anyway so this wasn’t an issue, but if you enjoy sleeping past 7 am then you should ask for a room that does not face Main Street. The room’s air conditioner was a window unit and was loud. Otherwise, the hotel seemed on par with the other SpringHill Suites I have stayed at as far as size of the rooms, room amenities such as microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, internet and seating area. We experienced maintenance problems with the toilet as soon as we got there. We had to turn the water off to avoid the toilet from overflowing. This happened a few times. Also, the shower wasn’t properly cleaned and I am not talking about a stray hair from a prior guest…..I will spare you the details. The bathroom in the lobby wasn’t well kept either, but otherwise the lobby and our room aside from the bathroom appeared clean. Anyway, I wouldn’t stay at this property again nor would I recommend it to family or friends. That being said, I wouldn’t tell somewhat not to stay here either. If someone were considering staying here I would just suggest getting a room that doesn’t face Main Street and you should be fine. The hotel has a lot going for it. My experience was just tainted by a bad housekeeping experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcalbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
#31 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Comfort Inn Downtown
#10 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#12 of 136 in Memphis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Address: 85 West Court Avenue, Memphis, TN 38103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#24 Family Hotel in Memphis
#25 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, all-suite hotel located 10 mi from Graceland; minutes from area restaurants and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing