We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Ranked #26 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Perfect location for downtown siteseeing. Room was very clean, staff was very professional. Our room had two double beds and a sofa bed. it was great for a family of four. Two flatscreen TVs and well laid out. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garryseay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay at SpringHill Suites, Downtown Memphis. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the accommodations and amentities the hotel has to offer. I hope you will stay with us the next time you travel to Memphis. If I can ever be of service, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Susan Covington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

423 - 429 of 845 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel is easily accessed from the interstate and it's a great walking location for Beale Street.

Our room was large and spacious, overlooking the bridge across the Mississippi. Everything was in good order and very clean.

The hotel is about six blocks from Beale Street and there is a trolley stop just outside the hotel doors. Lots of restaurants and shopping within walking distance.

Valet parking is $15. Self parking is $15.

All-in-all, a very nice hotel. Price was a little higher than we've spent on similar accommodations in large cities, but that seems to be the norm for downtown Memphis.

Room Tip: Loved our view overlooking the river. Our room was next to the ice machine and elevators but we did...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay at SpringHill Suites, Downtown Memphis. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again the next time you travel to Memphis.

Sincerely,

Susan Covington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We drove to Memphis for our 24th anniversary without reservations. After looking over the reviews we decided to stay near Beale Street but not so close that the noise would keep us up at night. It was by chance that we chose the Springhill because there were numerous accommodations that fit what we were looking for.

All of the staff was very polite and gave great advice to questions we had. Our room was clean and spacious, it faced the river so there was a great view, the trolley was directly behind the hotel, Beale Street was only 6 blocks away and great restaurants were within walking distance.

The thing set this hotel apart from others we stayed at was the morning breakfast. Not only was it good and hot but if you're lucky enough to have Mrs. Peggy working that day you will know who she is by the warm reception she gives guests, to offering a tray to carry up breakfast when she sees you trying to carry arm loads of plates & cups or tips on how to keep your food warm so your wife can enjoy breakfast in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor, you may still hear "back up" alarms on buses but that...
Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Ciera_Cruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments concerning your recent stay with us at SpringHill Suites, Downtown Memphis. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities the hotel has to offer. I was especially glad to hear about the service you received from one of our breakfast associates. We want all of our guests to feel that the hotel is their "home away from home" while they are in Memphis.

Please feel free to contact me directly if I can ever be of service in the future.

Sincerely,

Susan Covington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I really didn't want to give this a poor review but the bathroom was so gross. When you can count over 20 pubic hairs on the bathroom floor there's a problem. It's almost like they didn't mop like ever! Gross!
The location was great. Room was spacious. Staff in breakfast area were really nice.
We've stayed here before but probably will not return.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Heard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback concerning your recent stay. Your feedback is very important to us and only helps us to improve our service. I apologize that you had a problem with the bathroom in your suite and I have addressed the issue with the housekeeping supervisor. I can assure you this does not represent the cleanliness standards of our hotel and I certainly appreciate you bringing it to our attention.

Sincerley,

Susan Covington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The location is so convenient that we did not miss not renting a car. The trolley is right outside the door; however, we choose to walk most places. It took us about 15 minutes to walk to Beale Street (without walking too quickly). The price of the Hotel is competitive for downtown. The rooms are a good size and include conveniences like microwave, refrigerator, wet bar. The staff in the breakfast room are great and come out to speak with guests. Very friendly. The registration staff are okay but less friendly.

We had two problems that could have spoiled our stay; however, the issues were dealt with promptly. That is a very good outcome based on comparison with some hotels that act as though YOU are the problem, when you present one to them.

A tip for your stay. There is a free shuttle that rotates between great sites including Sun Records, Graceland, Rock and Roll Museum, and the Heartbreak Hotel. You can pick it up at the Rock and Roll Museum near Beale Street. Call them for the route schedule. No need for a car and the parking expenses if you plan the stay in this tourist section.

Also, the gym is small but has enough equipment for cardio and strength training.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building and did not go into the old Kress Building portion. Therefore, I can...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCovington, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Sherland C:

Thank you for providing this valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown. We appreciate your kind remarks, and I am happy to hear that we were able to immediately resolve the issues you mentioned.

Should you wish to discuss your stay further, I am available at the contact information below.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again in the future!

Kelly Hill
Guest Services Manager
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
901.522.2100 | khill@summitmgmtcorp.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the Springhill first in November right before Thanksgiving. We were able to get a last minute appointment at St Jude's for our youngest and needed a place to stay close by. The 5 of us were very comfortable in our room which had a nice view of the Mississippi River bridge. Our second and third stays were right after Christmas. Our daughter had a procedure at LeBohneur Children's Hospital and we needed a place to stay before and after she was in the hospital. These 2 rooms were both on the street car side of the hotel. We could hear the street cars but they did not bother us and none of us lost sleep from the sounds. The view of the square was nice especially on New Years Eve with all the horse pulled buggies.

Breakfast was good each morning. Each of our rooms fit the 5 of us comfortably. The staff was nice and helpful. The valets were friendly and quick even in the freezing cold temperatures. We will stay here again next time we need a hotel room in Memphis.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hestia_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments concerning your recent stay at SpringHill Suites, Downtown Memphis. I am so glad you enjoyed your accommodations and that we were able to be your "home away from home" during the holiday season.

Again, thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. If I can ever be of service in the future, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Susan Covington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my boyfriend and two other couples in one of their 2bdrm suites. We came to memphis like so many others - to enjoy a weekend of eating, drinking and revelry, and we were not disappointed in our stay. The hotels location is wonderful. Located right off of the main street we could choose to either take the trolley which was right out the door, or to walk the couple of blocks to Beale St. We often chose to walk, as the main street is lovely and lined with cute shops and restaurants, but we also enjoyed taking the historic trolley. The room was lovely and spacious enough for all 6 of us to comfortably spread out and watch tv on either of the 2 flat sceeens while getting ready for the evening. The beds were very comfortable and I personally loved the premium down pillows. The staff was courteous, nice and attentive to our needs. My one disappointment was that the outdoor hot tub was not in service (hence the 4 stars). This was likely due to the unusually cold weather at the time - but I firmly believe that hot tubs are meant for chilly weather so it was a disappointment for us. All in all, a very nice stay, a great location and a wonderful city!

- A side note for any other "beer snobs" from big cities, apparently southern liquor stores are just that - liquor only! We traveled to 4 very terrifying liquor stores before finally hitting the jackpot - at the local CashSaver supermarket, which has a growler bar! Yes, a growler bar! Full of cheap and delicious local brew options.

Cheers!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank beachbunny29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback concerning your recent stay with us at SpringHill Suites, Downtown Memphis. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and all the amenities we have to offer. I will share your comments with my staff. If I can ever be of service in the future, please feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Susan Covington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
#32 of 138 in Memphis
398 reviews
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#10 of 138 in Memphis
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown

Address: 85 Court Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#24 Family Hotel in Memphis
#25 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $179 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, all-suite hotel located 10 mi from Graceland; minutes from area restaurants and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing