We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
912 results
Traveler rating
312
387
128
59
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
387
128
59
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kress building main street trolley line beale st valet parking within walking distance court square self park few blocks breakfast room oatmeal mud island sitting area sofa bed free breakfast civil rights museum would stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
743 - 748 of 912 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night in July 2011 so that we could see Memphis, visit Graceland, and keep travelling north. We had reserved a 2 Queen Bed suite with a pull-out sofa since there were 3 adults in our party. We arrived around 8pm on a Saturday night and were given our room. After unloading all of our luggage and starting to leave for dinner, one of us sat down on the pull out twin bed from the sofa and fell all the way through to the floor. There were no springs underneath! Thankfully no one was hurt and we proceeded to the front desk to ask for another room. We were given another room and went to dinner before we repacked up and moved our stuff. Once we got back at 10p and loaded up our stuff to move, we realized they had given us a room directly across from the elevator and next door to the ice/soda machines. We were too exhausted at this point to move again. Then we realized we had no sheets for the pull-out sofa and were told we had to come down to the front desk to get them as there was no one to help the front desk lady. (Really? No one?) Then we realized we had no towels and so we went back to the room we had left and moved those since we knew we would once again have to go help ourselves at the front desk. As we tried to sleep, we realized our air conditioner was old and made a horrible rattling noise whenever the compressor kicked on. Let's just say it was not a great experience and we were quite exhausted the next day. All of this for $149/night plus $12/night for parking. Ugh. The location is great and the carriages and pedestrian streets are wonderful at night. But there is no way I would try this hotel again. Not at this location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fepeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Just got back from 3 nights in Memphis on vacation and enjoyed the Springhill Suites (stayed in the new building). Clean, rooms updated attractively, staff friendly. The bed was very comfortable and happy with the room layout of a couch and kitchen area too. Nice to be on the trolley line to take down if we didn't feel like walking. It is difficult to find and GPS/Mapquest directions won't work, followed someone on trip advisor's directions. Very nice breakfast in the morning too. This would be a good hotel to use as a couple or family and a ways away from the Beale Street action. Pretty park across the street too, although someone on trip advisor mentioned it being on the fringe of the seedy part of town and I'd agree with that, homeless in the park, etc.which seems a problem in Memphis. Only complaint was coffee maker didn't work and no hand towels/wash cloths provided. We did self parking next door for the $12/nite fee to have our car handy. Good choice for the price, although if you plan to be out late partying on Beale St., the trolley ends at 11 and you would not want to walk the 8-10 blocks or so back to this hotel and may want to stay closer to the action.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breitrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Very nice hotel and walking distance to many of the restaurants, carriage rides, trolley etc... I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank danp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

we were on a girls weekend stayed at this hotel it was very clean the staff was friendly and very helpful. good hot breakfast. the beds where so comfortable . we walked to beale street it was about a 8-10 blocks but it didn't seem that fare away , you can take the trolley also. i would definitely stay here again, we stayed on the historical side. we didn't know it had two buildings but the main hotel is newer and very modern and the other building is historical but not old looking.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

First of all, they need to correct their website. Do not even try to get there using the directions on the website. One side of the hotel faces a pedestrain mall and the other is a drive up/courtyard. Add to that all of the one-way streets. It was one of those places you could see but couldn't get there.

However I would stay there again. Great front desk service. Rooms were very updated and roomy. The next time I would ask for a room that faces the park. Our room was on the side that faced another building. There is a trolley stop right outside the hotel. Beds were comfortable and it was very quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the park.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lacubfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews