We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Ranked #24 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Caledonia, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed May 6, 2009

We were delighted to find a room still available downtown the 1st weekend in May, Memphis in May and Beale st, most places were booked solid. We found a room here online, we decided on a suite and were pleased. Although it was not much bigger than a regular room, it had a sleeperr sofa and two queen beds. There was a mini kitchen area and there were actually two tv's in the room! The bathroom had a tub/shower combo and toilet, but most importantly, a fan, my pet peeve for those hotels that just have the vents in the wall...hate them! The sink and vanity was in a separate area so we were not crowded in a small bathroom trying to get ready for the day.

Overall, we liked the hotel and the staff was wonderful, breakfast was plentiful and they had two employees keeping it stocked and neat.

The downside: Trying to find the hotel is a nightmare, it's located on Main St, but Main St is only for pedestrians and the trolleys (which are handy!), we actually ended up wondering around one way streets until we got to the Marriott, Downtown...wrong hotel!!! We had already parked our car in the underground parking for Marriott Downtown and took the trolley down a few blocks to the Springhill. The parking was non existant at the Springhill, parking across a street and parking three wide, what a nightmare, I was glad we got lost when we saw the parking situation!!!

Also, the entrance to the hotel is on the side road, the door that is actually on Main St is locked and you can only get in with your key, which is a pain when you haven't even checked in yet!!

The hotel is in a good location for exploring downtown Memphis. We walked to and from Beale street and the riverfront without a problem. Lots of lighting and security, never felt uneasy.

We went down to the Peabody hotel to see the ducks, that was neat but crowded of course. Then across to the Rendevous for ribs, hubby had them and enjoyed them but not sure if they were worth all the hype.

All in all, we had a great time with family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenyart888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    352
    120
    56
    21
See reviews for
295
198
22
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2009

I have been to this hotel twice although it has been awhile. I read the recent reviews and felt compelled to write a review. First, let me say if you aren't a frequent traveller (business or vacation) or are used to staying at high end hotels then don't stay here. There is a reason its not called Marriott (sorry, I digress but folks get me ticked off sometimes). I stayed at Springhill in May of 2006 and 2007. If you use GPS or Mapquest they haven't been updated to include that Main Street isn't accessible to cars. I don't understand that since its not a new occurrence. The Trolley is right in front of the hotel. We didn't rent a car but opted to walk or take the trolley to most locations. The front desk staff was helpful and explained we could take the trolley to the Civil Rights Museum. Beale Street is within walking distance and so is the Rock and Soul Musuem. Also, you could catch a free shuttle that takes you to Sun Studios and Graceland. The riverfront is closeby and within walking distance as well. As I stated, I stayed at this hotel twice - once with a friend and another time with my sister. Neither of them had any complaints about the hotel. I will say that breakfast is adequate but wasn't thrilling. Get there early because it goes quickly. I always heard about Southern hospitality and wondered about it because I had never experienced it until I went to Memphis. Everyone I saw on the street greeted us with a hello. There are homeless people as there are in most major downtown areas. No one bothered us and the Blue Suede Brigade is all over to give directions or offer assistance. The only negative for me was going to the Rendevous. I have had dry rub ribs before but I absolutely hated these ribs. Its a big tourist attraction but its definitely not where folks from Memphis go to eat ribs. If you want to go to Memphis and stay someplace clean, safe, and within walking distance of most tourist attractions then Springhill Suites.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JetsetterVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

Hotel was hard to find based on directions. Nice location, walkable to Beale Street and several other points of interest, right on trolly line and overlooks nice park. Rooms were clean and nice, but a little cramped. Service was terrible. Called hotel twice before arrival to ask if pool and jacuzzi were open and were assured they were. Big sign at fron desk at check-in says pool & jacuzzi closed for renovation. Nice. Front desk clerks had attitude and were not very helpful. Requested cart for luggage which never came but was finally offered assistance with taking bags to room. Phone in room didn't work but was fixed, 2 out of our 3 card keys stopped working after 1 day. Breakfast 1st day was okay, but not enough seating. 2nd day, not enough seating, food kept running out, coffee creamer was spoiled, cheese to put on eggs was moldy.

Valet service was slow, so when checking out we called ahead. Car was still not there when we got to lobby 20 minutes later but were told was on it's way. Car arrived while checking out. Took a while to check out as we asked to split bill, which elicited complaints and rudeness by desk clerk. When finally done, car had disappeared. Found it parked in the 15 minute check-in slots. No assistance offered to take luggage to the car & when we got there it was locked. Back to valet to get keys. Said he would be with us in a minute & never showed. Back to valet again and finally got keys. Obviously, we left no tip!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stlowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Housekeeping:
• A dirty sponge was left in our room on day 2, presumably by the housekeeper. It was not removed throughout our entire stay.
• Soap and lotions were not replenished, despite being used, on day 2.
• On day 3, we were only given 2 clean towels instead of the 4 we needed and received the first two days.
• When passing a housekeeper in the hallway, we were ignored and not greeted. No good morning or hello. They looked in the other direction when we passed them. THIS IS NOT MARRIOTT.

Breakfast:
• We ate breakfast all 3 mornings and not once did the associates in the breakfast area greet us or say good morning.
• All 3 mornings, food was running out and not replenished despite 30+ minutes remaining of service. Oatmeal was empty, milk was frozen, bread was depleted and food was removed from the buffet 15-30 minutes prior to the close of service.
• On Sunday morning the toaster literally lit on fire. The breakfast room quickly filled with smoke. NO SMOKE DETECTOR WENT OFF. The staff was barely concerned and did not react with any sense of urgency. This is concerning.
• When food was empty, the staff was nowhere to be found to ask for more.
• Throughout the breakfast area are beautiful signs describing the “seasonal” menu with fresh fruit. There was nothing fresh or seasonal about the buffet.
• Cereal selections: there was nothing with more than 3 grams of fiber such as Kashi (still a Kellogg’s product).

Front Desk Staff:
• Every time we approached the front desk, we were ignored by the front desk associate while they finished what they were doing on the computer or phone. The y did not say hello or thank us for waiting or ask us to wait.
• One day we asked for transportation to Graceland. We were put in touch with “Last Minute Transportation” who ended up abandoning us at a restaurant 3 miles from downtown after we paid $70 even though they said they would pick us up.
• The next day we asked for a taxi to take us to the Civil Rights Museum. Instead of a taxi, the front desk agent called Last Minute Transportation. We were forced to pay $10 to go 4 blocks away.

Fitness Room:
• The gym was scorching hot – no A/C.
• There were no towels in the gym all 3 days.

Overall Service:
• The staff throughout the hotel was less than friendly.
• The staff did not smile or say hello when passing.
• The associates appeared to be lazy and not happy.
• There were no smiles or pleasantries – we were ignored the entire time.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldcroce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Stayed here the end of February 2009, and it was as nice a place as any I've used in Memphis. The room was very clean and comfortable. But, if you don't want to hear the noise of the vintage streetcars, ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. It's valet parking only nowadays. The complimentary breakfast is about the standard - cereal, bagels, waffles, fruit, yogurt, and sausage, eggs and biscuits. The unfortunate part of downtown Memphis is the number of homeless and beggars, and most hotels have security at all hours to discourage them. It's reasonably safe to walk around downtown to place like Rendezvous and Beale Street, but stay in a group at night.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thetractorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland TN
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Their address is 21 North Main street, but that is a Trolley/pedestrian only zone at that addresss. The actual entrance is off of Court street. We can laugh now, but the GPS didn't know it wasn't a street for cars. Parking was 12$ a day Valet or self park. Anyway, speaking of trolleys, for goodness sake, when you check in, ask for a room on the other side of the property from the trolley. The train runs every few minutes and makes quite a racket. It runs until 1:30 am and starts up again in early am. The opposite side is much quieter with a nice view of the river. Also, ask for the 7th floor if possible, We started out on the 5th floor on the trolley side and asked to be moved within the first hour. Our upstairs neighbors were either a herd of elephants or the floors are not well insulated for noise. On the 7th floor, you have the best view and no floors above you. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The Walgreens across the street closes early, so be sure you have your advil before closing time because there is no where nearby and the lobby "store" has no "toiletries". We were three girls traveling without a fellow and felt just perfectly safe the whole trip. The trolley to Beale street was convenient (of course, the stop is right outside the property) and only costs a $1.00 each way, but they only take correct change. Beale street has good food and this time of winter was fairly quiet. We had dinner at BB Kings. You have to pay cover charges everywhere, even if you are just going in to eat. But it is to be expected. And of course, all the standard tourist shops line the street. Fun for an evening. We even took a carraige ride in a horse drawn carraige with a white lit up "pumpin" Cinderella carraige. $45 for a half hour but was a great time and they took us home to our hotel. All in all, be careful navigating your way into downtown. Springhill Suites was great and I would highly recommend this property. Breakfast was very good and so was the coffee. One more thing, they actually have rooms DIRECTLY across from the doors to the elevators. If they put you in any room that ends with 05 you will get to listen to the elevator bell at all hours of the night. Also, the rooms have room safes in them for security, but ours didn't work, unfortunately. Have fun in Memphis!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingWomanTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2009

After much angst reading & re-reading reviews of hotels in the general downtown Memphis area, I selected this hotel because of it's location. It's adjacent to the trolley line that runs along Main Street and the Riverfront. This connects you with Beale Street and the other downtown attractions. We went to the metro office and got 3-day passes (a long walk, but doable) and never moved our car out of the hotel lot.

This hotel is a typical Marriott and very nicely decorated. Better-than-average free breakfast with hot items: bacon, sausage, eggs (pre-fab type), do-it-yourself waffles, oatmeal, etc. Really more than adequate. One lame complaint about the room - it was a two room suite with only 1 TV in the bedroom, which essentially made the 'front' room useless. I suppose most folks don't watch that much TV when they're on vacation, but my husband came down with a cold and so I had more time than usual in the rooms - I had to sit on the bed to watch TV while there was all this nice comfortable furniture in the other room.

There were some vagrants in the area (typical of the urban blight that older parts of town can suffer from), but it was very clean and in the process of revitalization. We didn't encounter anyone that was aggressive or threatening in any way. Everyone was very helpful and pleasant. There are 'docent' like volunteers all thru the downtown area to answer questions and help with directions. It all felt very safe and I was never uncomfortable.

  • Liked — Accessability to event
  • Disliked — Lack of TV in 'front' room
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Smartlitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
#30 of 138 in Memphis
395 reviews
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 138 in Memphis
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Address: 85 Court Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#24 Family Hotel in Memphis
#25 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, all-suite hotel located 10 mi from Graceland; minutes from area restaurants and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing