We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a good option if you're staying for a few days in Memphis.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Memphis
Reviewed February 29, 2012

There's not a whole lot about this hotel that is negative. First, it's location is perfect. Not only is it easy to get to from Front Street, but, the Main Street Trolley stops right outside the back of it. From there, you can get to Beale Street, The Civil Rights Museum or to any place on the river front quite conveniently.

We reserved a room in the Historic Kress Building. The hotel built a walk way and converted rooms in this building. Consider them mini-suites. There is a seperate room with a love seat, chair and desk in these. You'll also find a refrigerator, sink and microwave in this area. The TV swivels to be viewed in the bedroom or in this room as well.

It's a block away from Walgreens. It's about a 10 minute stroll down Main to Union if you want to go the Peabody or catch a Redbirds game.

The back of the hotel opens up to Court Square. Here's the bad news, yes there are some homeless people that camp out there. I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised how we were not accosted by panhandlers as I had been in the past right outise more expensive hotels. The city has made a concerted effort to discourage panhandlers so I guess it's working.

But, here's the good news. Not only is there a trolley stop right outside the back door of the hotel, but, about 50 feet away is one of the best breakfasts in Memphis at the Blue Plate Cafe. Now, your stay here does include breakfast, but, I assure you it is not as good as the Blue Plate - just cheaper. You know the old saying though, you get what you pay for. But, The Blue Plate also is open for Lunch. You should make time for it. A&R BBQ is also right around the corner. Not as famous as The Rendezvous, but, locals will tell you it's better - and it is!

The staff couldn't have been more friendly and professional. I have stayed at several hotels in Memphis that cost 3x more than my room here and didn't have a tenth of the pleasant experience I had here.

I absolutely recommend this hotel for families and tourists looking for a safe, comfortable & convenient stay in downtown Memphis. We will certainly consider this again on future visits. BTW, valet and self parking are the same cost. We had no trouble with valet parking.

Room Tip: As noted in previous reviews, however, 3 out of the 4 sides of the Kress building rooms will not off...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TENNDAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (845)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

629 - 635 of 845 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2012

Very disappointed with this one after staying at the Springhill in Oklahoma. Mattresses very old and no support. Furniture old and hideabed was awful for my granddaughter.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCovington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

I appreciate your comments concerning your recent stay with us and I am sorry your were disappointed with your accommodations. We have recently completed a renovation on most of our guest suites, so it would be helpful to know which suite you stayed in. You may contact me at scovington@summitmgmtcorp.com.

I look forward to hearing from you!

Sincerely,

Susan Covington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

If you are visiting Memphis and plan to stay in the downtown area, this property is a great location. You don't need a car. Beale street is within walking distance or the Trolley is a nice option.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunforfungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Our family of 4 (kids aged 10 and 7) stayed at the SpringHill Suites in January over Elvis' birthday weekend. We were travelling with a larger group and upon our arrival, the very friendly reception staff organised for us all to have rooms near each other. We found the rooms to be clean and spacious -it was a nice change to have a separate living area in a hotel room. We were pleasantly surprised by the Continental breakfast that was included in the price - not your typical continental breakfast - included a hot buffet as well as the usual cereals and pastries. The location of the hotel was great- within walking distance to Beale St and only a 30 minute walk to Sun Studios. We were also able to walk to the National Civil Rights Museum which is a must if you are visiting Memphis. Front desk staff organised transport for our group out to Graceland at a reasonable price with a very friendly driver. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 29Lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

My brothers and I were coming to the city to celebrate our frat's Founder's Day. I had made the reservations and call ahead to get things organize since there we several rooms, arriving on different days. The front desk staff was extremely helpful, and made sure that everything was perfect upon our arrival. Once we arrived we were greet by the valet and everyone in uniform made it a point to speak. I loved how they implemented the category 4 into the hotel. (For those who dont know what that is, its the new Marriott concept for Springhill Suites) The rooms are very spacious, and clean. The breakfast in the morning was standard but delightful, with plenty of options. This hotel has outstanding service from the door to the floor.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband and I along with my parents had a pleasant stay. The hotel is ideally located in heartof downtown, few minutes walk from Beale st., the one and only "Rendez vous" restaurant is few minutes walking from the hotel.(must try)
Staff are very nice and friendly and Rooms are clean, comfortable bed with nice decoration.
Hot and fresh break fast was excellent.
Next time in MemphisI will ONLY stay in Springhill suits.

Room Tip: Perfect location, pleasant stay
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiddibiriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We do an event in Memphis every year in January. We moved from the awful Marriott downtown to the SpringHill Suites just up the road. The best move we ever made! The rooms are small studio rooms, living area, work area, and small wet bar. A very nice layout for someone who has an extended stay in Memphis! The staff couldn't be any nicer, free breakfast with several items to choose from eggs, oatmeal, etc. Good TVs, great beds, good internet. The management group who owns this property knows what they are doing!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the old section are a little bigger, but not as cozy as those in the new section.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skinnywater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Memphis hotels
Downtown
Residence Inn Memphis Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
#6 of 138 in Memphis
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Memphis Downtown
#32 of 138 in Memphis
398 reviews
Sleep Inn at Court Square
#11 of 138 in Memphis
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown

Address: 85 Court Ave, Memphis, TN 38103-2230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Tennessee > Memphis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Memphis
#24 Family Hotel in Memphis
#25 Business Hotel in Memphis
Price Range: $180 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious, all-suite hotel located 10 mi from Graceland; minutes from area restaurants and businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Memphis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Memphis Downtown Hotel Memphis
Memphis Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing